We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Fairmont Royal Pavilion
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Porters
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
Reviewed January 26, 2012

Rooms very good, large, comfy bed and good views.
Breakfast varied and fresh
Beach really nice, not overcrowded
Felt safe all the time
Staff very nice

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Orwell1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,077 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    763
    205
    62
    32
    15
See reviews for
212
644
10
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2012

Stayed 2 nights here after a cruise and I have to say in terms of location and rooms this hotel can't be beaten. We checked in early and were shown straight to our 2nd floor room with fabulous views over the pretty beach and ocean. The rooms are expertly laid out and have everything you need. We walked along the beach and snorkelled with the turtles which is organised by the hotel if needed - best to do this as our guide fed the turtles and it was like having a private swim with them rather than being in a party of 20 or so on a trip.

We walked along the beach to have dinner at the lone star restaurant which was excellent as I am sorry to say that the hotel food is a little pretentious for our tastes and not worth the prices charged. Indeed, the lone star was cheaper for dinner than the hotel and way way better. There is also a daytime beach bar called juju which does the best fish n chips ever.

Afternoon tea is served complimentary and is a nice touch. Overall the hotel has great standards and we will revisit every time we come to Barbados - just need them to review their food offering and quality

Oh, nearly forgot to mention - no kids at this time of year is a real plus point for us as we stayed at the Hilton before the cruise and it was overrun by the little darlings but that's another review!

Service is slow but we are in paradise after all.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank choccyaddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2012

Stayed here in May 2010 (pre upgrade) and Nov 2011 (post upgrade) and on both stays on the whole the staff couldn't be nicer. Yes one small glitch but get to that later.

Location just 5 mins from Holetown by taxi or bus (do try the local boogie bus only 2 bajan dollar it's fun and an experience).

Rooms: We booked a ocean view room (they all are except for the villa) stunning views. A well laid out room well kept and very clean. Bathrooms were not refurbished but no problems as it had both large bath and a walkin shower. The feature of the room is the balcony with its glass frontage table 2 chairs and 2 loungers, perfect for a G&T of an evening.

Beach - Fantastic great for swimming with a seated platform moored further out so you can have a rest, do spot of sunbathing before swimming back to the beach.

Dining In Breakfast is well laid out and plentiful lite dinners or dinner at the beach front restaurant were great. More formal dining in the Palm Restaurant where the service was a bit more of a hit and a miss (my one glitch). Tip get room service at least once and dine on the balcony (we had lunch it was superb)

Pool well maintained the grounds have been upgraded very comfortable loungers and get the pool attendants to book your favourite place. They look after you. Also both beach and pool they would come round with a cold flannel during the day and either an ice lolly or a slush sorbet to cool you down.

Dining Out Plenty of options, Expensive to reasonable. Lonestar is 5 mins walk along the beach but personally I found them a little arrogant as if they knew they had a 'captured' market. Loved Tides and the Beach House in Holetown and dined at Cin Cin very modern and minimalist. Lost the atmosphere of Calabaza as it once was.

Hotel, would I go again yes but is pricey for B&B but you pay for location and the service.

Hope this helps.

Room Tip: On the ground floor they have very plush junior suites with their own decking area outside leading t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ludlum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2012

We celebrated our 30th anniversary at the Royal Pavilion during May of 2011. We had made some specific requests relating to our celebration that were missed by select members of the staff. That first evening I left a message for the General Manager Wayne Kafcsak about my disappointment with what had not been arranged to my satisfaction. At breakfast the next morning we were asked if we would be willing to speak with Wayne after breakfast. We then met poolside and discussed the matter at length. Wayne was entirely professional and caring about how this very important trip had started out at less than the expected Fairmont level.

The short comings of the previous day were quickly addressed and so completely compensated for that I would describe the recovery as "legendary". I can appreciate that some expectations are not always met but then again if we do not inform those that are able to affect a positive recovery, then how can we expect something better?

So now you might wonder if we would return to the RPV? Yes in February to celebrate an important birthday that I would not want to entrust to any other group of people than the great team at the RPV.

Will it be perfect? I am thinking pretty close!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Ives, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2012

The hotel is set right on the beach side about and our room had a terrace leading straight on to the sand.
The suite was well furnished and with a large comfortable bed, sofa and chairs, and patio furniture on the deck. Security is an issue on the ground floor level and we were advised not to sleep with the patio doors open and unlocked.
Breakfast was taken in the beach side cafe/bar and was buffet style. It was expensive for the various options and service was chaotic and slow. The staff had not been organised to clear tables when vacated leading to a queue of people waiting to be seated despite there being several empty tables.
A beach side drink ordered from the roaming waiter never materialised. This in fact did us a favour as we ended up walking down the beach to a beach bar nearby where we had drinks for a third of the price in a great atmosphere with a mix of locals and visitors.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John2702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2012

This is a very special property. We loved our one-week stay because the staff, the other guests and the grounds were all delightful and special, combining to create a very intimate and enjoyable vacation. Our room was very clean, luxurious and beautiful, with a comfortable bed and the sounds of the sea crashing outside our second floor veranda. While the service was a bit relaxed at times, I also noticed that the staff was exceptionally polite and attentive. Our weather (early January) was just stupendous and we thoroughly enjoyed swimming on the beach. Last but certainly not least, there are many wonderful restaurants to choose from. Every night was an adventure!

Room Tip: Truly, all the rooms are equally sublime!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2012

I highly recommend the Fairmont Royal Pavilion to American vacationers or anyone who wants to have a very pleasant and relaxing vacation experience. The customer service is slower than in the US, but remember, your on vacation. If you are a person that wants to truly relax and unwind this is the place for you. Beautiful beaches, beach bars, friendly service, clean rooms. Stay clear of the fogger on Thursday evenings, but other than that, one of the best vacation locations of our lives.

Room Tip: Everything is Oceanfront so you really can go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HoosierTex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RPVEA, Executive Assistant at Fairmont Royal Pavilion, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Dear HoosierTex

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to write your wonderful review and also for your very positive comments.

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are certainly looking forward to welcoming you and your family back in the very near future.

Best Regards,

Chantel Warden
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porters
2.8 mi away
The House by Elegant Hotels
The House by Elegant Hotels
#2 of 26 in Saint James Parish
588 reviews
0.5 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
3.0 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
1,955 reviews
2.7 mi away
Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
1.9 mi away
Sandy Lane Hotel
Sandy Lane Hotel
#3 of 26 in Saint James Parish
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Royal Pavilion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Royal Pavilion

Property: Fairmont Royal Pavilion
Address: St. James, Porters BB24051 , Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish > Porters
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Porters
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Royal Pavilion 4.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the sought-after Platinum Coast, on a 1/2 mile long beach and 11 acres of lush tropical gardens, you'll fill your sun-kissed days and starlit nights with unforgettable moments. All 72 rooms and suites offer magnificent, unobstructed views of the beautiful Caribbean Sea. Several included services will make your stay even more memorable, including daily afternoon tea, WiFi, fitness room, tennis courts, a freshwater pool, non-motorized water sports, swim with the turtles, a weekly manager's cocktail and garden tours. Indulge your senses with innovative Caribbean-inspired menus at 2 beachfront restaurants. In-room dining available 24-7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Fairmont Hotels, Travelocity, TravelUp, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Jetsetter, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fairmont Royal Pavilion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Royal Pavilion Hotel Porters
Fairmont Hotel Porters
Fairmont Hotel Royal Pavilion
Fairmont St. James
Barbados Fairmont Hotel
St. James Fairmont
Fairmont Royal Pavilion Barbados/Saint James Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing