We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent outdoor atmosphere at night”

Thermal park Besenova
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Besenova
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Riga, Latvia
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Excellent outdoor atmosphere at night”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Our visit to Besenova was late in the evening and in winter time - that made it all the more special! It was fantastic sitting in the steaming outdoor natural pools while snow is falling. Even the running from pool to pool was an adventure! The indoor bit of the thermal park is not so great, smells of chlorine and is very generic, however, the outdoor pools are super!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ievag1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    70
    27
    9
    10
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Overpriced and overcrowded”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

You can buy all day pass or just 3 hours one. I recommend the second option as it gets really hot in the outdoor pools and you won't be able to sit there for more then 2-3 hours anyway. We didn't use indoor pools or wellness, that's why my review is only about the outdoor facilities.
The pools would need some renovating, they don't really look particularly clean or fresh. Don't get me wrong, they are not dirty, but could use some refreshing.
For the price they charge, there should be towels, bathrobe and slippers included. Especially that we actually didn't really plan to visit these pools and we weren't prepared. The fact that these are not included only shows that these pools still have to go through a lot of changes before they reach Western Europe standards.
The whole experience is good. Water temperature varies between 26 and 39 degrees. It's a really good exercise to spend some time in hot water (36-39) and then have a swim in the cold one (26), and then go back to the hot one again. The hot water pools are overcrowded, the cold ones are completely empty, obviously.
I think they should invest in some basic shampoos and conditioners in the showers. All these little changes would make this place much more attractive.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank ThailandIsTheBest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very good, lovely wellness a bit overpriced:)”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We spend couple of hours in Besenova and we liked the whole thing. They have just opened the new toboggans there, very high and fast ones:). The wellness is beautiful and quite large. Pitty they don't hire bathrobes, as it can get very windy outside.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank ermik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frýdek-Místek, Moravskoslezsky Kraj, Czech Republic
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good but overpriced”
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Very nice thermal aqua park. Outside area is divided into pools with "healthy" water 30°C and more hot, very dark (iron) and clear water pools with water slides and other attractions for young people 26-30 warm. In hot pools you can sit even in winter when around is snow - good feeling to be in hot water and look snow around you. Just not so funny when you go out from water :)) Inside is one medium and 2 little pools too (good if raining), but little bit too cold for me and full of little childrens. Some pools have whirlpool too. Next you can go to Vital World = spa centre with sauna, aroma sauna, salty sauna, roman sauna... whirlpool, turbo showers, relax area etc. But must pay extra and not be shy (no swimming suit alowed, just towel). Price is too high i think for something like this, but... I not recommend to take hotel and restaurant in the centre. Hotel is good, but if you stay less then 3 nights, you pay a lot. Can have 50% cheaper in city. Restaurant is good only for drinks if you like to have Mojito in pool. But not for sitting evening by beer and good food. For this is better Koliba restaurant when you go out from city Bešeňová to the north. The most terrible was coffee - so empty coffee i never see before :)) But if you like snobby place and totaly privacy... :)

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Jarda-W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kosice
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wellness visit”
Reviewed February 16, 2012

Having spent 2 hours in the Wellness part, I would recommend it. It has a good variety of saunas, resting and cooling facilities. The only glitch is the way "in", you can either have swimsuit to walk from locker room to wellness and take it off there (changing room is available), or wrap yourself into a towel in the locker room. Once in wellness part you'd get another sheet of cloth that you use in the wellness itself. This is a minor annoyance, but the rest of your stay should be perfect :)

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Palino007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thermal park Besenova also viewed

Liptovsky Mikulas, Zilina Region
Liptovsky Mikulas, Zilina Region
 
Liptovsky Mikulas, Zilina Region
 

Been to Thermal park Besenova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing