We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for.”
Review of Travellers Palm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Travellers Palm
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Clean but very basic, so much so that I almost gave it 2 but because of the cleanliness and the cheerfulness of the staff I felt that would have been harsh. The shower was so weak I took the head off so at least we got a steady jet as opposed to having to run around trying to get wet! The kitchen equipment was basic (but worked) and disastrously there was no cork screw/bottle opener!

If you get the choice stay at The Halcyon, their sister block. Friends of ours stayed there and it was far superior, having I understand, recently been refurbished. A much much nicer block.

Saying all that, as I said in the heading, we didn't pay a great deal so I wasn't expecting much and didn't get much.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thedorsetdwarf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travellers Palm H, Manager at Travellers Palm, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Good Morning,
Thank you so much for choosing The Palms resort as your vacation spot. Having read your review I do apologise on behalf of the Management and staff having not met all your requirements. I am so sorry that you did not report shower problem and lack of wine opener as these would have been urgently attended to. It is the policy of our resort to ensure that all guest needs are met as this makes your holiday stress free.
Here at The Palms resort our focus is our clients as you are very important to us. Feel free to contact us in the future if you ever plan to return to Beautiful Barbados.
Again, many thanks for your support and comment and we do look forward to serving you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 135 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2013

I just come home from my stay here , reading some of the reviews here put a little doubt before getting to the hotel but i was pleasantly suprised. First impressions were a reasonable sized pool area and apartments looked nice from the outside all having a balcony, i was stopping at travellers palm which seemed to have the bigger pool. I found the greeting friendly however didnt really say much about the apartments like facilities available.. Bar available however no one ever seen there... I recommend u go to happy hour at the resort of europa all seasons whch is opposite as two for one and a better atmosphere. Staff ate ok for u to use bar and lisa is really friendly!! Back to travellers palm place looked clean however quite a fee steps to reception and if i wasnt with my partner i would have struggled with my cases.
View from our room was over looking pool room 11, just had a make over in december and very impressed as was decorated quite modern and to good taste! Bed very comfy however apartment bot suitable for more than 3 people, we were promised by out traveller company a apartnment for four and reception highlighted they are normally accommodated for three as sofa bed a little small. We had air -con in the bedroom and a fan in the living area which became warm at night unless you kept the doors open whoch isnt always practical for privacy.
As to cleanliness we could not complain ! Rooms cleaned and beds made daily! Maid os very friendly and will assist with most queries.
Fridge and kitchen were ok however lacking in pans but requested things like tin opener and maid found ine for us straight away to have for our stay. A little small area for self catering.
Pool quiet and relaxing as not too busy and always free sun beds.
Couple of shops 5 minutes away and beach close by! Best reataurants are beach house and tydes! Try tml in holetown on a sunday night for kareokee and oistins on a friday! Cant wait to go bk!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FionaD89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travellers Palm H, Manager at Travellers Palm, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Thank you so much for choosing us here at the Palms resort and staying with us at Travellers Palm resort . The management and staff extend warm gratitude for your comments and look forward to seeing you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Do not, under any circumstances come here. The deposit "authorisation" of 100 BDS was not an authorisation, but a debit from my card. It was not refunded. Several conversations with Virgin (our travel company) and 3 months later there was no adequate response. Thank god for Visa, who have referred this to the fraud department, cancelled my cards and issued new ones. Hilariously, this deposit was intended to cover "damages" which couldn't be more absurd because you will never find another place in such a state of disrepair.

The resort itself is tired and below average. The rooms are simply awful and in a terrible state of repair. This includes a rusty and unserviceable refrigerator, broken rings on the cooker, termite swarms on the kitchen surfaces, kitchen surfaces that were so unclean that they were sticky, water that was only working sporadically, broken tiles in kitchen and bathroom, useless shower, limescale and grime everywhere in bathroom, terrible bed, sheets stained with blood, disgustingly dirty mats on floor, the list goes on. It was DIRTY.

The room was never cleaned nor the sheets changed in 7 days, although the bed was re-made every other day.

I'm a seasoned traveller, so I'm accustomed to 'basic' accommodation. But this is simply awful.

Thankfully, Virgin took our comments on board, investigated and made amends, so full marks to them. But I'm surprised to see the resort still on their list.

You have been warned.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Suki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EscapeMarketing, Director of Sales at Travellers Palm, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

We would like to express our sincere apologies for the experience you had back in 2012. Since your review was posted, a full refurbishment of the property has been completed following a closure in 2012 and a change of management at the property. All rooms have been completed refurbished with brand new bathrooms, kitchens including new appliances, new living and dining room furniture, and new bedding and curtains. Externally the property has been completely repainted, a new pool deck and new restaurant operator in place. We are confident that if you ever return to Barbados you would find a completely different and upgraded hotel. We are a 3 star property offering value for money and our rates, service and accommodations reflect our offering on the West coast of the island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

Travellers Palm was advertised to us as great as a base and therefore our expectations were managed right from the outset. We were in Barbados to celebrate my sister's wedding and got a great deal at Christmas time. We had a hire car delivered to the resort the day we arrived and hardly saw the apartment for the rest of the week! The rooms were basic and in need of some touch ups but we weren't expecting luxury as we paid a budget price. The staff were pleasant and the location is pretty good even if it's not right on the beach. Even peeked a glance of a green monkey at the resort! So all in all Travellers Palm was perfect for what we needed. If we wanted a more expensive retreat then in future it would have to be Treasure Beach which is simply beautiful and a perfect spot for a wedding!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Buddygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

We booked to stay at the Traveller's palm with Virgin Holidays and just returned 2 days ago. Travellers Palm was the cheapest resort available and so we didn't have high expectations.

We stayed in room number 15 at the Travellers Palm which was a first floor room opposite the reception. The apartment had everything we needed and had a nice balcony which was relatively private. The apartment was nice and tidy and was cleaned every second day with the beds made and towels changed. Admittedly some of the furniture was a bit grubby but there were definitely more good points than bad.

We didn't pay for the extra for air conditioning and the bedrooms don't have a fan so it was really hot on the nights when there was no breeze so if we went to the Palms again, I'd seriously consider paying the extra for the air con (so worth thinking about this when you compare hotel prices). Generally the hotel was pretty peaceful, bar the noise from the tv in the restaurant and noise made by other guests, but everything went quiet from around 10pm onwards so had no problems.

The position of the hotel was great and we could walk to the beach within 10 minutes, although we only used the beach near the hotel for snorkelling and swimming as the beach is very narrow. This was our third time to Barbados so we hired a car from http://www.bcrbarbados.com/ as we've used them every time we've been and they're always really helpful. We hired a small budget car which was about £200 for the week and was delivered to the hotel. We visited Bathsheba on the East side of the island which is well worth a look as it's beautiful and spent most days on Miami beach on the South Coast. We snorkelled straight from the beach at Paynes Bay and saw two turtles and plenty of fish. We also snorkelled from the beach the ship wrecks in the Hastings area and Folkstone Marine Park, and all are well worth a visit.

For evening meals we used the small road side grills. A serving of chicken and rice was about 15 bbd dollars which is about £5.00 and was really tasty. We also ate at Oistins where there's loads of choice.

All in all we had an absolutely fantastic time and didn't want to leave, so I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Traveller's as a budget option if like us, you just need a cheap base. As for Barbados itself, it really is an amazing place with wonderful people, fantastic beaches and scenery and I can't wait to go again next year!

Room Tip: go for a first floor room as they catch more of a breeze and have nice balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank _katie93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

stayed here many times my last trip was 15 nov 2011 to 2 jan 2012.....always had a good welcome from ken mccarthy general manager....the whole team are very friendly and always willing to help....good location not far from paynes beach where you can swim with the turtles and lots of eating places zaccios was my favourite good reasonable priced food....the bus station just down the road so go for the day at rockley or bathsheba or pop on the bus to speightstown to the fishermens for a cheap local lunch by the sea ...great place to holiday

Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
1  Thank goldenboyfive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

This was our first time to Barbados and we picked this accomodation on the basis it was self-catering and at budget prices. On the whole we were satisfied with our choice. As others have pointed out it does need a bit of a spruce up and in fact one of the apartments was being refurbished whilst we were there (appeared to be to quite a good standard) which did cause a little disturbance from a noise perspective but nothing untoward. The apartments are about 15 minutes walk from the main shops and eateries.

We normally holiday in Greece and in comparison the apartment was very comfortable and of a good size. The kitchen was well equiped with a full cooker (no grill) but did have to request a kettle which was immediately provided. We were on the ground floor and the outside space was on the small side but there was a table and two chairs (not plastic patio type). We had no problems with hot water, showering etc.

The staff were extremely friendly and were always willing to assist. We were there a week and the sheets, towels etc were changed twice.

There is a restaurant, which we did not use, but it did not appear to be open although the cook was present.

Beware, despite taking every precaution we were bitten by mosquitoes. We also had two visits from the local green monkeys (harmless) at breakfast time so make sure you have your camera handy!

If you are with Virgin do the Bajan Bus tour which is good value and our driver was hilarious. Also, if you want an experience get the reggae bus (yellow) into town.

Room Tip: Go for an apartment on the first fooor above No 8 (ours) should be great for teh monkeys or No 5 whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GreekGeek16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunset Crest
0.1 mi away
All Seasons Resort Europa
All Seasons Resort Europa
#1 of 1 in Sunset Crest
295 reviews
1.1 mi away
Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
7.4 mi away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,131 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 6 in Bridgetown
3,927 reviews
9.4 mi away
Sunbay Hotel
Sunbay Hotel
#44 of 50 in Christ Church Parish
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travellers Palm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travellers Palm

Address: Sunset Crest Resort, Sunset Crest, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish > Sunset Crest
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Sunset Crest
Price Range: $84 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Travellers Palm 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travellers Palm is an intimate collection of 16 One Bedroom Apartments located in the heart of the West Coast of Barbados. A refurbishment of the property was completed in early 2013 with new room furnishings, bathrooms and upgraded kitchens, externally a new pool deck, landscaping and building exterior works have been completed. We offer an affordable option for those wanting to experience the famous Platinum coast of the island. Apartments include full kitchens, living/dining areas, air-conditioned bedrooms and balconies overlooking the pool and gardens. Travellers Palm can accomodate families with 2 children or up to 4 adults or provides a erfect getaway for couples. A small restaurant offers casual cuisine and meal options ara available. The resort offers great value for money, an excellent location and an unforgettable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Travellers Palm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travellers Palm Hotel Sunset Crest
Travellers Palm Saint James
Travellers Palm Barbados/Sunset Crest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing