We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Complete Bliss”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Porters, Saint James Parish, Barbados

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jayne D
Bourton-on-the-Water, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Complete Bliss”
Reviewed January 22, 2016 for a stay in November 2015

Having had a wet and miserable Summer and Autumn in GB, three of us headed out to Barbados for some R & R. I could not believe my eyes when the taxi turned into the small gated enclave of Porters Court. It is a scene worthy of Dallas or Dynasty (those who remember it) lush green vegetation and wonderful tropical flowers. The Court, itself, is very well kept, tidy and clean. No 8 is a real gem, beautifully arranged with a spacious living area, which we did not really use as the weather was so warm. A veranda which was comfortable and seated the 3 of us with acres of space, we could have held a dinner party there was so much room. The bedrooms and bathrooms are well appointed and the kitchen was well supplied with the necessary utensils. In short it was a dream. Would I go back? just try stopping me!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave L
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Villa Ideally Placed”
Reviewed March 30, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The villa is in a good quiet location with a communal pool area five minute walk away from a beautiful sandy beach and also the main road for access to buses and a great restaurant, Lone Star.
Lisa, the villa owner, arranged for a shopping delivery on our arrival for a few food and drink basics and also sorted out the taxi from the airport with a friendly local guy called Max. We used Max’s taxi service a number of times and would recommend him.
Holetown is a short bus ride away to the south and has a number of good restaurants and up market shops but includes a supermarket. Speightown to the north is good for fresh fish and a smaller supermarket. Buses are frequent and, in particular, the yellow buses are a definite experience. Hail them like a taxi and they will drop you anywhere you request for one price $2. They tend to play reggae music at full belt and drive very fast but it’s a great way to get around this compact island.
The villa itself has two, good-sized bedrooms/bathrooms and a well-equipped kitchen, a pleasant patio area with dining table, chairs and a hammock. All of the rooms have AC and there is a TV with satellite and an Apple TV unit. Apple TV was particularly useful for airplay from our Apple devices. The Wi-Fi network was stable and fast enough.
We had a very enjoyable time and we would recommend this property as its close enough to restaurants when you need them and quite and peaceful when you don’t.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fred_ease...
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great villa close to the beach”
Reviewed February 15, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

8 Porters Court is part of a small development of villas located opposite the Royal Fairmont Pavillion in St James Parish.

The villa is very nicely located, a 5 minute walk away from Alleyne Bay, which is a beautiful sandy beach with a great beach bar (Ju Ju's) and home to many turtles which you are guaranteed to see every day turning up to for the various boats that visit the bay to view the turtles. Holetown is about a 30 minute walk along the beach for local ameneties. Lastly the excellent Lone Star restaurant is only 5 mins away (next to the entrance to the beach).

The villa itself is recently refurbed and has 2 good sized bedrooms and a well-equipped kitchen. There is a lovely patio area with dining table, chairs, hammock and BBQ. All of the rooms have AC/fans and there is a TV with satellite, apple TV and an Xbox etc for entertainment.

The owner (Lisa) was very helpful, arranging for a shopping drop before we arrived for food, drink etc and also sorted out the airport transfer with a friendly local guy called Max.

5/5 rating, highly recommended

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great villa for a beach & pool family holiday, close enough to everywhere.”
Reviewed January 26, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

This villa is lovely. Massive comfy bed in master bedroom, proper big towels (and lots and lots of them), air-con units that have a room chilled in minutes, and soft sofas to sink into. When you hire a holiday villa and find that the furniture and fittings are second-rate, you put up with it and think 'well it's just a rental villa', but it makes a huge difference when you come to a place like this and can see that the owners want to make everthing perfect. For example, there was an ice-crushing blender to mix proper punches with, things we'd never put on a list of 'must-haves', but which were great to find.
The entrance to the Porters Court grounds is opposite the Fairmont hotel which is on the beach itself, so everything is very close by if you want it. Location is great - we could pop up and down between beach and house, so often came back for lunch to get out of the midday sun. There were turtles in the bay and the sunsets were amazing. The new restaurant - Santi - hadnt opened, but JuJus (beach bar with good food) was great. And of course Holetown is close by for shops and bars if you want them.
We would have had a great holiday anyway, but staying in this villa made it a special one.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Quality of furniture and fittings
Liked least: The sound of the crickets at night
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G A
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Excellent Villa in superb quiet location.”
Reviewed January 16, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

My family stayed at this beautiful villa in early January for two weeks and had a great time.The villa is in a quiet location along with another seven villas in a complex with a communal pool area.Five minutes easy walking will take you to the beach and some nice bars(we used Santi's beach bar) and restaurants.It is also easy to get into Holetown from the villa by catching the bus from the main road.The villa is lovely and well maintained and has recently been refurbished.There is everything you could need here and we had a brilliant time and would recommend this property,nice and peaceful but close enough to the nightlife and restaurants if that is what you want.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet in a lovely villa and so near the beach.
Liked least: The cost of taxis!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob B
Cumnock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“ideal house in great location”
Reviewed January 3, 2015 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I was wary about this house due to the bad revues on trip advisor but I found that they are badly out of date , the whole house has been recently made over and is in excellent condition , the cleaners come in twice a week (at least) depending on if there`s a change of guest and the whole of porters court is well maintained. I am already looking into booking up for my next holiday

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: proximity to the beach and Holetown
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosie M
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous holiday; perfect villa close to beach”
Reviewed April 24, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The villa is in the perfect location, only a 5 minute walk to the nearest beach where you also find Ju-Ju's beach bar and the fantastic Lone Star restaurant.

The villa had just been repainted and the outside area is now tiled which looked really good and worked well for us as we often ate outside or relaxed in the hammock. The villa is well decorated throughout and spacious, there was plenty of room for the five of us. The villa was well equipped and we found everything we needed (included a very large oven!) and the air-con was a godsend. The villas are grouped in a gated complex so we felt incredibly safe.

The closest beach is beautiful and quite quiet with the options of various water sports without being pressured into do any. I would really recommend Tony 'Tiger' if you do fancy learning to waterski or going on the donuts/banana boats. There are other beaches close by if you fancy a change, we went to Mullins Bay one day as there was inflatables in the sea for the kids. The villas also share a pool which was good if you didn't fancy the beach.

I really recommend Porters for a holiday, great villa and a perfect beach nearby where you can swim with turtles only about 100 metres from shore which was fantastic (I recommend you use your own snorkels and swim to the boats yourself rather than paying for a 'tour'!).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Perfect location for the beach and The Lone Star restaurant
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing