We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Beach in Barbados”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Royal Pavilion
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Porters
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I traveled here with my girlfriend for our summer holiday and we were extremely happy with our choice based on the great deal we got through BA.

The place does have a colonial feel to it which makes it feel slightly dated and it is not your super flash 5 star resort but its lovely nonetheless, great reception on arrival, all the rooms have the most breath taking ocean views, seriously amazing lying on the balcony for sun downers.

Service - always polite and never to much hassle for the most part.

Rooms - spacious, great views, good TV that you can watch from bed. The air-con is good and the bathroom is large with a bath and walk in shower with all the usual nick naks.

Restaurants -The beach/pool restaurant is very good serving the biggest breakfast with largest selection of hot and cold food of all time. They also serve some great cocktails during the evening. The fine dining restaurant suffers partly because of The Cliff, Daphnes, Lone Star, Fish Pot, Mullins and Tides are so close, go to them all!

Location - this wins it, seriously we looked around as we had a car you wont find a better beach in all of Barbados. Perfect, spacious, calm and the sea beautiful with a family of local green turtles there to swim with all day. Plus with the Ramschakle, JuJu's and the Lone star on the beach you have arguably the best value for money restaurant on the island (Lone Star is stunning for dinner) and two great bars. Cant beat it.

Facilities - very good sailing, snorkels, sports bar, tennis gym etc.. it's all there.

We were depressed leaving - says it all - we will go back one day!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Guestjnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalPavilionHotel, General Manager at Fairmont Royal Pavilion, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear Guestjnr:

i am glad you discovered us and thank you for the kind comments. I think you said it all... In addition to indeed the best beach on Barbados we have the finest staff.

Hope to see you back soon!

Wayne Kafcsak
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,158)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

748 - 754 of 1,158 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2013

When you want beautiful beaches, you need to go to the west coast of Barbados. Fairmont Royal Pavilion is a nice size resort with 72 rooms. We really like the new suite on the first floor with direct access to your own little deck and beach right in front of you. No need to pack up and go to the beach because you are on/at the beach. There was also a complimentary service at the airport (part of the suite feature bonus) to get you through custom right away without line up or waiting.

The Fairmont property has a tennis court and a villa in the back, a pool and two restaurants. All rooms are oceanfront right at the beach, which is rare. The entrance road to the property is beautiful and surrounded by tall trees. By the villa and tennis court, there was also a giant mango tree (probably three story high) with hundreds of mango....so watch your head!

Fairmont has lots of water sports to offer, sailing, kayak and paddle boat. We did all many times during our stay and was lots of fun. A very unique part about the hotel is that every day at 3 pm, Kevin or Carl (the Fairmont staff) took guests to walk for 5 minutes to where the turtles are and we swim out to the ocean and Kevin/Carl would start feeding the turtle so that we can touch them and take pictures etc. Kids and adults love that and it is so convenient to Fairmont guests. Many catamarans sailed to the same spot to swim with the turtles so if you are staying at Fairmont, you don't really need to go except if you enjoy the catamaran experience. We did that too and Barbados runs one of the best catamaran experience, nice people and rum punch and food all the way.

Food is very good and up to North American standard. No complains at all but obviously not fancy gastronome cuisine. For that, you need to go to the Cliff or Sandy Lane restaurant.

Overall, a friendly and warm environment and all the staff greeted you by name. We highly recommend this resort for your family vacation.

Room Tip: All rooms are oceanfront so can't go wrong. It's whether you want 2nd or 3rd floor. If you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank molove2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalPavilionHotel, General Manager at Fairmont Royal Pavilion, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear Mo88Love:

Thank you for the great comments! We are indeed a great place for families as our location and "natural" kid activities are very nice indeed. We get our kids out in the beautiful Caribbean rather than behind a telly (as they say in the UK). We hope to see you back soon.

Wayne Kafcsak
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I stayed here in June 2013 for a week. We're do I start!! First impressions of the hotel were amazing, on arrival we were greeted by extremely friendly and warm staff with complimentary cocktails, which I may add we're strong. The buildings are of high standard and were constantly being cleaned and maintained. The gardens are breathtaking, and the views of the seafront were out of this world. The room we stayed in was on the top floor 3rd floor and it was of a decent size, very clean with everything you need,including universal plug which was excellent. The balcony was of a good size and the view you get of the sea is amazing, to wake upto that every morning was an incredible experience. I can not recommend this hotel enough. Every member of the staff was very friendly. The food is of excellent quality although a bit pricey but you get your money's worth.

In terms of location,you can't get any better. Just a little walk up the beach there is a spot were you can go snorkelling with turtles, you will find it as this is we're the catamaran boats go and can be seen from the hotel. Would highly recommend doing this activity. We were lucky enough to see a turtle on the beach in the evening laying eggs as well. We did a jeep safari tour of the island which was interesting and informative and the tour guide was brilliant. We also went on a catamaran cruise which was great so make sure you do that also.

There is a small shak up the beach called juju's which serves burgers, flying fish,chicken ect at good prices and serves local beverages too. The owner was friendly to ourselves and made us feel very welcome.

We visited the rum distillery which produced the famous mount gay rum, for 20 bbd (Barbadian dollars) which was ok and we got to sample some of the drink whilst we were there.

All in all an amazing trip and would highly recommend going, white sands, turquoise seas, sun, a proper gem.

Room Tip: Ocean view definetly with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jake W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalPavilionHotel, General Manager at Fairmont Royal Pavilion, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Hello Jake W:

I appreciate your taking the time to detail your visit, and am pleased you had a great time at Royal Pavilion!

One great natural happening here you mentioned: From May 1 through November we have sea turtles lay eggs on our beach.. Some weeks later the eggs hatch and the baby turtles return to the sea. A remarkable experience and much more than anywhere else in the Cairbbean I have worked at in the last 35 years. It has to be seen!

Thank you for your comments;

Wayne Kafcsak
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We had booked a sunday lunch as part of my sons birthday treat, we were on the island at and all inclusive hotel As the Fairmont does not offer AI. We Visit the Fairmont St Andrews many times and absolutely love it. you can not begin to imagine our disappointment with the hotels staff. From our immediate arrival with the receptionist who told me she was too busy to show us around, to the receptionist at the lunch desk who was very curt with us and then sat us away from the main area? Sunday is a buffet but asking for food from the 'meat section' was unbelievable what chef can not remember an order for 3 minutes? On a positive the food (albeit from the salad bar) was good and when the operations manager generally asked how things were, he did try to fix things. the first thing he did was make sure the lunch receptionist came over, and offered us free wine. The staff member did come over but only continued to tell us that there was too many clients waiting to be seated and she was very busy? I do believe the management team will try and fix your issues, but with the staff they had on duty today they have their hands full? At this point we decided to end over lunch and asked for the bill, we were not there for more than 30 mins max what a waste of time. Again on a positive the manager didn't make us pay for the salad :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank mary g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalPavilionHotel, General Manager at Fairmont Royal Pavilion, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Good Morning Mary G:

My sincerest apologies for the mishap concerning your lunch, Tyagi our Director of Operations let me know of your experience, We appreciate your business as visitors from another hotel and your planned special lunch date should have been perfect. I am glad you felt our managment team did their best to correct the matter. Indeed the employees you can into contact with could have done a better job in letting you know we were busy and keeping you informed as to when you could be served, we have already taken steps to insure this type of situation is addressed in our training.

We look forward to inviting you back to a proper lunch as our guests here at Fairmont Royal Pavilion when you are next on island. i assure you, you would find your experience was unusual rather than the norm for our resort!

Sincerely:

Wayne Kafcsak
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is a very belated review, but I figured; better late than never.

My Fiancee and I stayed here last November, and we liked it so much we're going back for our honeymoon this week!

Rooms: Our room was on the top floor in the last room on the buidling, so we had a wonderful corner balcony. The buildings are right on top of the beach, so if you are laying in bed you can't even see the beach you are so close! The rooms are as lovely as the pictures.

Resort/pool/beach: The location of this resort in relation to the beach is unbeatable, and the beach itself is gorgeous. We've been to many islands in the Carribean and this beach did not dissapoint. Pool was great, my fiancee (at the time) spend endless hours floating in the pool and making new friends (two of which came to the wedding!)

Food: We mostly had room service for breakfast and poolside for lunch then went off resort for dinner. Breakfast and lunch were great, no complaints there. High tea, which coincided with happy hour is not to be missed! There was also a cocktail party one night, which was a nice experience as well.

Staff: For the most part the staff was great. Only complaint was, and this isn't the staff's fault, but if I had a tab going at the pool, then went for tea, they would shut the tab down and make me sign, then sign again the the restaurant for tea (which is directly beside the pool) sign that tab, then id have some drinks at the pool later, sign another tab...etc. I think I signed my name about 5 times a day at least, which isn't a big thing, but could be streamlined.

Bottom line, this is a great resort, wouldn't be going back for the first part of our honeymoon if it wasn't. (we're off to St. Lucia for our second half)

Oh last thing, go swimming with the turtles! You go right off the beach, I'll be going every day!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalPavilionHotel, General Manager at Fairmont Royal Pavilion, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear Chris L:

Thanks for the belated review; it is still very much appreciated! I took note of your comment on opening and closing bar tabs, I will look into if something can be done to expedite the process.

We hope to see you back soon!

Wayne Kafcsak
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We loved this hotel. The service was beyond amazing and the staff were beyond helpful. There weren't too many great restaurants at the hotel itself but there are a lot of options near the hotel. The water by this hotel in the west was definitely calm. It wasn't as beautiful as some of the beaches more south but those beaches had a lot of waves and were fun but not as relaxing. We spent one of our days travelling to the other beaches so we could have both experiences. The hotel rooms at the Fairmont were very very nice. Seems like they were newly remodeled. We got lucky and got a great off season deal (199/night) or else the prices are a little steep (399/night) so I'm happy about that - but not sure how happy I would have been had we paid the higher price. All in all, a wonderful hotel!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank cicixee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalPavilionHotel, General Manager at Fairmont Royal Pavilion, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Hi cicixee:

Thank you for your kind comments. Indeed, our Jr. Suites were renovated in 2010 and we continue to refresh our resort on a reqular basis. This year (2013) we have a variety of projects planned for our public areas with significant works planned to all our rooms in 2014.

Thank you for the comment!

Wayne Kafcsak
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We have recently returned from a week (half term) May 2013 and can recommend this hotel as a great place for a family vacation. Although with teenagers there is not a great deal of nightlife everyone had a fantastic vacation. The staff make the resort and the attention to detail is second to none. The hotel rooms are large and spacious and you get exactly what you pay for having been stung at other hotels for a charge for an interlocking room we were delighted to have this detail covered upon arrival and the balcony was also opened. We were on the 1st floor and not in the slightly more luxourous ground floor rooms but you are not dissappointed. The beach is beautiful and the cabana staff attentive and excellent. We have never slept anywhere so close to the sea and it was a pleasure to hear the ocean as you feel into the large beds asleep. Buffet breakfast was fast with excellent choice and the afternoon tea was an absolute delight. Cant wait to return.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalPavilionHotel, General Manager at Fairmont Royal Pavilion, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Hello Caroline F:

i am pleased you and your family enjoyed your holiday with us here at The Fairmont Royal Pavilion. i will let our staff know your great comments!

Sincerely:

Wayne Kafcsak
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porters
2.8 mi away
The House by Elegant Hotels
The House by Elegant Hotels
#2 of 26 in Saint James Parish
637 reviews
0.5 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
3 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
365 reviews
2.7 mi away
Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
8.7 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 6 in Bridgetown
3,816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Royal Pavilion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Royal Pavilion

Address: St. James, Porters BB24051, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish > Porters
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Porters
Price Range: $472 - $2,202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Royal Pavilion 4.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the sought-after Platinum Coast, on a 1/2 mile long beach and 11 acres of lush tropical gardens, you'll fill your sun-kissed days and starlit nights with unforgettable moments. All 72 rooms and suites offer magnificent, unobstructed views of the beautiful Caribbean Sea. Several included services will make your stay even more memorable, including daily afternoon tea, WiFi, fitness room, tennis courts, a freshwater pool, non-motorized water sports, swim with the turtles, a weekly manager's cocktail and garden tours. Indulge your senses with innovative Caribbean-inspired menus at 2 beachfront restaurants. In-room dining available 24-7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, TravelUp, Booking.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fairmont Royal Pavilion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Royal Pavilion Hotel Porters
Fairmont Hotel Porters
Fairmont Hotel Royal Pavilion
Fairmont St. James
Barbados Fairmont Hotel
St. James Fairmont
Fairmont Royal Pavilion Barbados/Saint James Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing