We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book a Stay + Win a Getaway Book your hotel on TripAdvisor and you could win a great trip!

“An enchanted place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hunte's Gardens

Hunte's Gardens
Book In Advance
and up
Harrison's Cave and Hunte's Garden Combo Tour
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Key West
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“An enchanted place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

My wife and I drove to Hunte's Gardens and spent a good amount of time taking in the splendor and tranquility that is contained in a visit to these amazing gardens! What an enchanted place! So many species of plants and trees..it is truly spectacular! To think the location is the site of a sink hole also is amazing in itself. I like the overall layout of the gardens what with starting out up high and then taking steps to walk down to a central courtyard (with benches along the way) Very nice! I took several pictures and was constantly in awe over the breath of the collection. I saw several species I didn't know but later asked Mr. Hunte about. One in particular was the Lotus plant (of which there are two) I would highly recommend to anybody with a horticultural interest to visit Hunte's Gardens. Afterwards, we tried the delicious rum punch and sampled the Foursquare rum as well (which was also quite nice!) And had a nice short chat with Mr.Hunte himself. What a lovely place to live. He was very nice and generous. I will surely return to his gardens on future trips to Barbados!

Visited July 2014
2 Thank D2Hardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,729 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An exquisite tropical paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

A stunning garden with the happiest plants I have ever seen. Anthony is a wonderful host. His relaxed manner and botanical knowledge makes the visit welcoming and informative. The overall view is colourful, dramatic, breathtakingly beautiful and enhanced by classical music seemingly coming from nowhere. Not to be missed.

Visited July 2014
1 Thank val r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Enchanted indeed...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

Anthony Hunte has billed his self-made masterpiece of a garden as 'The Most Enchanted Place on Earth' and the gentleman could well be right. A colossal undertaking for one man and a few helpers, Mr Hunte has transformed this sink hole and once tip into one of the most beautiful, tranquil gardens you will ever have the good fortune to enjoy. If, like us, you are also lucky enough to visit on a quiet day you may also be entertained by the owner himself. Eden in Barbados.

2 Thank HoboFamilyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Just Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

We arrived at this wonderful and unique garden as it opened on Sunday morning and enjoyed it all to ourselves. Greeted at the entrance by Mr Hunte himself we were asked if we would prefer to leave the sounds of the morning to the birds or to soft classical music? We opted for the former and then spent a memorable couple of hours "lost" and transfixed within this beautiful garden. Stepping stones lead you through the secret garden where carefully and thoughtfully positioned comfortable wicker and wrought iron chairs are discovered, and they beckon you to rest a while to enjoy the vista from different vantage points.

Mr Hunte was pleased to tell his story with enthusiasm and freshness despite probably having told it a thousand times. And it is an inspiring story well worth listening to, whether in the garden or under the shade of his veranda. .. but I will leave the story telling to the man who does it best. Do visit.

Visited July 2014
2 Thank GardenCitySea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Plant Hoarder's Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Lovely garden set into a gorge. Tons of plants tucked into this tiny place. Beautiful sitting areas set into nooks and crannies of the garden. Some plants seem to have been forgotten and would have liked to see plant identify makers.

Visited April 2014
Thank Chswatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hunte's Gardens also viewed

Saint Thomas Parish, Barbados
Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
Saint Peter Parish, Barbados
Saint Lucy Parish, Barbados

Been to Hunte's Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing