We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (785)
Filter reviews
785 results
Traveler rating
521
188
53
18
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
521
188
53
18
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews frozen grapes luxury poolside sunset deck ice cream beach ambassadors happy hour water taxi laguna restaurant swim up bar lobster night organic garden island tour water sports seaside grill front row ocean view room bottle of rum
Filter
Updating list...
339 - 344 of 785 reviews
Reviewed June 5, 2016

Recently returned from a half-week stay and overall, I would not return. They seem to be very strict about the 3PM check-in time and the first room we were given was nice but the bathroom was a bit run down. There was intense pounding coming from the people above us so we asked to be moved. The next room was nice but the mattress is terrible. It is a pillow top but really worn down so each side of the bed has a noticeable dip that was incredibly uncomfortable to sleep in and not for those with any type of back sensitivity.

Overall, I was most shocked by the amount of screaming children everywhere at the hotel and that their parents allow them to behave this way. I did not know this was a family haven and had I known, I would not have come. It was not relaxing at all having children screaming at the pool, at the beach, at breakfast, and even from their patios while you walk through the grounds. We did not swim in the pool once because it is taken over by children and their floats. The pools were also not kept up throughout the day and often have debris and did not look very inviting.

Stayed: June 2016, traveled as a couple
2  Thank ADC2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EHGSocialMedia, Social Media/Guest Relations at Colony Club by Elegant Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2016

Dear ADC2000,

Thank you for taking the time and effort to review Colony Club. We regret to hear about your disappointment in your stay with us.

We sincerely apologize for any inconveniences you experienced during your stay as we continuously strive to exceed guest expectations in our service and product offerings. Our check-in time is at 3:00 p.m. to ensure that our rooms are prepared to the highest standard for our guests' comfort, however we do appreciate that some of our guests might arrive earlier than our checkin time and we are happy to provide a courtesy room allowing them full use of the facilities and the beach.

All of our rooms including the bathrooms have been fully refurbished in a design that is well received by our guests and we are sorry if it did not cater to your personal taste.

Colony Club caters to couples and families alike. February is an adults only month at Colony Club and if you do choose to visit us again, perhaps that would be better suited to your needs.

We do appreciate the opportunity to remedy any concerns our guests may have, and we wish you would have brought them to our attention whilst you were here so that we could have discussed and addressed them.

We are truly sorry that this stay did not exceed your expectations. We appreciate your feedback and will continuously use our guests’ input to improve our service and product offerings.

Kind regards

Khadijah D.
Social Media/Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2016

We’ve just had a very good 11 nights at the Colony Club Hotel. The staff were friendly, generally efficient and put a lot of effort into ensuring the whole place is kept clean and tidy – no mean feat with all the trees in the gardens. Check-in was quick and we were given a short introduction over a glass of rum punch. We had a standard garden view room (222) toward the back of the hotel, in the furthest block from the beach. A garden view is exactly what we had with lots of trees, shrubs and flowers. There were regular visits to the balcony by the local sparrows, occasional visits by yellow breasts, and bats could be seen flying in the evenings. A nearby mango tree attracted monkeys on a couple of nights too. The room was spotlessly clean when we arrived and the excellent service provided by our friendly maid kept it that way throughout our stay. We were never short of clean towels, shower gel or shampoo. The air conditioning was quiet and maintained a steady temperature. Although we were relatively close to the main road (H1) we were never disturbed by traffic. WiFi worked well throughout the hotel, although the network was not secure.
Eating and drinking at the hotel was not cheap but neither were the good restaurants in Holetown. A typical choice of good food was available at the buffet breakfast. Provision of hotel newspapers kept us informed of UK & World news and what was happening in the hotel.
The Sunset Bar, adjacent to the beach, provided a good location for lunch but it seemed as though most people ate out for dinner. The Laguna Restaurant is airy and functional but it has no atmosphere. Unfortunately, breakfast in the Laguna Restaurant is plagued by blackbirds that are quite adept at stealing food or drink from your table and there’s nothing to prevent them getting to uncovered food in the buffet area. It’s worth noting that cargo shorts are not permitted in the Laguna Restaurant for dinner but tailored shorts are acceptable. Evening musical entertainment was sedate; background rather than full-on.
Small nibbles, grapes and ice cream were provided around the pools and on the beach at various times during the day as were small chilled towels that were very welcome. The beach was raked over every night there were plenty of sun beds, fairly closely packed but all with good parasols. There were plenty of sun beds with good parasols around the well maintained pools. There were also some gazebos around the pool but there was plenty of space between the beds so you never felt crowded. All of the sunbeds were provided with two towels, one to cover the luxury mattress and one for drying. Clean towels were always readily available in the pool and beach areas as was iced water and sun cream.
The hotel provides a small number of tours / events. We went to Oistins on a Friday night (BDS $40 each). It was an experience; if you enjoy a cacophony of competing loud music with lots of bass packed into a fairly small area with food being cooked almost everywhere you turn then this is for you. The food was relatively inexpensive and perfectly edible but it was difficult to hold a conversation and the smoke from cooking was intense. The Holetown Historic walk (no charge) was interesting and if you are into plants, the Garden Tour (no charge) in the hotel grounds with the head gardener is definitely worth doing. By far the best tour was the Colony Island Safari (no charge), taking in St Nicholas Abbey and Hunte’s Gardens (entry charges apply at both locations). It’s certainly worth going to the Manager’s Cocktail Party on Tuesday night where you can make new friends as well as sample a couple of drinks on the staff. There are other activities provided by the hotel that we didn’t participate in.
Motorised water sports can be arranged with independent vendors on the public beach and I had 4 good scuba dives with Hightide divers, based at the adjacent Coral Reef Club hotel.
It takes approximately 15 minutes to walk into Holetown where there are a two shopping malls and supermarkets plus other stores, bars and restaurants. There are a couple of good restaurants on H1 just a few minutes from the hotel. Waves spa is in the hotel grounds and provides typical hotel spa services – nothing fancy but certainly adequate for a massage.

  • Stayed: May 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EHGSocialMedia, Social Media/Guest Relations at Colony Club by Elegant Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2016

Dear Ian W,

Thank you for taking the time to share this glowing review of your stay ay Colony Club by Elegant Hotels. We are delighted to know that you had a truly fantastic time during your visit with us and that our team treated you so well. They truly are a credit to the hotel and one of the reasons why so many guests return year after year.

Our aim at Colony Club is to provide all of our guests with a relaxing holiday with stellar service, from the warm rum punch filled welcome, to our extensive breakfast buffet and continuing with our signature beach ambassador service, complimentary motorised and non-motorised watersports and bespoke tours and experiences. We continuously strive to exceed the expectations of our guests, and from your glowing comments it certainly seems as though we achieved this.

Sublime service, luxurious accommodations and excellent cuisine all in a stunning beachfront location, it truly doesn't get much better! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Khadijah D.
Social Media/Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2016

Am giving this hotel a 4 star although 3 ½ would be more apt. We have just come back from an 11-night stay. Having looked on trip adviser and other sites we were swayed to the CC. The good bits first, the rooms were large and clean, we had an ocean view room on the first floor so could hear and see the sea. The food for lunch and dinner was always good although did lack variation. The lobster night was good but the buffet night was disappointing. The not so good bits, the reception staff although very good when arriving are rather useless, I would suggest some training would be in order simple facts like what menu is on offer at the group hotels should be easier enough to know without having to phone each hotel, eventually we gave up asking. Recommendations would be nice not just on restaurants but where to go, where to visit asking a question and getting an answer was like getting blood from a stone. Overall the staff including reception, restaurant and beach seemed like they all had an attitude, once the request was made they fulfilled it and were polite but am on holiday I am polite I do not need attitude again training would not go a miss. The beach attendants were unhelpful and beach service was poor. Breakfast lacked variety and content and should go on till at least 10:30. We did the tours provided by the hotel and they were very good. OUR overall stay was great we enjoyed ourselves, we eat well and relaxed but from the reviews we were expecting better and unfortunately would not go back. Wifi is excellent and throughout the hotel

Room Tip: ocean view roon
  • Stayed: May 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2016

Colony Club, a large hotel, was recommended for their Sunday buffet. Expected that most of those having lunch would be guests but a high proportion were Bajan celebrating birthdays.

Good selection of fish, meats and deserts - excellent service.

Stayed: May 2016
1  Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2016 via mobile

We stayed for 10 nights. The rooms are decent and well equipped. The staff are excellent. Themed evenings are varied if you're not planning on venturing too far. The buffet on Tuesday nights is immense, be hungry and fill your plate! Happy hour between 4 - 6 is a great way to start each evening, meet some other guests, and save a few dollars all at the same time. We went B&B, breakfast is very good and plenty to cater for all tastes. There are so many good restaurants near by that we thought it would be a shame to be all inclusive as so much would be missed.
Sun loungers are incredibly comfortable, easy to laze the day away. Free water sports should be used and abused, a great option.
We're considering returning here next time for sure.

Stayed: May 2016, traveled as a couple
2  Thank ben e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EHGSocialMedia, Social Media/Guest Relations at Colony Club by Elegant Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2016

Dear ben e,

Many thanks for sharing this lovely review of your "great experience" with us at Colony Club Hotel. It is such a pleasure to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay, particularly our comfortable, well-equipped rooms, beautiful beach and our excellent staff.

At Colony Club we want our guests to make the most of their holiday to Barbados and we are proud to offer a range of complimentary experiences available right at your fingertips, from the plethora of water sports available to our bespoke tours and wellness activities. Our culinary team will be delighted to know that you thoroughly enjoyed the excellent culinary options available, particularly our buffets.

We look forward to hosting you again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Khadijah D.
Social Media/Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews