We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive but not really worth the money ....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Porters
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Expensive but not really worth the money ....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

So we decided to treat ourselves and spend a little more money on our holiday this year ... Cannot say it was really worth the money and more than a little disappointed. If you are not up at the crack of dawn forget getting a sunbed on the beach .. Infuriating that guests are allowed to leave books and personal effects and then leave beds for a length of time. Did not get our sea view suite stuck at the back of hotel blame Virgin more than the hotel but they have done nothing to remedy.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilidat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EHGSocialMedia, Guest Relations Manager at Colony Club by Elegant Hotels, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Hilidat,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your comments.

We regret to hear about your disappointment in your stay with us at Colony Club. We do appreciate your review; and, will continuously use our guests’ feedback to improve our service and product offerings in order to enhance our overall guest experience.

Our newly renovated Ocean View Room categories are very popular, hence we would recommend that you always book this category in advance to ensure you are guaranteed the room with the view you expected.

We hope to welcome you back to Colony Club in the future to experience the level of service and product standards we strive to meet.

Sincerely,

Frankie F. – Social Media/Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    386
    134
    35
    9
    3
See reviews for
131
335
1
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bourne End, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

The service is so friendly and efficient nothing to much trouble, guest relations staff are very welcoming, the main reason why we keep coming back and have stayed at a lot if other hotels in Barbados some of which can be rather stuffy but Colony Club never disappoints. The beach is nice and sandy, lounger are comfy, fully towelled fresh for you every day, safe bathing and lots of water activities all free, except a trip to see and swim with turtles wonderful experience and snorkelling over a shipwreck we saw lots of brilliant tropical fish super. Food was generally good, sea food buffet was excellent with lots of choice, the only thing we weren't impressed with was their special lobster night outside you couldn't read the menus it was so dark, they need to fix small lights to the menu cards or do something, also we were disappointed with the lobster which was small but expensive. But this is only a Minor complaint perhaps we were unlucky on the night

Room Tip: Poolside room with our own private stairway to enter pool was fantastic, and close to all amenities...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ted V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

The best week of our lives! On arrival we were greeted with rum punch, after a long drive dropping other holiday makers to their hotels, it was just what we needed. We were upgraded to a lovely room which had a wonderful view of the sea, beach and pool from the balcony, which had its own double bed lounger…it was massive! Complimentary champagne too!

Karen, our wedding coordinator was superb, she welcomed us when we arrived, organised the day in the days leading up to the wedding (hair, make-up, flowers, location etc.) She was even on hand during the day and took care of everything. Setting was lovely, colourful gardens, clean swimming pools and a deck that overlooked the beach and calm sea.

Every member of staff knew who we were, we liked that little touch, we have never experienced that level of customer service at a hotel before. The food was equally as good, lots of options on the menu, we had our wedding breakfast on the deck and the selection of food on offer was great! Breakfasts were even better! They had everything!

Location wise, it is a 10 minute walk out of the hotel to shops and restaurants, we enjoyed a walk in the evening to these restaurants. Alternatively, you can get the Reggae Reggae bus down, we got on this a few times, visiting other hotels (to view wedding photos and to visit other guests wedding guests).

All in all this is a fantastic hotel in a superb location. We want to go back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bren86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EHGSocialMedia, Social Media Guest Relations Manager at Colony Club by Elegant Hotels, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear bren86,
Thank you for taking the time and effort to share such a wonderful review. We are delighted you chose to celebrate your very special occasion with us, and congratulations!
We are pleased that our staff was able to leave such a memorable impression on you, as we consistently strive to provide outstanding service to our guests. Karen is happy to have helped create a superb experience for you, and she sends her best.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Colony Club soon!
Sincerely,
Frankie F., Social Media/Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

We've just returned from a week at the Colony Club and are so glad we chose the hotel (albeit on a recommendation from friends who have been 2-3 times). The property is beautifully presented and manicured and sits on a large site about 5-10 mins walk north of Holetown - perfectly positioned at the end of the beach for less passing beach traffic and a more private beach. Although a big site the hotel feels small and welcoming - perhaps it has something to do with the open-plan design, beautiful, mature gardens and meandering swimming pool. From the minute we arrived we felt completely at home and the whole staff (of which there were many) couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful. Most days we spent lounging on the comfortable beach beds and in and out of the turquoise blue Caribbean; retreating to the shade of the over-hanging trees during the peak hours. After a varied and substantial breakfast we'd usually have a small late lunch on the deck of the beach restaurant (excellent day menu) before heading out to one of the many good restaurants on the island in the evening. We were sad to leave after just a week and look forward to spending longer during our next visit. If you live in London you'll find food and drink in the hotel pretty reasonable and the rest of the island more so. Whilst there we saw quite a few of the other 'better' properties on the West Coast and met/spoke to many people from other hotels. All in all we were very happy with our choice and would suggest that the Colong Club is one of the best of the 'better' hotels on that part of Barbados!

Room Tip: We had room 236 which was a first floor luxury pool room. If we went again we'd ask for a groun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Remy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EHGSocialMedia, Social Media Guest Relations Manager at Colony Club by Elegant Hotels, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Remy M,
Many thanks for taking the time to share your kind remarks, and highlighting all of the great amenities and services we offer so that our guests can experience the beauty of Barbados.
As we pride ourselves on our friendly and attentive service, we are pleased to hear that you felt right at home and had a wonderful time during your stay with us.
We hope to see you soon!
Sincerely,
Frankie F., Social Media/Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
263 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

As this will be yet another one of my reviews of the Colony Club I will only go over what has changed in the last 6 months - 1 Year.
We have been visiting both Barbados and the Colony Club for over 10 years, we have come to think of the people at the Colony Club as both friends and family. They have updated a number of rooms over the last little while and the restaurant has undergone a great restoration. It does not have the snob appeal of Sandy Lane but it doesn't try to compete with them. It is a great place for a family getaway and it very close to some of the best restaurants on the island.

Room Tip: The Ocean Front Suites are perfectly situated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BreezeRidge3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EHGSocialMedia, Social Media Guest Relations Manager at Colony Club by Elegant Hotels, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear BreezeRidge3,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Colony Club again. We appreciate your continuous loyalty, and are pleased you experienced another enjoyable holiday with us.
We are extremely delighted to hear your kind comments on our recent room and restaurant renovations. We continuously work to improve and enhance our overall guest experience so it is great to hear your positive feedback.
We are very happy that we were able to deliver on our promise once again, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Colony Club soon.
Sincerely,
Frankie F., Social Media/Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
203 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

A very restful, well positioned hotel. Excellent staff and I certainly recommend an Ocean View Room. Golden sand and a good on site pool. A few water sports avail able and a short walk from Holetown. Very relaxing and restful.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

We went to the Colony Club with high hopes and wer bitterly disappointed. The room ("Ocean view") looked at the pool and we were eventually moved. The rooms are in need of complete renovation. Even our pillows were awful - like lumps of coal.
The pool is odd and not conducive to swimming while the beach is very narrow and crowded.
The dining room is soulless and the food variable. The breakfast buffet could so easily be good but the presentation is awful and the food average at best.
The only plus side was the charm and helpfulness of the staff.
The guest (tattoos and the Sun newspaper) said it all.
Cannot believe I paid full price - I bet nobody else did.
Would never go back.

Room Tip: Go somehwere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EHGSocialMedia, Social Media Guest Relations Manager at Colony Club by Elegant Hotels, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Steve,

Thank you for taking the time and effort to review Colony Club, and in presenting us with your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed the hospitality of our staff.

We regret to hear about your disappointment in your stay with us at Colony Club. We continuously strive to exceed guest expectations in our service and product offerings. Generally, our guests love the layout of the lagoon pools that wind through the property and our wide selection of menu items gets highly praised by our customers. We are sorry we were unable to cater to your personal taste. We have recently renovated the majority of our guest rooms and our Laguna restaurant and the new décor reflects the luxurious feel of a Bajan plantation home, a design that is well received by our guests.

We appreciate your feedback and will continuously use our guests’ input to improve our service and product offerings.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porters
2.1 mi away
Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
2.3 mi away
The House by Elegant Hotels
The House by Elegant Hotels
#2 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
10.3 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 8 in Saint Michael Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,445 reviews
2.4 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
2.8 mi away
Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels
Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels
#7 of 26 in Saint James Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colony Club by Elegant Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony Club by Elegant Hotels

Property: Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
Address: Porters, St. James, Porters, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish > Porters
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Porters
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Colony Club by Elegant Hotels 4.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"An exclusive retreat with elegance and colonial charm." Where old world charm meets new world standards of quality and comfort. The 96-room Colony Club is the Elegant Hotels Group's flagship property in Barbados with lush gardens, healthy dining options, complimentary watersports and fitness classes, organic garden, WiFi, bespoke tours and more. Ideal for couples and honeymooners seeking an exclusive retreat with impeccable service in a stunning location, Colony Club tempts guests back year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Kognitiv US Corp, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TravelUp, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Colony Club by Elegant Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony Club Hotel Porters
Colony Hotel Saint James
Colony Club Barbados
Colony Club By Elegant Hotels Barbados/Saint James Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing