We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, excellent service, and a view to die for!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Porters
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lone Star Boutique Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Porters
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent food, excellent service, and a view to die for!”
Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

The view, with the endless turquoise water stretching off to the horizon was just the start. The food here was just exquisite and the waiting staff were perfect - relaxed enough to give us that caribbean feel while getting the food out with the kind of speed and efficiency you get in the best london restaurants. Given the stairs I thought we might struggle with our pram - no problem at all! The staff helped me carry the pram up and down the stairs to our table, then got us a great spot to relax on the beach. Cannot praise this place enough. We will be back, this place is heaven!!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank idolovetotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    15
    7
    5
    1
See reviews for
18
52
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Spending a week in Barbados and already eaten here 3 times (also booked for Sunday lunch). Location great , staff friendly and efficient and the food of a very high standard. In years past have stayed at Treasure Beach and thought that the talent of the resident chef was wasted in a small hotel. Now that he is at the Lone Star, Kirk Kirton is producing meals that are of the highest standard. Hope he remains here for my next visit to Barbados......will make my reservations before leaving the UK !!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jaga28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frome, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

An absolutely superb evening from the moment you descend into the restaurant as you are made to feel very welcome indeed. We tried cocktails at the bar to start and then followed an excellent three courses, my lobster risotto was to die for and as for my chocolate soufflé well it was almost as good as one I had at Le Gavroche a few years back..the restaurant has a lovely feel,a great atmosphere and the staff were fantastic...and of course a superb view..can't wait to go back....

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Phillicj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, London
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

If you like London's class restaurants you will just love this. A menu that embarrasses for choice and has lots you want to eat. Went yesterday and already we want to go back tomorrow. Not only a superb meal but great service and a welcome that makes you believe you are their only customer. Their service team are a delight from when you arrive in the car park to when they say au revoir.
Try their Lone Star specials. Get there before dark and enjoy the best beach views. Ask for a table at the front. Highly recommended. We think the Lone Star is the best restaurant of the Barbados West Coast

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank crosshousemeadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vilamoura
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

Wow what a place,mince staff, the owner is a real gent, nice relaxed atmosphere. You have to go to this Resturant. Don't miss it out.
The menu, wine list are all perfect, something for everyone. Located on the beach has a great ambiance, nice relaxed feeling about this place.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank vilamen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stokenchurch, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

I've visited lots of hotels In Barbados, yes private beach, gold taps, exclusive this....bla bla bla been there done that, but one little gem stands out in Mount Standfast, The Lone Star. Its barefoot elegance at its best from the teak floors to the full length mirrors on the beach. Why can't we stay in a converted garage, our friends turned their noises up when we told them, more fool them! Wonderful service, not stuffy, and no attitude like some of the resort hotels were your just another guest. At the Lone Star your part of the family, discreetly of course.

Room Tip: The Hotel is very small the rooms are all individual
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

I have been coming to this paradise island for 20 years but never stayed at the Lone Star so this time I thought i'd give it a whirl. The place has been bought and refurbished (to a very high standard) and is under new management . Saddly the place has come in for some bad press since the new owners have taken the rains but I would like to put the record straight. I have stayed in the hotel all this week and eaten, breakfast, Lunch and dinner throughout the week and have enjoyed every experiance immensely, the staff have been great, very helpfull and obliging and nothing has been to much trouble. The teething problems they had at the beggining are clearly sorted now so please if your coming to the island give them a chance you wont be dissapointed. Mike O'Neill from East Yorkshire

Room Tip: There are only 4 rooms at the moment all facing onto the carribean. they are great the owners are op...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porters
0.8 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
1.1 mi away
The Sandpiper
The Sandpiper
#13 of 26 in Saint James Parish
293 reviews
3.1 mi away
The House by Elegant Hotels
The House by Elegant Hotels
#2 of 26 in Saint James Parish
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,048 reviews
0.9 mi away
Coral Reef Club
Coral Reef Club
#2 of 4 in Holetown
441 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Royal Pavilion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lone Star Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lone Star Boutique Hotel

Property: Lone Star Boutique Hotel
Address: Mount Standfast | St. James, Porters, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish > Porters
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Porters
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lone Star boasts a distinctive boutique hotel offering a sophisticated yet comfortable retreat. Comprising of 2 penthouses, Cadillac & Lincoln, 2 ocean front suites, Buick and Studebaker, 2 deluxe garden rooms, Shelby & Corvette. The Shelby and Corvette, each named in honour of an automobile legend, have recently been renovated to the highest standard. Cadillac, Buick and Studebaker are spacious rooms combining polished mahogany floors, 4 poster beds and sumptuous fabrics exuding simple elegance. Each features a private terrace with uninterrupted views of the turquoise ocean. Corvette and Shelby are situated in the coral stone Beach house. Beautifully restored and upgraded featuring garden terraces and glimpses of the ocean. Both rooms have direct access to the beach. Lone star is less a hotel and more your very own Caribbean respite where our own staff will cater to your every need! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Lone Star
Lone Star Boutique Hotel Barbados/Saint James Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing