We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great hotel - as good as any we've stayed at in Barbados” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairmont Royal Pavilion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fairmont Royal Pavilion
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Porters
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great hotel - as good as any we've stayed at in Barbados”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

These reviews are best done in context so we've previously stayed at Colony Club, Tamarind (2x + 3 days after the stay at the Faimont this year) and Cobblers Cove. Cobblers Cove is our favourite but is now out of our price range. The Fairmont is easily 2nd place. This may be due to the week we were there being really quite so we had vast areas of beach to ourselves and very attentive staff. I cannot comment on what the place would be like if busy but I have no reason to suggest any different.

As with everywhere in Barbados if you make an effort and understand the culture you get so much more back. The staff were fantastic and when you are told by a waitress she has been there for 27 years that speaks volumes, especially given the acquisition by a US chain some years ago. When we arrived we were offered the usual welcome drink and, as usual we refused, on the bsais that after 12 hours travelling we just want a shower and beer. Next thing we are off to our room and a beer followed immediately.

Food great, location great, rooms great, prices on a par with similar properties in Barbados.

Criticisms: I agree with another reviewer here that the beds and parasols were worn but they were being replaced on the day we left. The Sunday BBQ was busy and the grill not exactly efficiently run so it took a long time to get my food. However, I think this only really bothered me because of the contrast with every other meal.

I will definitely return and recommend it highly but please don't go in December as I want to keep the prices down:)

Hope this helps.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DuncanAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalPavilionHotel, General Manager at Fairmont Royal Pavilion, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear DuncanAM:

Thank you for your review, I am glad you gave us a try! Yes, we have replaced our beach umbrellas and cushions in December which has been a nice addition. We further have been investing in other upgrades throughout the property, there is much planned for this year (2013).

Please let me know if i may ever be of service and we look forward to having you back with us here at The Fairmont Royal Pavilion.

Sincerely:

Wayne R. Kafcsak
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,043 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    736
    202
    59
    32
    14
See reviews for
206
622
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

This is a amazing hotel, the staff are so friendly, and nothing is too much trouble, with its beautiful location, it truly is a special hotel
On our first morning at breakfast, our waitress asked us where we would like to sunbathe, we said on the beach, so she arranged for a book and towels to be placed on sun loungers for us.
The food is very good, they have speciality evenings with singers, and it was very good.
Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: You must have a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TC W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalPavilionHotel, General Manager at Fairmont Royal Pavilion, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear TC W:

Thank you for the comment!

Sincerely:

Wayne R. Kafcsak
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boscastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

My partner and I stayed for 2 weeks in December and had a thoroughly enjoyable holiday. The hotel is in a very good location on the west coast and has a wide beach front setting. All the rooms have sea views. The room we had was an Ocean view deluxe room which was very comfortable indeed. The breakfast was very good with a wide choice of fruits, cooked breakfasts.etc. There are two restaurants for dinner and the food in both was very good. Service in the restaurants was good too and generally friendly. We like to get out and about and we hired a car for the 2 weeks which enabled us to travel all around the island which we enjoyed.
The only slight criticisms I could make were that the beach was a bit disappointing in that the sunbeds and umbrellas probably need replacing as they are generally well worn and the staff who looked after the beach were not very helpful in terms of setting up towels etc on the sunbeds. Also the beach was never raked and looked a bit unclean sometimes. We would have welcomed a garden area with sunbeds
Also there was a lack of communication to guests regarding events and dinner in the restaurants. We would have welcomed a daily sheet which gave us that information

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnWarwickshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalPavilionHotel, General Manager at Fairmont Royal Pavilion, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear John Warwickshire:

Thank you for your comments. I am pleased to report we have replaced our beach umbrellas and sunbeds, and have improved the information we distribute throughout the resort.

I assure you, we will continue to strive for perfection!

Sincerely:

Wayne R. Kafcsak
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel offers first class accommodation supported by exceptional staff who make you feel valued whilst offering a relaxed and fun time.
The hotel offers high standards but is not starchy, you can dine in your own room, the relaxed cafe Taboras or the more formal Palm Terrace.
All rooms have supurb ocean view terraces or balconies
Good entertainment and water sport avaliable.
Having stayed at various hotels in Barbados, this beats them all

Room Tip: 1st and second floor rooms offer more privacy from the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnM2225717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

My wife and I spent five wonderful nights at The Fairmont. Even before we arrived - to a warm welcome including a rum punch at check-in - we had very good interactions with GM Wayne and his excellent staff. Concierge Tawanda had arranged our reservations at wonderful local restaurants, our relaxing catamaran cruise (more rum punches, swimming with turtles, tasty lunch) and suggestions for tours. Our room was perfect, with a stunning view of the ocean barely 30 yards from our balcony. We enjoyed dinner at both The Palm and The Terrace, the latter also the location for an excellent and leisurely breakfast each morning. Bajans, including especially the staff at hotel were always genuinely friendly and interested in ensuring we had a nice time. Heck, even when I neglected to turn off lights of my rented car - dead battery the next morning - the concierge jumped me with his own car and cables! I can't recommend this property more highly and know that we will be back. Thanks again, Wayne

Room Tip: They are all good rooms (I'd been here before on business), but if you prefer a bit more privacy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Juan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel isn't quite perfect but it is excellent and our party of four left feeling that we had possibly our most relaxing holiday ever.

The great stuff:

Staff: Incredibly friendly, genuine and prepared to go the extra mile with a very Bajan vibe. From the rum punch welcome, to the friendly and fun breakfast and bar service during the day, right through to the manager making sure he was present as we left to check everything was in order and to wish us a safe journey home. This is not Four Season's style, it's friendlier and more relaxed but we enjoyed it.

The location: Right on the beach on the luxury West coast. All the rooms have incredible beach views. Great beach.

Local Restaurants: We love great food and happy to pay for the experience. This place has some of the best restaurants I have eaten in - in a very long time. Fresh ingredients, great taste, great service. I would thoroughly recommend Lonestar (200 yards down the beach), Fishpot (10 mins by taxi) great sea views and more Bajan, Cin Cin (10 mins by taxi the other way) with amazing sea view and ultra modern.

Things to be aware of:

The hotel restaurant food was good but ambience and service are not up to the standard of the restaurants listed above and is the same price, so I would avoid.

This hotel is all about relaxation and the beach. No young children and the pool is small but adequate. If this is not for you - avoid.

Barbados, taxis and high end food are all expensive (as you would expect at a luxury destination). If budget is an issue - avoid.

We were first time visitors to Barbados and will return and stay at the same hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms have a great sea and beach view. If staying in a suite on the ground floor, I would go for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PauliePie24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

From the moment we arrived, we could tell by the attitude of the staff and the beautiful surroundings that we were in for a real treat. We arrived at 10am and were offered a suite of rooms to use whilst our room was prepared. Things only got better! The happiness in this hotel is infectious. Much better value than Sandy Lane where we stayed a few years ago after it was refurbished. Our bedroom was double + double + double, with south facing balcony overlooking the ocean below. The setting and overall ambiance was second to none. Breakfast was amazing - have never seen so much fresh fruit and freshly squeezed juices and mountainous seafood buffets. Absolutely loved the live entertainment - danced during dinner as you really couldn't sit still! Our only criticism is that we really should have stayed longer!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank VMaryB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porters
2.8 mi away
The House by Elegant Hotels
The House by Elegant Hotels
#2 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
0.6 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
3.0 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,820 reviews
2.9 mi away
Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
0.7 mi away
Coral Reef Club
Coral Reef Club
#2 of 4 in Holetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Royal Pavilion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Royal Pavilion

Property: Fairmont Royal Pavilion
Address: St. James, Porters BB24051 , Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish > Porters
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Porters
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Royal Pavilion 4.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the sought-after Platinum Coast, on a 1/2 mile long beach and 11 acres of lush tropical gardens, you'll fill your sun-kissed days and starlit nights with unforgettable moments. All 72 rooms and suites offer magnificent, unobstructed views of the beautiful Caribbean Sea. Several included services will make your stay even more memorable, including daily afternoon tea, WiFi, fitness room, tennis courts, a freshwater pool, non-motorized water sports, swim with the turtles, a weekly manager's cocktail and garden tours. Indulge your senses with innovative Caribbean-inspired menus at 2 beachfront restaurants. In-room dining available 24-7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Royal Pavilion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Royal Pavilion Hotel Porters
Fairmont Hotel Porters
Fairmont Hotel Royal Pavilion
Fairmont St. James
Barbados Fairmont Hotel
St. James Fairmont
Fairmont Royal Pavilion Barbados/Saint James Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing