We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food and Great Atmosphere”
Review of Oistins

Oistins
Ranked #4 of 19 Restaurants in Oistins
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
South Wales
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Great Atmosphere”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Friday night is definitely the night to go to Oistins - there were craft stalls and all sorts of entertainment going on all the time we were there. The thing that really blew us away was the ballroom dancing which started about 9.30 and drew a huge crowd - we just weren't expecting it!
We went to George's which was recommended to us. It was a really good choice - we also couldn't recommend it highly enough for quality, price and service. The portions are huge.
Be warned though, there were queues almost round the block on Friday night to get a seat (and lots of people waiting for takeaways) but it was worth the wait. In fact we liked it so much we went back again during the week. Although there wasn't so much in the way of entertainment, the food was just as good.
We'd definitely recommend a visit.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 60dragons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

860 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    442
    285
    89
    28
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A Must Do While Visiting Barbados”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Oistins on a Friday night is something to experience, it's a fun, party atmosphere. It's cool to see people from all over the world, together in one spot, to sample some of the best and freshest fish that Barbados has to offer. The tables are shared, which gives you an opportunity to meet new people. The portions are HUGE!! I had red snapper and my boyfriend had mahi mahi, and both meals were excellent. We paid about $20 US each. I can't remember exactly, but I think we were buying Banks beer 3 for $5 US.

We were approached by a local sketch artist, who offered to draw our picture for a fee. We thought it would be nice to have a keepsake to bring home with us, so we agreed. We had a great time talking to him about the island and our vacation while he worked! We loved mingling with the locals on the island...we met some great people.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank CaraMeg0727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed May 2, 2014

As already said by all other reviewers it does get busy but it is definitely worth visiting on a Friday night! The fish is delicious and as fresh as can possibly be! Huge portions for a small price approx 25 - 30 BDS per meal. It is very lively but worth a visit. We travelled from Hastings about 25 USD each way, much easier than using organised transport. Felt very safe, be prepared to share a table with strangers but we found everyone v friendly and happy to chat and share experiences of Barbados. Pat's Place was recommended by our hotel and it did not disappoint

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dawnyj47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novara, Italy
Level Contributor
116 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“.. a very simple good dinner...”
Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

Simple local in Oistins, almost self service. Fly fish and sworfish good, grilled in a workmanlike, where you can enjoy creole.

Helpful?
Thank Silvia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“For a true Bajan experience”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Went to George's restaurant in Oistins, the food was spectacularly good and the atmosphere very friendly. This is the real island experience. We went on a thursday night, it was busy but not as crazy as the fridays and saturdays reputedly are. Not to be missed for anyone who wants the true Bajan experience.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank S D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oistins also viewed

Oistins, Christ Church Parish
Oistins, Christ Church Parish
 
Dover, Christ Church Parish
Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
 

Been to Oistins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing