We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dont Do It !!!!!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Asian Palm

Asian Palm
Reserve with OpenTable
Asian Palm is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 3 Restaurants in Porters
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Holetown, Barbados
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dont Do It !!!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

After visiting asian palm for a takeaway as we have done on previous hoidays to Barbados and found it not too bad but not brilliant either we expected to get a half decent meal instaed we got over priced crap which ended up in the bin we will not be going again so our advice dont waste your time or your money we found GOOD CHOICE chinese resteraunt situated at golden view apartments to be far superior

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Beechy1311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    12
    4
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holetown
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“They should be shut down!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

I am shocked that persons actually rated this place as good! My husband and I grabbed what was supposed to be a quick lunch. He was on his lunch break so we had about 45 mins. We arrived at the restaurant within 10 minutes of them being opened; 12 noon this was and an Asian woman ushered us in. She handed us a menu and hurried to the back. Looking around, the restaurant is very old and musty. There was a puddle of murky water in a corner under an ancient, much discolored air condition unit. She returned within a few moments and mopped up the puddle. The little 'bar' under the staircase looks rustic........I can tell that the glasses aren't used regularly therefore not washed regularly. They were on a shelf, gathering as much dust as they possibly can. The staircase leads to an are upstairs, but I have no idea what it looks like. Didn't venture upstairs.
We placed our order and was kept waiting for an HOUR! Several persons came in, were served and we were still seated waiting. She kept telling us a "few more minutes." Apparently, persons were calling in their orders and coming to collect; we saw about 3 such orders placed AFTER us and collect BEFORE us. The woman was back and forth and there was a man in the kitchen preparing the meals. They were speaking in their native tongue but it was very obvious to us that they were having an arguement; I felt ashamed for them.
Judging from the front of the restaurant, as much as I would like to see the kitchen, a part of me doesn't want to. It must be as dingy as the rest of that place. Health Inspectors NEED to pay this restaurant a vist. It is very much on the disgusting side.
They have a great location but they're not doing much to help themselves. The food by the way, was average. East Moon Chinese Restaurant has better cuisine. And yes, it's more Chinese than Thai as someone also noted. Do not go to this place. Likely to be sick on your holiday if you eat there. :( Looking back now, I actually can't believe we sat through that and paid for that utter crap! *kicks self*

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DiannaHoletown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Value, Great Service & Great Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

This was a little Gem in Holetown - compared to a number of the other restaurants in there it is very reasonably priced and the food is delicious and authentic. Whilst we had a wait a short while for the food, it was only because everything was being freshly made downstairs! The owner recommended General Tao's Spicy chicken which was delicious and we also tried to sambal. Don't miss out on the fresh fruit shakes too - they were fabulous! Overall a lovely little place with friendly service and great - brilliant for couples who don't want to spend a fortune on dinner!xx

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rhi_214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“very good value Chinese/Thai”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

I've used Asian Palm many, many times over the past few years whilst staying at an Apartment in Holetown. I've only used takeaway not the restaurant. Yes there can be a wait of 20 minutes or so whilst the food is cooked but this means it is always hot and fresh, the vegetables are always crisp not overcooked. It is not salty or full of oil. I have NEVER been disappointed with the meal.

Compared to other restaurants in Holetown which can be very poor quality or overpriced for average food the Asian Palmis extremely good value. For two persons a half portion of each dish is ample although the owner cannot offer half portions on all dishes. It is far better value and quality than most places in London.

The decor is not very inviting downstairs but for a takeaway who cares! Try it!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank londonherbert531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“not the best.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

visited with my partner recently.

starters of spicy fired chicken (not spicy at all) and chicken satay (just ok)

Mains of chicken with black bean sauce for myself and Pad Thai for the lady.

My mains was ok but the pad thai was awful. Hardly ate any of the pad thai as it didnt taste anything like other dishes we have had anywhere in the world (including thailand).

Someone mentioned before it seems more chinese and i would go with that.

Service also quite slow (we were the only people in until another lady turned up). The decor inside is very dated and could do with a makeover.

Would not go back here although might consider the chicken with black bean as a takeaway

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stublue.KPL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Asian Palm also viewed

Holetown, Saint James Parish
Porters, Saint James Parish
 
Holetown, Saint James Parish
Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
 

Been to Asian Palm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing