We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Place to Stay”
Review of Masseria Susafa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Masseria Susafa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Just got back from a week at Masseria Susafa and really happy to recommend it. The website gives a good reflection of the place and doesn't exaggerate anything. Hilltop location is stunning with incredible panoramic views down the valley and although last 2km of the road is bumpy it's about 20-25 mins drive at most from the motorway junction all in.(Note its not in the town Polizzi Generosa but towards Vallelunga/ C/tds Susafa off the motorway) The food is excellent. We had 4 courses every night for 25 euros each and that included good quality house wine. There is also a cosy bar where you can have a drink infront of the log fire and at the other end of the room there is a large screen where you can watch Sky or movies if you wished but we were happy to sit by the fire and read. There was good WiFi throughout the communal areas. Staff couldn't have done more to make us feel at home, especially Tomasso the owner and Andrea the manager who speaks perfect English. Massages and a 2 hour cookery course are available if you so wish. We went with two kids aged 8 and 5 and stayed in the 3 bedroom apartment which was perfect as it gave us a plenty of room and the flexibility to be able to give them an early supper. Breakfast was a feast and was included in the price. We'd happily go back with the family and use it as a base to explore the region but if you only wanted a break for a few days, it would also be perfect as takes 2 hours to get there from Palermo Airport and once you're there you could stay put very easily in wonderful tranquil surroundings. We look forward to going back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John_114331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (290)
There are newer reviews for Masseria Susafa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 290 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2012

We loved this inland region of Sicily. The landscape is dramatic and many of the towns are intriguing, but there aren't a lot of places to stay. Even if there were a thousand choices, Masseria Susafa would be right at the top of the list. It's true that the approach roads are poor in spots, but that just means a few miles of slow travel. To suggest that you need a 4x4 or Mars rover greatly overstates the problem, as even the main roads in this area can be rather bad at times. You certainly won't be disappointed once you arrive: we couldn't believe our good fortune in having chosen this beautiful hotel as our temporary home, though our room, at least, wasn't quite the equal of the facility as a whole. Still, it was more than adequate. We found the restaurant to be quite good also and were delighted to be able to dine so well without having to leave the premises. All in all, this is a place not to be missed!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aBoater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

The road is kind of bumpy but once there you'll be rewarded with a lovely hotel.
In the heart of sicily you'll find an 'at home atmosphere' agritourismo.
The rooms are simple but authentic and in the evening you can chill in the big get together room where some lounge jazz is played. Sit down take your book and relax with a bottle of wine!
When you get up in the morning youll have a fantastic view over the rough hills of sicily.
Breakfast was with local very good products.
Everything is authentic there and we there a couples as well as families!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Costadelplastico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

I would never have found this place without tripadvisor as it is in the middle of nowhere which is exactly what we wanted.The previous reviews have said it all.
We ate there 3 times and the food is first class.Everything is done so well, the bar and terrace area are wonderful, as is the pool. The views are out of this world.
A great experience, i would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

Masserie Susafa is located about 1.5 hrs south of Cefalu, Sicily and is surrounded by magnificent farmland, herds of sheep and belled cows. Susafa is over 200 years old. It is a fabulous stone structure and offers total on site amentities of bar, restaurant, pool and parking. On site Italian cooking classes by the estate chef can be arranged. The staff is wonderful, especially Stephania, Marco and headwaiter and wine master Salvatore. The view of the surrounding valleys are nothing but spectacular. Nearby wine estate Regaliali is equally impressive and worth a visit (2-3hrs) which can be arranged by the Masserie staff. Sicily is wonderful and the Masserie can help you enjoy it.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

3 nights were barley enough at this completely off the beaten in track, outside the hometown of my ancestors. The setting is an old grainery, where wheat and fava are still farmed. What we expected to be simply a B and B now has a highly rated gourmet Sicilian restaurant and the most delightful outdoor swimming surrounded my mountains.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lucia4Vass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

The address is misleading. Masseria Susafa is something like 35 km out of town. The last few miles of roadway are indescribably awful, but I don’t mind that, because it means (a) you have the road to yourself and (b) can drive at your own (snail’s) pace. Once there we received, quite literally, a warm welcome. Maria Grazia, Marco, Enza & Co. were simply wonderful. Nothing was too much trouble. Salvo’s cooking is out of this world, and we had dinner in front of a roaring fire. The following day it rained like old boots and the fog was so thick you could hardly see beyond the tip of your nose. So what did they do? Shunted us into the bar and lit another fire! Never known such hospitality – which is saying quite a lot if, like us, you’ve been to Sicily umpteen times before. We loved it!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RogerTidy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Polizzi Generosa
19.1 mi away
Relais Santa Anastasia
Relais Santa Anastasia
#1 of 4 in Castelbuono
555 reviews
86.1 mi away
Masseria Della Volpe
22.2 mi away
Le Calette Garden & Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
74.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#6 of 87 in Taormina
1,839 reviews
8.2 mi away
Agriturismo L'Antico Casale
Agriturismo L'Antico Casale
#2 of 6 in Polizzi Generosa
89 reviews
5.1 mi away
Antico Feudo San Giorgio
Antico Feudo San Giorgio
#1 of 10 in Polizzi Generosa
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Masseria Susafa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Masseria Susafa

Address: Contrada Susafa SNC, 90028 Polizzi Generosa, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Polizzi Generosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Polizzi Generosa
Price Range: $138 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Masseria Susafa 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Masseria Susafa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Masseria Susafa Polizzi Generosa, Sicily, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing