We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Condo on a busy road and the noise starts at...”
other travelers have booked this property
Front entrance with enclosed patio.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front entrance with enclosed patio.
Enclosed secure patio area. Patio sitting area with charcoal BBQ unit (BBQ can be rolled to front garden area when being used).
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
20 reviews
Front entrance with enclosed patio.
Enclosed secure patio area.
Patio sitting area with charcoal BBQ unit (BBQ can be rolled to front garden area when being used).
Living room with fold-down couch, two comfortable lounging seats, and full entertainment features.
Comfortable lounge seats and fold-down couch that converts into double bed for extra guests.
Small table and chairs for eating breakfast/dinner indoors in front of entrance to kitchen.
Kitchen with stove, fridge, microwave, coffee maker, toaster, mixer, etc.  Also has pots, plates etc
Bedroom area with queen size bed and air conditioning (in bedroom only). Double bar security windows
Queen size bed in bedroom and full closet.
Washing machine (installed Jan 2017) inside condo unit.
Bathroom area (fully tiled).
Shower unit in bathroom (no bathtub in condo)
View to front lawn area (fully gated entrance), Italia coffee shop on opposite side of the street.
Small garden in front of condo entrance.  Perfect area to use BBQ unit available for guests' use.
Food van (Cheryl's Meals on Wheels) across street from condo with good food and reasonable prices!
Barbados green monkeys (taken at ravine two blocks from condo)
Boardwalk looking south at Beachlands beach (far end of photo).
Beachlands beach (7 minute walk from condo).
Beachlands beach (7 minute walk from condo) with great swimming in protected front area.
Beachlands beach looking north towards south end of Holetown boardwalk
Catamarans with snorkellers in front of Beachlands beach (best snorkeling location!)
Beach club swimming pool, 7 minute walk from condo (electronic access card provided for guests' use)
Beach club swimming pool at sunset (looking out at ocean).
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Sunset Crest, Saint James Parish, Barbados

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
COLIN H
1 review
“Condo on a busy road and the noise starts at about 5am not good for people who are not early risers”
Reviewed March 29, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Very pretty area but Nothing much to do in the evenings,very dark if you feel like a walk not very many resturants locally.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianRela...
Exeter
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“Well equipped condo in a good location”
Reviewed December 7, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We stayed at Rob & Fay's condo in November 2016. Rob was very quick to respond to our initial enquiries and even sent links to some videos which he had put on youtube where he shows what is in it, and the surrounding area, which we found very helpful.

It is very well equipped and had pretty much everything we required. The shopper was particularly appreciated for trips to and from the supermarket. The kitchen is definitely a 'single person' kitchen, but there's everything you need - a good selection of pots, pans, utensils, fridge, freezer, oven etc. We found that the toaster kept setting off the smoke alarm, (you need to press the button in the middle to silence it) and (a tip) if you're cooking a lot it's helpful to use one of the provided fans to blow air into the kitchen area.

The bedroom had free A/C which was appreciated and an extremely comfortable bed.

The nearest beach is about 5 mins walk away - we found it easiest to walk along Flamboyant Ave & then turn down a small paved track towards the main road - cross over & the access to the beach is just about opposite.

It's easy to get into Holetown too, which takes about 10 minutes. Once again walk along Flamboyant Ave & then just carry on through the car park & past the Chattel Village.

Sarah, the property manager, was very helpful, Bonita the maid kept the place nice & clean and the taxi (Patrick) which was organised for us from the airport was excellent too.

We really liked the apartment and the very convenient location and hope to be able to have the opportunity to stay there again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Excellent location at an attractive price
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 7, 2016
Thank you very much for your review that effectively highlights all of the features (comfort, location, proximity to beach, etc.) that we offer. We are definitely humbled by your comments. We had not been aware of the smoke alarm being set off by the toaster as you are the first guest to bring this to our attention (it's good to know that it's working, if only perhaps too well..) so we will have to look at alternative options as regards its placement. We will also definitely pass along your comments to our local staff and we know that they work very hard to try to ensure that all of our guests have a great stay so it's good to know that their efforts are being acknowledged and appreciated. It has been a pleasure to have you stay at our condo and we can only look forward to a future time when we might be able to host you once again for a great vacation stay in "paradise". We wish you a wonderful holiday season and 'tlll next time! Rob and Fay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allvox
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Ok....but needs some TLC.”
Reviewed March 16, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
3
people found this review helpful

The owner Robert is very helpful and will reply to your emails in good time, which is always a bonus. He will send you loads of info on Barbados and Sunset Crest, which is very useful.
The condo is near to amenities.
The apartment is dated and in need of a fresh coat of paint throughout, but the kitchen fridge,( but be aware fridge gets extremely hot on the side facing into the kitchen and by the door, as it is in a very tight space) oven,kettle etc are new. The bed is SUPER comfy, we slept very well.

However, our biggest problem with the condo was the fact that it wasn't very clean. Thick layers of dust on every cupboard door, kitchen cupboards made from ply-wood that absorbed smells of cooking fat, so your clean glasses etc, instantly smelled of that when you put them in the cupboard. The pillows were very badly stained under the pillow case. The light bulbs had clearly never been dusted and the dust was burned on to them. The base of the toilet and the corners of the bathroom were filthy. The glass of the sliding doors was dirty, the edge of the doors was filthy, and we could open the doors they were so un oiled. The safe doesn't work nor have the owners replaced it, the old air con controls are just cut off and still in the room. When we arrived the shower was just a trickle of water and coming out of the wall,Sarah, the lady who looks after the property for Robert and Fay, did come and oil the doors, and replaced a completely non non stick pan for us. She also had the shower fixed. Yes, the property was as described, and even seen in a little film, the old fashioned look of the property was never in dispute, but films and pictures don't show dingy paintwork and dirt.
I did email Robert, but he does not take criticism well, ( he will very politely imply that you are just being difficult) and I just gave up in the end. I have attached pictures to justify my report here. I have many more examples, but no more time to add them.
I met some people who had stayed in the apartment before, and they said it didn't used to be dirty, but has always needed a good coat of paint. So it could be that they just need to re-think their cleaning situation. I believe it is their intention to paint the condo this year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bed and location
Liked least: The unhygienic conditions
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 30, 2016
I am happy to advise that, as I had indicated to you during your stay, the condo has been completely repainted and fully cleaned in late May 2016 and, in addition, the condo now also offers a small washing machine on site to enable guests to do small wash loads while staying at the condo. I had tried to explain to you that the bulk of the cleaning issues that you had was due to the fact that you moved in within a four hour window of our previous guests' departure (they in turn also moved in within a few hours of the previous guests' stay as well) and, as a result, we had been unable to schedule the full cleaning that we normally do and would have liked to have done prior to your own arrival.

The cleaning of the condo has never been an issue with our rental in the past (as evidenced by numerous previous guests' reviews) and we are truly sorry that you had the experience that you had in that regard while staying at the condo. We have emphasized to our local Barbados Manager that this poor maintenance of the condo must not ever be repeated and every effort will be made in the future for this not to happen again!

We thank you for your feedback and wish you all the best, as always.

Robert and Fay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly L
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
“Great budget accomodation, location, and owners!”
Reviewed January 25, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Great budget accommodation in an excellent location. Very close to coffe shops, restaurant, convenience/beach shop, bank, duty free shopping, bus stops ...and more importantly, right by Cheryl's food truck with delicious food, and only about a 5 minute or less walk to the beach! Owner and property manager were also very reliable and made us feel welcome! I would definitely stay here again!

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 26, 2016
Thank you Kelly for your very nice review and it was a pleasure hosting you and Sockie during your Barbados holiday. Unfortunately you didn't stay long enough (7 days is not enough for a Barbados stay!) but at least you managed to get a taste of Barbados (Cheryl's food truck across the street) as well as a sense of what a great place Barbados is to visit. It was a pleasure to meet you both and we look forward to a time in the future where we might have an opportunity to host you once again in this lovely holiday destination.
Wish you both all the best for 2016!
Rob and Fay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JUDE508
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Value for money and well worth a visit”
Reviewed October 9, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Having travelled to Barbados many times this self catering was by far the best, it was clean and had everything to make your stay comfortable and we will definately return on our next visit.
The comprehensive detail provided by the owner at the time of booking was second to none and the follow up the same. We are familiar with the area and felt completely at home and safe throughout our stay , we used the local shops , resteraunts and the many 'food vans' that are situated within the area and the amazing beach which is 5 mins walk away.
Well worth a visit if you are looking for a self catering holiday with only yourselves to please, excellent !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the fact the bedroom was air conditioned and the location
Liked least: nothing that I can think of
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 13, 2014
We continue to be humbled when we get reviews for our condo such as yours and we couldn't be happier that you enjoyed your stay, even during a time when it was, technically, the rainy season! Obviously, the rain did not affect the quality of your holiday and we are extremely happy that our condo met with all of your expectations. As you know, we do try to make sure that our prospective guests know exactly what they will be getting when renting our condo (that is not always the case with other rental properties) and we are continuously looking at adding additional value to the property so as to make our guests stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible!

Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to being able to be of help, once again, with a possible future return trip to Sunset Crest. Wish you all the best, as always!

Robert and Fay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NDJJ
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Home Away From Home”
Reviewed July 29, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here. The condo was truly a home away from home. It was equipped with everything I needed and was close to EVERYTHING (supermarket, bus, banks, coffee shop, convenience store, shopping, beach, pool, you name it!). The owner, Rob, gave outstanding customer service from the time I booked the reservation and it continued right up until I checked in. He gave such helpful, and detailed information that made me feel so comfortable and confident that I made a great choice by choosing to stay at his condo. The only thing is I wished it had it's own Wi-Fi. I tried to pick up the free Wi-Fi from the coffee shop across the street but it was very unstable and weak inside the condo and even on the patio most times. Other than that, everything was great. I most definitely will stay at the condo again in the future. I am actually looking forward to it right now and I just got home last night! Definitely worth the price. You won't regret it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, everything I needed was included or not to far away
Liked least: No Wi-Fi in the condo.
Traveling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 8, 2014
Thank you very much for your very gracious review of your stay at the condo. We are always humbled when we get this kind of response for what is, essentially, a budget accommodation in Barbados. Fortunately for us, the condo is in a great location and we do otherwise try to ensure that we provide the best customer service that we can manage. We do know that having to rely on the free internet service from the coffee shop across the street is a weakness with respect to the features that we offer but that is one of the ways that we manage to keep our rental rates the lowest possible for our area. There is also free internet at the Beach Club (that is a 7 minute walk from the condo and that we provide access to for our guests during their stay) but, unfortunately, as you know, they were closed for renovations during the time of your stay at the condo. In addition, there is also free internet at the mall where the supermarket is located (10 minute walk from the condo) so there are a few other options for internet access in the area nearby. However, in the future, if we are able to figure out a way to provide internet service directly at the condo without having to raise our rental rates excessively, we assure you that we will do so.

Thank you once again for taking the time and trouble to provide a guest review and we look forward to a time in the future when we might be able to assist you with a future trip to Barbados. Wish you all the best!

Rob and Fay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberta M
Rome, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A perfect compromise between place and price”
Reviewed March 19, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The Condo is simply and useful, his position is perfect for everything you may need: beaches, coffee shops, duty free mall, market. In front of it there is one of the most beautiful beach of the West Coast, ideal for snorkeling too. Everything is very close to, so there is no need to rent a car if you think to stay around and the local buses can be used. Robert and Fay are lovely persons, very friendly and helpful and they will assist you in all your needs. Extremely recommended.

Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 18, 2014
Dear Roberta,

Thank you for your very nice review that really summarizes everything that our condo has to offer. We couldn't be happier that you had a wonderful time and your personal comments are really appreciated. We hope you have a wonderful summer and we look forward to a possible time in the future when we might be of help in making a future Barbados holiday even better! All the best.

Robert and Fay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing