We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it 2nd time around”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Porters
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Loved it 2nd time around”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We stayed at Colony Club in 2012 and didn't expect to return. However having had a poor experience at Galley Bay on Antigua in 2013 and knowing that the hotel had been rennovated in the meantime we decided to go back. We were not disappointed. Our room was one that had been refurbished and it was very nice. The Laguna restaurant has also been improved.
The food is a very good standard, no complaints at all. We stayed half-board and the special evenings such as lobster night help to break up the menu.
We find the staff all very friendly and helpful - special thanks to Corey and Matthew on the beach.
There are one or two irritations however. There is a group of older English couples who clearly have been going for many years and they seem to get preferential treatment - seated before everyone else at breakfast for example. By far the biggest annoyance is the way that they bag all the best sunbeds by getting up in the middle of the night. One couple had 4 chairs for the day, 2 in the sun and 2 in ths shade. The hotel needs to stop this somehow.
Generally we loved Colony Club and have already booked for next year.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Treadstone2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    141
    36
    9
    3
See reviews for
139
357
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Decided on this hotel based on the great reviews and location. I was slightly apprehensive as it wasn't adult only but not to worry, this isn't somewhere that attracts lots of families. Our room was beautiful, elegant and had everything we needed including a large furnished patio. We even saw some monkeys outside one evening.

The breakfast was wonderful every day and always served with a smile. All the staff were lovely. We only ate dinner at the hotel once as there were so many great restaurants a short walk away in Holetown.

The beach was beautiful (although not quite as beautiful as Galley Bay, Antigua but that's another island). The sea was calm and the floating platforms were an added bonus. We loved Barbados and this hotel made our holiday a special one. I would definitely return without question!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mrsjessicawilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

Decided to return on the promise last year of an update. It's even better than hoped for. The reception lounge and the refurbished dining room is sensational and the room quality improved greatly. All doubts removed. Can't wait to come back again

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank crosshousemeadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level Contributor
155 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

I read many, many comments on TA before booking this hotel and just thought I would pass on my experience to help anyone dithering like I was.

Overall it was superb - definitely the right choice (over 70% of guests are repeat). We visited tamarind and crystal cove and colony club is by far the nicest. Staff are incredibly friendly and helpful and really do try their best to give you a wonderful service. Breakfast was delicious - full buffet selection and eggs cooked to order. We had lunch pretty much every day in the sunset bar - nice food, well presented and a step away from the sunbed.

Happy hour half priced cocktails from 4 to 6 was a nice way to finish day on the beach and watch the sun set.

We had booked bed and breakfast and only ate in the hotel once - again food was lovely. The Sunday brunch looked superb from 12.30 to 3pm accompanied by a steel band. We didn't have it - still full from breakfast - but it looked very popular. I'm not sure if some of the diners were non- resident as this was the only day there was pressure on sun beds - by 11 there were, I think, none left but normally there was no problem.

We did lots of water sports but you do need to book the day before if the hotel is busy. We also did the hotel's island tour trip which was fun, hotel fishing trip and took the public bus into Bridgetown.

The hotel was really relaxed and fellow guests friendly. Room service was a little slow - between 3 and 4 when they got to us each day but it wasn't a problem as we were never waiting to get in.

We had a fab time and will definitely join the 70% of repeat visitors!

Room Tip: We had an ocean view room and I would definitely recommend ocean view rather than pool view. Even i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank coffeepot11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

The name says it all - Colony Club - this is much more a friendly club than just an hotel. Many guests repeat visiting every year. We felt the full force of their hospitality from the General Manager through to front desk manager, Jason. Great location, just a stone's throw from their glorious white sandy beach. Canapes, fresh fruit, ice-cream & cold scented face cloths were regularly circulated to sunbathers. Lots of fresh fish on menu, and particularly enjoyed the Sunday lunch time buffet. Great musicians at dinner playing throughout our stay. Allowed us to retain our room until 3pm on day of leaving without charge. Would certainly return.

Room Tip: ask for a refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank VMaryB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Super quality throughout, peaceful, beautiful, good value, lovely location, what more could you want? We never felt in a crowd, the water sports were free and great, the beach was smashing, the sea warm, and the food was outstanding

Room Tip: we had 133 , refurbished with private steps to small pool , lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Janjan2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paynes Bay, Barbados
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Didn't stay at the Colony Club but went for sushi buffet and it was AMAZING!!! Great variety of sushi, well presented and delicious. Thought the wasabi might not be hot enough as it's creamier than I'm used to but it did the trick. Lots of other foods to choose from as well and the grilled to order steak was perfectly cooked. Desserts - OMG - have to go back again just to try the ones I didn't have room for. Highly recommend the banana/pineapple crepe with Extra Old rum sauce. Might be considered expensive at $160BBD per person but you can eat to your heart's (or stomach's) content and spend as much time as you need to satisfy your appetite. Only complaint - the music was a bit overwhelming and had to raise our voices to be heard across the table. But minor problem compared to the rest of a great evening.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porters
2.1 mi away
Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
2.3 mi away
The House by Elegant Hotels
The House by Elegant Hotels
#2 of 26 in Saint James Parish
611 reviews
10.2 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
2,460 reviews
2.8 mi away
Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels
Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels
#7 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,788 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fairmont Royal Pavilion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colony Club by Elegant Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony Club by Elegant Hotels

Property: Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
Address: Porters, St. James, Porters, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish > Porters
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Porters
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Colony Club by Elegant Hotels 4.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"An exclusive retreat with elegance and colonial charm." Where old world charm meets new world standards of quality and comfort. The 96-room Colony Club is the Elegant Hotels Group's flagship property in Barbados with lush gardens, healthy dining options, complimentary watersports and fitness classes, organic garden, WiFi, bespoke tours and more. Ideal for couples and honeymooners seeking an exclusive retreat with impeccable service in a stunning location, Colony Club tempts guests back year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Colony Club by Elegant Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony Club Hotel Porters
Colony Hotel Saint James
Colony Club Barbados
Colony Club By Elegant Hotels Barbados/Saint James Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing