We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous barbados trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Royal Pavilion
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Porters
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 7, 2014

The Royal Pavilion Fairmont in Barbados was awesome. The employees were friendly and so helpful. Ask for something few minutes later you had it at your door. Always delivered with a smile. Beaches is the best we have ever seen. Loved the chairs and umbrellas. No trouble ever finding one even though hotel was fully booked. Clean gorgeous beaches. Rooms were cleaned 2x day.Needed a microwave had it a few minutes later. No complaints about anything except stay was too short.We have never stayed at a hotel with this much caring and consideration from every employee there.Teresa at the front desk was especially helpful. Would stay here again in a heartbeat. Joann Salony

Room Tip: all rooms face water there is no bad room. top floors are better more privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joanns21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalPavilionHotel, Manager at Fairmont Royal Pavilion, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Dear Joanns21,

Thank you for your review and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed our services. We are proud to have Teresa in our team and your appreciation will go a long way in boosting the morale of not only Teresa but the entire team here.

We look forward to see you soon with us again (and definitely for a longer time). Meanwhile if I could be of any help, please let me know.

Warm Regards

Kulbhushan Tyagi
Director of Operations & F&B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,158)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

683 - 689 of 1,158 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2014

From check-in to check-out, we were treated royally. The grounds are beautifully maintained with a plethora of flowers, trees, bushes of every color. Our room had an A/C problem which was quickly assessed and we were moved to another room for the night. The next day, we were upgraded to a junior suite which was comfortable and well appointed. The restaurants were good. Excellent breakfast buffet. The Palm, their fine dining restaurant, is a beautiful oceanfront setting fit for a wedding. The food was exceptional and the service superb. Tip: make a reservation and request front row seating. The beat of the waves is mesmerizing. The Palm has limited days of service; we would have dined there more frequently had it been open. The beach is well maintained and just perfect. The pool area is perfect, as well. Just nothing to complain about, and so much more to appreciate.

Room Tip: All rooms are oceanfront. Room 343 is a corner room and a bit larger. Beautiful view of the ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Molev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalPavilionHotel, Manager at Fairmont Royal Pavilion, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Dear Molev,

Thank you for your review and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed our services. Our team here at Fairmont Royal Pavilion always strives for hand crafted experiences for our guests and your appreciation will definitely encourage them to do it even better.
We look forward to see you soon with us again. Meanwhile if I could be of any help, please let me know.
Warm Regards
Kulbhushan Tyagi
Director of Operations & F&B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We stayed here for the first 4 nights of our Caribbean holiday, before sailing the Grenadines & a stay in Grenada. our room, a deluxe on the first floor with a sea view, was large, clean and spacious. I particularly liked the 'long' hanging space for long dresses and robes, and the provision of a drying rack for wet costumes. tHe bathroom was also spacious with separate bath and shower, the only draw back was that the bath took forever to fill. Breakfast was great, with a cooking station for eggs, and the lunches we and in the same restaurant were always good and the service great. We only ate at the Palm one night, the seafood buffet was outstanding and the band were great but finished too early! The staff are really friendly, courteous and polite and are obviously happy in their work.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PubLover7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalPavilionHotel, Manager at Fairmont Royal Pavilion, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Dear PubLover7,
Thank you for your review and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed our services. Our Culinary program emphasizes on the fresh local ingredients and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet as well as the seafood in Palm Terrace restaurant. Our staffs are definitely our greatest asset and we thank you for your praise for their efforts.
We look forward to see you soon with us again. Meanwhile if I could be of any help, please let me know.
Warm Regards
Kulbhushan Tyagi
Director of Operations & F&B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

My husband had reservations about Barbados as he loves Dubai ... Anyhow after landing in Barbados and arriving at the FRP he fell in love with Barbados.The hotel and grounds are simply stunning as is all the attentive staff there.
Food absolutely stunning will most defiantly go back again well done Fairmont.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michele o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalPavilionHotel, Manager at Fairmont Royal Pavilion, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Dear Michele O,

Thank you for your review and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed our services. Our grounds team takes lot of pride and your appreciation will definitely boost their morale.

Barbados is definitely a great island and worth a place for falling in love. We look forward to see you soon with us again. Meanwhile if I could be of any help, please let me know.

Warm Regards

Kulbhushan Tyagi
Director of Operations & F&B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Wound up here 'by accident', they were no vacancy until AMEX Platinum Travel called (which I would highly recommend as well to join!). Had a gorgeous oceanfront room that was near perfect. Grounds are well kept. Staff friendly, and concierge services exceptional. Service in main restaurant a little dicey, felt like I was accepting politeness that wasn't sincere. Overall, excellent facility and I would definitely return!

Room Tip: Oceanfront not on ground level for best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sanddoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalPavilionHotel, General Manager at Fairmont Royal Pavilion, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Thank you very much sanddoc! We are so glad that you enjoyed your time with us and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience.

We love hearing that “the staff are friendly and the concierge was exceptional." Our team impresses us each and every day and we are so happy when other people take a moment and share their compliments. The team could not be more worthy of them.

Thank you again. We look forward to your next visit,

Adam Knight
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Before arriving I had read a number of reviews that were "this is a nice place, but . . ." As a result, when we arrived my expectations were not that high. I kept waiting for something to not like. I never found it. From the time of our arrival and greeting from Kevin to our departure the accommodations and staff were wonderful. The beach is wonderful and our room on the 3rd floor was great with a fantastic view. We ate a number of meals at the restaurant and enjoyed each one. I cannot speak for the experience of others, but I can only say good things. I want to thank the staff for making our trip a great experience.

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank boydpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalPavilionHotel, General Manager at Fairmont Royal Pavilion, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Thank you very much boydpc! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and are pleased that you had a wonderful stay.

Our team is our greatest asset and we are grateful that you recognized them in your review. Kevin and the rest of our team are incredible and we are glad that you had the chance to get to know them. We’re also glad you enjoyed the beach!

Thank you again,

Adam Knight
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

My wife and I stayed for 2 weeks and we loved the hotel. The staff were wonderful. Made us feel very welcome.
The hotel is set on a beautiful beach right in the centre of the West coast. We had an Ocean front room on the 3rd floor and that was enough for us. In fact I would recommend it.right on the beach yet you feel above everything.Nice sense of privacy. The beach is great to lie around on and I'm not sure I would want to pay extra for a first floor terrace room. There are also many, varied restaurants within the area that you can visit. We will definitely go back.
If Fairmont were to improve the hotel they could update the rooms a tad as they are looking slightly tired by 5* hotel standards and they could improve the service on the north end of the beach. It was often almost a little sparse. But these issues won't stp us returning.

Room Tip: Ocean room 3rd floor. Superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deboeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalPavilionHotel, General Manager at Fairmont Royal Pavilion, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Thank you very much Deboeck! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and are pleased that you found "The staff were wonderful. Made us feel very welcome." That is quite a compliment!

Our team is our greatest asset and we are grateful that you recognized them in your review. We’re also glad you enjoyed the beach!

Thank you again,

Adam Knight
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porters
2.8 mi away
The House by Elegant Hotels
The House by Elegant Hotels
#2 of 26 in Saint James Parish
637 reviews
0.5 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
3 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
365 reviews
2.7 mi away
Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
8.7 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 6 in Bridgetown
3,817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Royal Pavilion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Royal Pavilion

Address: St. James, Porters BB24051, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish > Porters
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Porters
Price Range: $472 - $2,202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Royal Pavilion 4.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the sought-after Platinum Coast, on a 1/2 mile long beach and 11 acres of lush tropical gardens, you'll fill your sun-kissed days and starlit nights with unforgettable moments. All 72 rooms and suites offer magnificent, unobstructed views of the beautiful Caribbean Sea. Several included services will make your stay even more memorable, including daily afternoon tea, WiFi, fitness room, tennis courts, a freshwater pool, non-motorized water sports, swim with the turtles, a weekly manager's cocktail and garden tours. Indulge your senses with innovative Caribbean-inspired menus at 2 beachfront restaurants. In-room dining available 24-7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fairmont Royal Pavilion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Royal Pavilion Hotel Porters
Fairmont Hotel Porters
Fairmont Hotel Royal Pavilion
Fairmont St. James
Barbados Fairmont Hotel
St. James Fairmont
Fairmont Royal Pavilion Barbados/Saint James Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing