We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST BARBADIAN & CARIBBEAN FOOD - GREAT HOSPITALITY”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Cove Restaurant - CLOSED

The Cove Restaurant
Cuisines: Caribbean
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Bridgetown, Barbados
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“BEST BARBADIAN & CARIBBEAN FOOD - GREAT HOSPITALITY”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

I went to the Sunday Buffet for the "umpteenth" time last Sunday with visitors all the way from Moscos and was not disappointed. Their unpretentious but varied buffet consists of superbly prepared, authentic dishes, served up with lashings of warm hospitality in a relaxed setting with a gorgeous view of the Ocean at Cattlewash. If you want ritzy sophistication this is not for you, if you seek an 'at home' genuine Barbadian experience COME HERE. The a la carte on other days is great too.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bdos_Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    12
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“You have got to go here, for the food and the experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

We drove round the Island to Cattlewash to find the The Cove restaurant and we are so glad we did. The Cove is unlike any restaurant we have ever been to. It is very much like going home for dinner. There are a few choices on the menu but these can all be tailored to your likes/dislikes. We choose fish fingers for starters,soup,and Carribean Crab Back wow, wow, wow. I would have just sat and munched my way through this with a glass do Bajan Lemonade or Rum. Glad we did order mains, the catch of the day was AMAZING as was the curry. We finished all this off with Chocolate Fudge Pie and ice cream. Laurel Ann the chef/owner is such a lovely lady we could have stayed there for hours, well more hours than we did. The view, the food, the company well it all goes to make a great dining experience. We bought Laurel Ann's cookbook, which she signed for us and I hope to try out a few recipes. Just take the time and go here you will not regret it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travel-happy08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful Sunday meal. Everyone was so welcoming and friendly. The chef/proprietor was warm and she explained the food prep and really made us feel like we were at Sunday dinner with our family. The food was excellent! Home cooked gourmet...nothing else describes it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lance I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foul Bay, Barbados
Level Contributor
59 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Amazing A La Carte”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Have had the Sunday buffet at The Cove on numerous occasions and never been disappointed. Took some friends from England there for their a la carte lunch menu during the week, today, and once again, have to say, one of THE BEST dining experiences ever.
Lovely breeze. Great view of the ocean, and the food is too good to be true. I had a 'ground provision' soup for my starter, made from yam, eddoe, cassava, spinach and more. Oooh that was delicious.
For my main I had the curry coconut shrimp with white rice, with a bit of mango chutney on the side. To die for!! A culinary masterpiece. Desert was chocolate fudge pie with vanilla ice cream which was a perfect ending to a perfect meal.
My English friends couldn't stop raving about how good it was.

Great job Laurel-Ann and Judy!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
1 review
“Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

By far the best island food there is.Plus the view is amazing.Everything about the food was great.If someone is looking for great island food then you have to go to the cove. You will be treated like family.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Klaus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cove Restaurant also viewed

Bathsheba, Saint Joseph Parish
Bathsheba, Saint Joseph Parish
 
Bathsheba, Saint Joseph Parish
Belleplaine, Saint Andrew Parish
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing