We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel International
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Velka Lomnica
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Small and cosy hotel near High Tatras that has its own golf course. Rooms are standard for this category of hotels. No Wifi internet in the rooms, only RJ45 cable. I did not find out how I am supposed to connect this cable to my tablet or smartphone. Very poor breakfast buffet. Maybe because the hotel was nearly empty in March. Old CRT TV had four channels in Slovak language and BBC news. Three types of sauna, jacuzzi, fitness and small swimming pool were satisfying. Anyway, I think you can find better hotel for this price in this locality.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IvanSen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackStork, Public Relations Manager at Hotel International, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2015

Since summer 2014 thanks to new SMART TVs in hotel rooms we are happy to offer our guests Wi-Fi internet in their rooms. This new technology also widened the TV channels offer.
Breakfast buffet content is based on the number of guests staying in the hotel that day but is always our concern to keep the offer wide and varied. In case our guests is unable to choose from the buffet or would like to have something else, our waiters offer them meals from the breakfast menu according to the guest´s preferences which do not require any surcharge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 121 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2013

This hotel offer such a nice location, beatiful view on High Tatras, perfect 27 holes golf area and very good wellness. I can really reccomend a golf package (accomodation with golf) for perfect price. Really good value for payed money.
Breakfast was so good - wide choice of cold dishes and 4 warm dishes, fresh fruit, pancakes, so everything you need.
Can really suggest to all.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 266j_ns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

This 4-star hotel with a golf club is an excellent choice for all seasons. During the spring, summer and autumn you can play golf, during the winter you can hike the nearby mountains.

It is not a good choice if you want to go on ski, as there are no skiing options nearby. However, if you just want to hike or travel around, it is very good, as it is not crowded.

The interiors are cosy, clean and very nice. Staff is one of the best I ever met. Restaurant is quite OK with moderate prices, although some meals where not that good.

Rooms are of average size, but clean and nicely decorated (the only thing that hit my eye was a photo of a golf player in a frame above the bed - seriously???). Bathroom is quite spacious and clean as well.

The wellness part of the hotel if quite small, with only few saunas, a jacuzzi and an exterior pool (in which the water was quite dirty). They offer several types of massages for good prices.

There is also a golf training machine, pool table, table tennis and more.

Beware! If you don't like kids, you probably won't like that there have been quite a lot of them when I stayed there.

Overall - I recommend this hotel when you're not looking for something posh, but want a solid place to stay and start your trips to the High Tatras.

Room Tip: There is only a few rooms with views of the mountains, but you can try asking for one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pavolmagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Absolutely lovely experience. Great golf, good wellness, good cooking, chilled out bar. Top location, amazing views. Very good, courteous service. Short drive to skiing resort in the winter. Good for golfing couples or bunch of friends, regardless of age.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paoloanachronic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

First of all: What an amazing location! From half the rooms (Other half faces the golf course/forest), the bar, restaurant and the entire golf course, you have fantastic views of the High Tatra Mountains. Just breathtaking.

The resort is situated about two hours drive south of Krakow – but it´s well worth the drive. We stayed a few nights in Krakow before heading for the resort and this can definitely also be recommended.

The hotel only have 28 rooms so it never feels crowded. The rooms are pretty basic, but clean and they all have air con, a minibar, TV, free internet (Cable) and a balcony. Bathrooms have a hair dryer, bathtub and a towel/cloth dryer.
All rooms are situated on the second floor and the hotel does not have a lift.

Reception, bar and restaurant is on the first floor (You enter the hotel on the first floor, via steps or a ramp) .
From both the bar and the restaurant you have spectacular views towards the High Tatras (And part of the golf course).
Food and drinks is good (And cheap!).
In the common areas, the hotel offers free WIFI.

For golfers, the resort currently offers a driving range (Also covered), par-3 course, chipping facilities and most importantly: 27 holes of golf. Everything right outside your room.
The courses still needs a little work after the winter, but arriving mid May and onwards, you´ll have a very good golf experience. I´ve played courses in better condition, but overall I really liked this course and the layout can be challenging, also for low handicappers. And again, the views are breathtaking!

Golf reception and wellness center is found on the lower floor, as well as a very well stocked pro shop.

Staff is very well trained and most of them speak very good English. The general atmosphere at the resort is very good and relaxed.

The surrounding area offers many activities too. Thermal baths, cable car ride to Lomnicky Peak (2.634 meters high), hikes and much more. All within easy reach.

I´ll definitely be going back to this resort and this area!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Calle77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

My wife and I stayed here over Christmas and we really couldn't of had a better stay.

5 reasons to stay here:
(1) Amazing views of the Tatras mountains from your balcony
(2) Outdoor heated pool which is connected with the indoor pool. Amazingly warm for such a cold time of year
(3) Facilities: Excellent range of saunas, steam rooms and jacuzzi's
(4) Friendly staff who spoke English
(5) The restaurant - Fantastic food at reasonable prices

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anybody who is interested in the beautiful mountains of Tatras and golf

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank uselessrambler3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2018
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank renatacaklosova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackStork, Manažér at Hotel International, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2018
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Velka Lomnica
12.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Kempinski High Tatras
3.5 mi away
Grandhotel Praha
Grandhotel Praha
#1 of 9 in Vysoke Tatry
322 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Lomnica
Hotel Lomnica
#1 of 6 in Tatranska Lomnica
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Lesna
Hotel Lesna
#1 of 3 in Stara Lesna
60 reviews
5.4 mi away
Grandhotel Stary Smokovec
Grandhotel Stary Smokovec
#1 of 1 in Stary Smokovec
229 reviews
5.7 mi away
Villa Siesta
Villa Siesta
#1 of 1 in Novy Smokovec
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel International

Address: Tatranska 754, Velka Lomnica 059 52, Slovakia
Location: Slovakia > Presov Region > Velka Lomnica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Velka Lomnica
Price Range: $110 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel International 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel International**** is part of the golf resort Black Stork, A PGA Golf Course, in Velka Lomnica, offering quality and wide ranging services all year round to families, golfers, travelling businessmen. Elegant and stylish 28 elegantly furnished double rooms and 1 apartment. The construction itself was designed to embrace the surrounding countryside and stunning location. Hotel International was opened after 10 months of construction on July 1, 2005. Wonderful views of the Tatry peaks can be admired from almost everywhere: from the spacious lobby bar with fireplace, the gallery with small library, the restaurant, the summer terrace, the hotel rooms, conference centre and also from the pool and leisure areas. Each room has satellite TV/ radio, telephone, internet access, mini bar and balcony. Guests can choose views over the golf course, or towards Lomnicky peak and the Tatry mountains. All the rooms are non smoking and one is especially adapted for disabled guests. The hotel is situated 14 km from Poprad airport, 40 km from the Polish border and just 7 km from the ski slopes and hiking trails of Tatranska Lomnica. The combination of the golf course and other amenities on offer creates the ideal sport/relaxing centre in the foothills of the High Tatras. Professional services and the appealing environment make perfect conditions for social events, conferences, seminars and corporate training days. The conference room can accommodate up to 60 people, with the indoor bar having a capacity of up to 80 and the VIP room of 10. The hire of the conference area includes projector, screen, flip-chart and conference guide for each participant. A sound system can be arranged on request. Guests enjoy a generous buffet style breakfast, free internet access, free secure car parking, unlimited entry to the wellness centre including indoor and outdoor pools with counterflow and jacuzzi, steam, dry, infrared saunas and a gym. Lunch, dinner or refreshments during the day can be chosen from either an extensive a la carte menu or from a monthly offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing