We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Base”
Review of Travellers Palm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Travellers Palm
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A Great Base”
Reviewed April 12, 2010

We booked the Travelers Palm directly, although it is a Virgin Holidays destination. We wanted a really basic cheap base as we were not in a position to splash out and this appeared to fit the bill. The staff seemed helpful and friendly on the phone and we were advised to stay at the more recently refurbished Travelers Palm rather than the sister resort of the Halcyon Palm, just around the corner. On arrival we were surprised to find that we had been booked into the Halcyon, but that was immediately changed and we were able to go up to our apartment and settle in. Nothing is provided - no welcome pack of food - so you do need to go straight to the supermarket if you need a cup of tea after the journey. We got directions and headed off on the 10 minute walk into Holetown, it's not difficult.

The apartment itself was a good size, was clean enough and had really comfy beds. Only the bedrooms are air conditioned, but this is no longer 'pay as you go' so you can leave it on overnight if you have trouble sleeping in the heat. The pool is great and 'right there' as there are only 16 apartments all just by the pool. The poolside bar area provides a basic menu and everything gets cooked to order (so don't expect it instantly) by the lovely Rita. She also whips up a delicious Pina Colada.

You really can survive here without a car as the 10 minute walk to Holetown is not hard and there is so much there. Good quality restaurants such as Tides, and the Beach House provide fine dining options, Second Street houses a variety of bars and restaurants (we recommend the fabulous Lexy's for good inexpensive Sushi, music and a good atmosphere, and more rough and ready options can also be found on the main road, such as Just Grillin' and even KFC. Bean n' Bagel in the shopping centre will cook you up a major breakfast if you can't be bothered making it in the apartment. You can also access the beach at Holetown which is better than the one nearest the apartment. Buses run along the main road into Bridgetown, Oistins and Speightstown, although some bravery may be required if you are going to get a yellow bus. If you are not deaf when you get on you will be by the time you get off, so the official blue buses may be a better bet. They are driven rather more sedately too!

That said - hire a car! Your best bet all around as it gives you complete freedom to come and go as you please. You can then do a big shop at the supermarket (you wouldn't want to carry a big shop back in the heat, so have to do lots of little visits if walking) and you can also really explore this wonderful island. there are so many sites to head to, Sunbury House, Harrisons Cave, St Nicholas Abbey, Cranes Beach etc etc. You can also eat at different places along the way - try a gorgeous flying fish sandwich at Cutters Deli (say high to the Goddards who own it for us) and a rum punch if you're brave enough or head to just south of Bridgetown for fresh Lobster at Lobster Alive. If you really aren't adventurous the traditional English afternoon tea on the balancy at an old colonial house can be found at Chatters Tea Room - (best scones ever) is a genteel treat from a bygone era. You will get lost, but that's part of the fun. The island is so small that you don't get lost for long and there is always someone willing to point you in the right direction.

Back at Travelers, Wendy is so helpful and everyone is really friendly (true for the whole island) that you can't help but find yourself drifting into the bajan way of being chilled about everything. Even a party of 12 year old schoolboys on a cricket tour turning up to fill the rest of the apartments didn't spoil our stay.

If you just want a great base located close to the best resort with easy access to everywhere, you'd be hard pressed to find better value than you get at Travelers.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GIJayne19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    45
    27
    13
    18
See reviews for
24
66
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
england
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2010

just returned from the travellers palm. Very enjoyable stay. apartments perfect for our needs a lovley one bedroomed with good kitchen, microwave, full cooker , toaster , kettle etc. was able to cook just like at home. pool lovley just what you need when its 34 degrees everyday. Beach ,shops , resturants etc 10mins walk holetown 15- 20 mins.
only draw back was a lack of hand towels. Restuarnt very good only ate there on our last day wish we had eaten there more. there wasnt anything on the menu we fanced so the bar lady kindley did us a bajan sunday lunch very nice indeed. in fact we started off a tren with other guests ordering them.
barbados itself we didnt find it too expensive proberbly on par with canaries etc. went to bridgetown on local bus bbd 1.50 per person for anywhere. returned on the private yellow bus this was a experence to say the least didnt think we would get back in one piece (best avoided if poss) beaches very nice sea too very warm and safe. watch out for the dead coral in places, it makes entry to the sea a bit hard on the feet. surfside bar and restuarnt on the beach before holetown very good. has all the top sports on (sometimes they charge for big football & rugby games).
restuarnts. we ate at just grillin very nice burgers quite cheap, thai rest in holetown service very slow but food good. We had a treat and went to the house on the beach quite pricey but excellent food and service. you also get a 10% discount card for there from the apartment reception( you need to ask for sunset crest beach club mebership card ). also get you into the beach club next door. remember when making any purchases that there is vat on everything and service charge on restuarnt bill along with vat.
Would love to return to barbados again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fish005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2009

Stayed At The Travells Palms In November For Business , Nice Rooms Good Location very well keeped hotel , Operations Director ( Gillian ) was very helpfull , hope to stay there again soon!

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJones2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire uk
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2008

We Stayed at Travellers Palm mid Jan 07.
We had a ball,
The apartments now have TV's, the kitchen does the job. Yes, air con is only in the bedrooms. The rooms were cleaned every day, found the staff very helpful.

There were a lot if repeat customers there, the pool was only used by the Palm residents - don't think the other Europa guests knew it was there! Short walk to Holetown, bus stops, shops and beaches.

This was our second time in Barbados, we took the kids this time, they LOVED it and want to go back, when we do, will go back to the Travellers Palm.

WE found it great value for money.

  • Liked — size and cleanliness
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sun-mummyberks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2007

This was a return visit to Travellers Palm in October 2006. We flew with Excel Airways, comfortable flight, but Cabin Crew were miserable. They were a little better on the return flight.

On arrival at Grantley Adams Airport we were taken out a very long line waiting to get through Immigration (this is a lengthy process and requires patience) and were given priority through were the locals would enter. This was due to us being a family and was a blessing as you can be waiting some time. We collected our bags fairly quickly and didn't have long to wait before the Holiday Rep put us on a mini bus with our luggage (another blessing as this normally follows in a seperate truck and you can be waiting some time at the Resort) Sunset Crest is approximately 45 minutes from the airport and is quite a bumpy ride.

We were allocated a ground floor apartment this time so had no balcony (bit disappointed as it's nice to sit out of an evening and relax) There was also no food/grocery starter pack this time, something they have withdrawn, shame really as it was very useful and saved you having to rush out and get an essential shop.

There is still only air conditioning in the bedroom and requires tokens which last 10 hours (purchased at Europa Reception) so if there are more than 2 of you, the other beds are set up in the lounge area and is very hot (the children found it a bit too hot).

We also found this time that Sunset Crest was full of school children and their teachers from the UK over for Hockey/Cricket Tournaments. The Resort was far from peaceful. We found the schools totally took over Travellers Palm and Europa, and the Resort catered very much for them, we had to wait over an hour for food as they were seeing to the schools first. Many of the holiday makers were complaining about noise, rubbish being left and the fact they couldn't get near the swimming pool. It really did put a downer on the holiday. Shame as we had enjoyed it so much the last time we were there in 2004. You got very little peace and the noise went on until late. We, along side other holiday makers had a few run-ins with the teachers and eventually complained to Reception at the Europa.

Europa do not have their BBQ Nights any longer, this was always a good night so a little disappointing to find they don't have it any more. However we would recommend you give the Jolly Roger a try, visit Harbour Lights (great night) and we also went on the Atlantis Submarine which was fantastic for both Adults and Children. We had lovely meals at Cocomos (not to be missed).

We love Barbados, the beaches are lovely, the food is great and the locals are so friendly. Our experience this time was a little disappointing and I think next time we visit we will try staying at another part of the Island but will avoid Travellers Palm/Sunset Crest. If I was you, I would check before you book to see if there are any school children there at the same time, as it really does make all the difference.

We will certainly be back, it's an Island that draws you to return.

  • Liked — St James is nice part of Barbados, Beaches are amazing.
  • Disliked — The Private School Children
  • Tips/Secrets — Check to see whether there are any schools there at the same time, before booking
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank caroline01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sunset Crest hotels

Manchester, England
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2006

We stayed at Traveller's Palm from 26th May 2006 to 9th June 2006, having booked with Airtours in April. Our apartment was spacious and comfortable, with a kitchenette. There was no TV but we did not really miss it. We could have hired one from reception, but it only received 2 local channels, so we didn't bother. There are no TVs in Travellers Palm apartments yet, but some other parts of the Europa complex do have them.
There is air-conditioning in the bedroom only, which is operated by tokens which can be purchased at reception - these cost 12 Barbados dollars (approx. £3.50), and one token lasts for 10 hours. Travellers Palm is a lovely part of the Europa complex, and when we stayed, it was peaceful. There is a small pool which was conveniently just outside our door. We went out of the complex and walked into Holetown, which is approx. 10 minutes away, every night and never felt unsafe in any way. We did not try the snack bar on the complex, as we discovered the Surfside bar and restaurant, which is on the beach, just behind the Police Station. They do nice, reasonably priced bar snacks and restaurant meals. We loved it so much, we went each day!
This was altogether a wonderful, relaxing holiday, and we would definitely go back there again.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Fitzybod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 18, 2002

We stayed at Travellers Palm in February 2000. The apartments are roomy, clean and tidy, albeit a bit basic, but fairly well equipped. The swimming pool seemed only to be used by Travellers Palm guests and was never crowded. The complex as a whole was clean and tidy and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The shop at Europa was not very good and it was a 15-minute walk to the nearest large supermarket. A hire car is not vital but very useful, as nightlife is a bit limited if you have two teenagers with you (as we did). All the restaurants in Holetown are very expensive, except 'Chefette' and a reasonably priced pizza restaurant. Barbados is a fantastic place for a holiday and we will definitely be going back there (minus the kids) in the future.

Helpful?
40 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunset Crest
0.0 mi away
All Seasons Resort Europa
All Seasons Resort Europa
#1 of 1 in Sunset Crest
274 reviews
0.0 mi away
Butterfly Beach Hotel
0.0 mi away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Rostrevor Hotel
Rostrevor Hotel
#5 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
614 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dover Beach Hotel
Dover Beach Hotel
#3 of 4 in Dover
632 reviews
0.0 mi away
Halcyon Palm
Halcyon Palm
#1 of 4 in Sunset Crest
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travellers Palm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travellers Palm

Property: Travellers Palm
Address: Sunset Crest Resort, Sunset Crest, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish > Sunset Crest
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Sunset Crest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Travellers Palm 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travellers Palm is an intimate collection of 16 One Bedroom Apartments located in the heart of the West Coast of Barbados. A refurbishment of the property was completed in early 2013 with new room furnishings, bathrooms and upgraded kitchens, externally a new pool deck, landscaping and building exterior works have been completed. We offer an affordable option for those wanting to experience the famous Platinum coast of the island. Apartments include full kitchens, living/dining areas, air-conditioned bedrooms and balconies overlooking the pool and gardens. Travellers Palm can accomodate families with 2 children or up to 4 adults or provides a erfect getaway for couples. A small restaurant offers casual cuisine and meal options ara available. The resort offers great value for money, an excellent location and an unforgettable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Travellers Palm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travellers Palm Hotel Sunset Crest
Travellers Palm Saint James
Travellers Palm Barbados/Sunset Crest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing