We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glitter Bay and Barbados Villa Services”
Review of Glitter Bay Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Glitter Bay Suites
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Stayed for a week in 206, November 2012. This is the second time we have stayed at Glitter Bay and booked through Marilil at Barbados Villa Services. Both times, we had a wonderful vacation with our two kids. Location was perfect, beautiful beach and staff friendly and helpful. So close to Holetown for groceries, shopping and restaurants. This time we rented a car and explored the island which was fun. We will be back!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hedgie69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
There are newer reviews for Glitter Bay Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 67 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2013

I have visited Barbados for many consecutive Xmas's and always stayed at Glitter Bay when it was a Hotel. It has now been, for quite some years, turned into suites , like an apart-hotel, so there is some service here, namely a lunch place and housekeeping but no room service etc etc.
It looks a little in need of a paint job, and just a general tidy up. The beach seems to be half the depth that it used to be, it was so deep but now the sunchairs all seem to be on top of each other, which made it feel a little cramped, so although i love the beach and looking at the sea, we chose to sit by the pool as it was more spacious.
If you can get a good deal on an apartment, it is probably a good option, but with so many hotels doing deals and all inclusive, with more facilities on offer,you may have to decide whats best for you and your pocket.!

Room Tip: some apartments have nicer decor, so do your homework and check which agents have what!
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sunseekerli123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Our stay in apartment 308 'Splendido' for two weeks at the end of July 2012 was the most amazing relaxing holiday. Glitter Bay beach is beautiful, very peaceful, lovely to swim, walk and chill. We loved Ramshackle beach bar for lunch or evenings - a short stroll along the sand from our apartment. The grounds and open space at Glitter Bay are lovely and well maintained. All the Glitter Bay staff were very helpful and friendly and were never intrusive. The beach beds were very comfortable for long lazy days! Our apartment was perfect and had everything we needed and our maid Andrea was lovely and did a great job everyday. The 'welcome pack' was much appreciated on our evening arrival. We cannot thank Marilil and Joe Troulan enough (Barbados Villa Services) for their effiecient service and for looking after us so well. The friendliness and hospitality of the Bajan people was amazing. We can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Book through Barabdos Villa Services for a fantastic service!
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Inmyplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed at Glitter Bay Suites apt 109 "sweeet fah Days" on a staycation local caribbean rate. The apartment was well equipped cable tv in the lounge and second bedroom. Its on the ground floor and a gate on the patio so you are 30 paces away from the pool. free high speed wifi they even had a laptop in the apartment to use. The guest room has 3 single beds idea for the kids with lots of room.The beach has to be one of the best in Barbados and all the staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: ground floor with a gate on the patio for easy access to the gardens pool and pathway leading to the...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JT1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012

Just back from an amazing holiday in this fantastic penthouse apartment. We were met at the airport and driven to Glitter Bay where we were shown around our luxurious accommodation, there was a meal waiting for us and the fridge and cupboard was stocked up......what a start! Princess Suite is on two levels, the kitchen is well equipped with dishwasher, large fridge freezer with ice maker and cold water on tap. The dining area is outside but covered so eating al fresco is great. The three bedrooms are amazing, each has it's own balcony which looks out over the swimming pool and beach and each has it's own on suite....the beds are so comfortable. The style of the apartment is fabulous and the owner has thought of everything to help make your holiday go well. Glitter Bay resort is lovely, the grounds are well maintained, the beach area has plenty of sun loungers and towels are provided. The staff are all very friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them. The bar area serves light lunches and the staff are happy to bring refreshments to you o the beach. The only down side is the bar doesn't stay open in the evenings but there are so many bars and fantastic restaurants nearby we were spoilt for choice. Glitter Bay is just outside Holetown and there is a shopping mall with well stocked supermarket, bank, petrol station etc. We hired a car and found driving in Barbados so easy, they drive on the same side as Britain and the locals are very curtious (a thankyou is shown by sounded the horn). We also tried the local buses, 2 Bajan Dollars will get you anywhere on the Island...but....they drive very fast so not for the feint hearted, great fun though. Also we took US Dollars (on advice) but next time we will only take Bajan Dollars, although everywhere will happily take US Dollars it's so much easier to have the local currency.
The two men in our party played golf on Royal Westmoreland, Sandy Bay and Ape's Hill and although expensive (roughly £150 a round) they loved every minute and it made their holiday it also gave us ladies some much needed shopping time..... The Reggae Festival was on whilst we were there and we attended Vintage Reggae at The Kensington Oval and on Sunday we went to Reggae on the Hill at Farley Hill.....all the locals were friendly and they certainly know how to party. Also a must visit is to Oisins on Friday evenings, we used the local bus so we could have a drink, there is music, lovely local food and the atmosphere is electric.....try the rum punch!
All in all our holiday couldn't have been better and the Princess Suite at Glitter Bay will be seeing us again soon.......can't wait.

Room Tip: Princess Suite is located on the second floor but a lift is provided, the apartment also has two lev...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bethany56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

We stayed in apartment 409 with our 7 month old baby. We wanted a self-catering holiday as we thought this would be more sensible and give us more freedom. We definitely werent disappointed and loved every minute of our stay, even though the baby got ill on the second day (i think a bug picked up on the aeroplane) then I caught the bug and was also sick for a few days. Marilil was so helpful, putting us in touch with her doctor and letting us extend the holiday last minute for an extra 2 days.
We had our apartment kept spick and span by the lovely Veronica, and Michelle - the sitter which Marilil arranged was always on hand for babysitting. Our little boy loved her and we felt totally safe leaving him alone whenever we wanted to go out.

We visited Coral Reef for a massage and lunch one day and I definitely prefer Glitter Bay! We will hopefully be back really soon.

Room Tip: Our room 409 had direct access outside, and was a short walk fro the pool.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wingnut78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
soluckytolivehere, Manager at Glitter Bay Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review of your stay at Glitter Bay - it was wonderful to meet you and your family and glad that we made your stay comfortable and enjoyable. Glitter Bay is indeed one of the nicest places to stay on the west coast and with the beautiful beach it makes a holiday here even more special. The ease of having an apartment and proximity to Holetown is also well received by families. The apartment you stayed in was Glitter Bay 109 Sweet Fuh Days which is a ground floor apartment with direct access from the patio to the pool/gardens and beach - it is only one of three that have this special feature.
Once again, many thanks and we certainly look forward to seeing you return next year.
Best regards,
Marilil Troulan
Barbados Villa Services/Glitter Bay Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Two of our adult children accompanied my husband and me to Glitter Bay for a two week holiday the first two weeks of March. We all agreed this was our best holiday ever. The facilities and staff at Glitter Bay Suites were outstanding. The condos are low rise so the overall effect fro me was that I was staying in an English country garden. Everything seemed a few steps away from our condo. The pool is described as "free form" yet I was very successful with lap swimming as it is actually a good sized pool maybe 25 yards and attached yet separate behind some shrubs and a waterfall is a children's wading pool. The beach is a minute from the pool. This is a glorious beach! The loungers are clean and very comfortable. the staff was most attentive. Lovely sand, warm water which most of the time is calm and suitable for swimming ...real swimming along the shore. Children can actually paddle quite safely here. and the sand is soft; suitable for all the sitting and digging children love at the beach. Wish I'd known about this place years ago!
The condo is beautifully "appointed". We actually liked getting fresh fish and cooking here because the deck is a lovely dining venue. The decks at these suites are really out door living rooms. Ours had a table for six with beautifully upholstered chairs, and two sofas. I often came in from the beach to have tea on this deck . Had I not wanted a break, there is a bar on the beach that served drinks and light meals. I did see what appeared as full on afternoon tea delivered to one umbrella! There was not, mercifully, music pounding from the bar, and I appreciated the absence of noisy "shows" every evening. This is available at the Fairmont just steps next door, or a short bus or taxi into Holetown. I greatly appreciated the peace and quiet here.
You can walk along the beach great distances; the shoreline is beautiful with the older homes with their gardens,cement walls and statues adding to the very interesting and peaceful ambience created at Glitter Bay Suites.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happyelizabeth_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porters
0.6 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
0.7 mi away
Coral Reef Club
Coral Reef Club
#2 of 4 in Holetown
446 reviews
2.7 mi away
Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The House by Elegant Hotels
The House by Elegant Hotels
#2 of 26 in Saint James Parish
624 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Sandpiper
The Sandpiper
#12 of 26 in Saint James Parish
297 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairmont Royal Pavilion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glitter Bay Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glitter Bay Suites

Address: Porters | St James, Porters BB24017, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish > Porters
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Porters
Price Range: $229 - $699 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glitter Bay Suites operated by Barbados Villa Services comprise of the following apartments 101, 103, 105/106, 109, 113, 204, 206, 211, 213, 302, 307, 310, 312, 313 on the west coast of Barbados. These apartments are all individually furnished, fully self contained, air conditioning throughout and all have internet TV and ADSL wireless connection. The units are spacious and well maintained and we provide hotel style maid service 6 days per week. One of the best beaches on the west coast, 5 minutes away from Holetown. The facilities include two floodlit tennis courts, large fresh water swimming pool, fresh water wading pool, children's playground, bar facility from 11 a.M. To sunset with cable TV, 24/7 security, fitness room with cable TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelQuickly and TravelUp so you can book your Glitter Bay Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glitter Bay Suites Barbados/Saint James Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing