We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic budget apartments” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Halcyon Palm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Halcyon Palm
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic budget apartments”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

Fantastic 2 weeks at this complex of apartments located in quiet and safe residential area of Sunset Crest.10 minute walk from crystal clear sea and clean beaches to swim with the abundant fish. Sunset crest shopping mall houses the supercenter supermarket which stocks everything you will need even the Waitrose essential range of foods top tip buy local food and drink .
These apartments,gardens and pool are kept clean by amazing hardworking cleaners and gardener and kept safe at night by a security man who ensures the stairwell lights are switched on.We had a 1st floor apartment which caught the west coast evening breeze perfect after a hard day at the beach or Rum shop ! The air con in the bedroom worked perfectly and cooled the whole apartment if you closed all the windows/balcony door essential as Barbados this september was HOT !! We came here to use it as a base to visit family on the island however the longer we stayed in the friendly Sunset Crest area the more we loved it. I had read some negative reviews of this place and i feel happy to state they were wrong.My parents have retired to Barbados and were amazed we found this gem of a place on the west coast on our low budget ! Halcyon Palm we miss you and will be back to watch the Hummingbirds in the garden xxx Thank you

Room Tip: 1st floor apartments catch the breeze !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Roger842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, General Manager at Halcyon Palm, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
In response to your comments I extend sincere thanks from The Management and Staff of The. Palms resort. It is the intention of The Palms resort to ensure that all our guest have an enjoyable stay with us and to do all in our power to ensure that your holiday is a memorable one.
We do look forward to seeing you soon again.
Have a wonderful Christmas holiday and a Prosperous New year.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    42
    39
    12
    9
See reviews for
27
56
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

We booked the Halcyon Palm via Newmont Travel for 2 adults (age 44 & 46 & our 3 sons aged 6, 7 and 10). There were not many reviews on trip advisor and it was described to me as budget accommodation so I wasn't sure what to expect but it was great. We had a warm welcome at reception - we had 2 adjoining apartments at a very reasonable price (around £350 per apartment for a week). The apartments were clean & fresh, not luxurious but all you could possibly need. Air con which you can control yourself via remote in the bedroom worked perfectly. Kitchenette had fridge freezer/oven/micro & all the basics you need for self catering with a family. nice little balcony area (we stayed in no.9 - about 10 steps from the pool - perfect). TV channels were only a few - but you don't go to Barbados for the TV! The whole place has a lovely quiet villa feel to it - very peaceful and we had the pool to ourselves for much of the week. (think it might be a little busier at the Travellers Palm - the sister accommodation around the corner). daily maid service was also very good - we asked a couple of days for them to miss our room if the kids were resting.

We knew we'd arrive in the evening so pre-booked a welcome pack which cost US$62.50 (that's US dollars not Barbados dollars) you can email the Halcyon direct and they will arrange for your arrival - which was worth it to have the basics when we got there. There's a supermarket just a 10 min walk away & reception will give you a map of how to get there (its called Super Centre). The cost of living in Barbados is high and groceries are generally expensive compared to the UK.

The kids were straight in the small quiet pool which is surrounded by sunbeds & sun umbrellas and used it a lot during our stay. A couple of oversized rubber rings were left for all to use and our boys certainly loved them! thank you Halcyon.

The location to this place is FAB - 5 mins walk to the lovely local Holetown beach via a public walkway, we hired a car & explored others - all fabulous so clean and the water is crystal clear. The area is a high end tourist area with several 5* hotels nearby - you can share the beach with all those well off tourists if you like - the beach in Barbados is for everyone & not at all exclusive - so enjoy! You can reach the local Holetown beach by walking through Zaccio's - which is a lovely restaurant right on the beach where You can watch the kids playing on the sand while you finish off your meal and watch the sunset (which is around 6.15pm) & has to be seen - its amazing (if you're a couple - very romantic). Highly recommend Zaccios - book & ask for a beachfront table, - gorgeous view! We went there during the day & were caught in the middle of a shoal of flying fish (which are bright blue & really amazing to watch). They come really close to the shore - we were only about 2 feet from the sand! very special.

We went to Oistins around 5pm on Saturday evening (you can go Friday but its better with kids on the Saturday as its quieter), we asked politely at the fish market for fish scraps so the kids could feed the turtles, we asked how much Barbados dollars - but they wouldn't take anything - then we walked out onto the boardwalk & threw scraps in the ocean to feed the turtles & puffa fish - the biggest wow from the kids & all for free! the turtles are amazing!

We saw green monkeys crossing the road, humming birds, turtles, little lizards & so much wonderful wildlife and flora - its a beautiful place.

We took the bus to Bridgetown for a spot of shopping, not too much traffic in Barbados and most people take the bus. I recommend car hire if you have children - we took a private hire @£200 well worth it to explore the island.

We flew with Virgin which I highly recommend if you have kids - on-board food & entertainment on tap, was terrific. even gave the kids moshi monster goody bags & let the kids see the cockpit - a big thrill as it was their first ever flight!

for 8 barbados dollars I used the internet at the Halcyon Palms office and checked in for our return flight on line the day before we left - i'd recommend doing that so you ensure sitting together on plane.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay & would recommend the Halcyon Palm, we would definitely use it again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Sharon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, General Manager at Halcyon Palm, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Many thanks from The Management and Staff for your kind remarks and choosing us here at The Palms resort as your accommodation getaway.
We are in the process of carrying out a soft refurbishing project at The Halcyon Palms Hotel.
We do look forward to seeing you and your family once again.

It was a pleasure serving you .

All the best in the future.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Basic but clean apartment. Booked for 3 adults & 1 child, but 4 single beds squashed into the bedroom, Not the best decision.
Pool nice & clean, and plenty of sun loungers, but tiles sharp edged in places.
Lovely and quiet area, about a 15 minute stroll into town.
Good beach nearby and plenty of little shops, but quite expensive in Holetown.
Oystons on Friday nights a must do visit.
Harrison's cave a great day out.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, General Manager at Halcyon Palm, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
On behalf of The Management and staff of The Palms resort I want to extend many thanks for choosing us as your accommodation getaway . We are now in the process of upgrading our property at The Halcyon Palm and do look forward to your visit with us in the future.

Do have a wonderful Christmas and a Prosperous Year ahead.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

I don't normally read reviews, or make any, as everyones needs, and expectations, are different, but having just read some of these out of curiosity I felt I must write something. I work in the travel industry and have been visiting Barbados for over 40 years and have stayed in many different types of accommodation. In recent years I have stayed at both Halcyon Palm and Travellers Palm and can honestly say I would be happy to go back again and again. My preference is Halcyon, although the rooms are a bit 'tired' it is usually the quieter of the two, but the refurbished rooms at Travellers Palm are really nice. Obviously you get what you pay for and I doubt there is better priced accommodation on the West Coast. Any little problems are usually sorted out quickly and I have never had an issue with cleanliness. Are these disappointed people expecting 5 star luxury? Yes the furnishings are old and tired but that doesn't mean they are dirty. The phrase 'champagne taste and beer money' springs to mind! My only niggles are that they do tend to book large groups of school children from the UK on sports trips, which is great for the kids and they are always well behaved, but they can take over somewhat, especially the pool areas. Also the restaurant/bar area is a bit uninviting. Wendy in the office is lovely and I will be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pauline b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, General Manager at Halcyon Palm, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing us here at The Palms Resort as your holiday accommodation getaway.
Based on your comments we are in the process of a soft upgrade at The Halcyon Palm and hopefully on your next return most of our project will be complete.
It is the policy of The palms resort to extend five star service even though we are not a five star resort and in up keeping this policy it is our intent to ensure that all of our guest go away with great memories.
Thanking you for your response
Do look forward to seeing you soon again

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

I checked into the Halcyon on 3rd June 2013 my stay was supposed to be for 10 nights i checked out the next day and had no choice but to check into another hotel in Worthing which was of much better quality... The room i was originally showed at the Halcyon was of substandard, the room was dirty the furnishings looked like they had not been cleaned for months, the bathroom was awful, dirty in need of a good wash. I was extremely dissatisfied. I informed Jennifer, the manager who tried her best and showed me about 4 other rooms, which were all more or less the same> I needed somewhere to lay my head for just a night so was forced to stay in another room which needed to be cleaned out thoroughly by the cleaner.... The location i was in was not ideal, did not feel safe there was no security and you are away from the main site of the hotel which is the Travellers site. I woke up the next morning, looked online and checked into the Anthurium suites in Worthing, much better quality of rooms. I have travelled many places over the year's and never have i felt so compelled to change hotels. The Halcyon is in need of an overhaul. Cleaniless for me is a must and is just the basics you would expect from a hotel. I will never be staying at the Halcyon ever again and will not recommend it to any of my friends...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank shebup s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sunset Crest hotels

Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

I have just returned from the palms resort. Like other reviews a bit dated but clean. We stayed in halycon palms when we arrived had to walk a block in 25c to get to it. Not good after a 9 hour flight. It has 2 pools 1 in each block the newer 1 is at travellers palm where reception is. The pool we had was smaller but about 20 footsteps to jump in from our room 7. There were a few people staying there long term as a base visiting family. It is fairly local to most things 10 min walk to beach & restaurants. If you want to eat cheap go to the food vans perfectly acceptable & no tummy probs. If you want a bit of entertainment go to see the steel band on sunday at the beach bar where they do happy hour. You can walk around the corner & see karaoke in the street a lot of locals but nice with it. We hired a car for 3 days Jennifer arranged it for us in reception £120. There are lots of nice restaurants we found the beach house the best for service & food also if you have a car go to bombasa restaurant very nice. One i wouldn,t recommend is tides we went there once. My partner had sore feet so was wearing training shoes. She also doesn,t drink a lot of alcohol hence no wine ordered. I had a beer she had bottled still water we both had starters & the most expensive Main courses on the menu BD$ 120 each. We were treated like poor relations Most places they pour the water when your glass is low. The waiting staff were doing this for everybody with wine. They took nearly 20 minutes to clear our dirty plates yet other peoples straight away. They made us feel so uncomfortable that we didn,t even look at the dessert menu we just got the bill & paid even though we had spent more than most people.The palms resort in a nutshell Basic budget hotel but very clean. Only expect what you pay for. Anything you asked the staff for they would deliver.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ade12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grays Thurrock, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

I absolutely love staying here,it's in a ideal location spot,but very quiet and secluded. The staff are fantastic and very helpfull.would love to say to everyone interested you must stay here as is very good value for money,but then hope it doesn't mean I won't get a room by telling you all. It is basic,so of your looking for luxury it's not for you.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
5 Thank Trudie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer H, Manager at Halcyon Palm, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful comment. As a small budget hotel we strive to ensure that all our guests are considered SPECIAL by The Palms resort team.
It is special clients like yourself that we aim to please each visit and for this we say a
Warm Barbadian Thank You for your loyal support.
We look forward to seeing you soon again and thank you for your comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunset Crest
0.0 mi away
All Seasons Resort Europa
All Seasons Resort Europa
#1 of 1 in Sunset Crest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
1.6 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tropical Sunset Beach Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
1.5 mi away
Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
0.3 mi away
Mango Bay All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halcyon Palm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halcyon Palm

Property: Halcyon Palm
Address: Sunset Crest, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish > Sunset Crest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Sunset Crest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Halcyon Palm 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halcyon Palms is an intimate collection of 25 One Bedroom units located in the heart of the West Coast. We offer an affordable option for those wanting to experience the famous platinum coast at an affordable rate.Sister hotel to Travellers Palm we can accomodate families, groups or private getaway for couples. Short stroll away from Travellers Palm. Beautiful poolside view from all rooms. An excellent locstion for that deserved restful unforgettable holiday at this charming intimate resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Halcyon Palm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halcyon Palm Hotel Sunset Crest
Halcyon Palm Barbados/Sunset Crest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing