We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect little restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Surfer's Cafe

Surfer's Cafe
Ranked #2 of 19 Restaurants in Oistins
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Bar, Cafe, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Romantic, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The perfect little restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

I would highly recommend Surfer's Cafe, beautiful view, friendly staff and delicious food regardless if you are out for breakfast, lunch or dinner. We discovered it last February on the last day of our visit in Barbados, so last week during our visit we made sure that we dined there a few times, once for breakfast when we had eggs on a roll, for lunch when we had salad with shrimp and also for dinner on last Thursday, the day before coming back to the States.
It has a little secluded area in the back so we made the reservation for that seating for dinner, it's very private and romantic with wooden benches, beautiful view and the food was absolutely delicious. I had pasta with Alfredo sauce and shrimp and my boyfriend had the pasta with tomato sauce and chicken.
We just can't wait to go back the next time we are on the island.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Moni38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    346
    200
    59
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
edinburgh
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“excellent regardless of whether it's a "surfers' cafe" or not”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

had lunch today and we were so pleased we noticed on the bus to Oistins. The fry up places around the fish market looked like tourist central, but Surfer's Cafe was just what we wanted - a friendly welcome, good inexpensive beer and wine and very good food. A definite recommendation in the area. Plus the view from the balcony table is as good as it gets...

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank johnny1922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best food and ambiance on the island!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Surfer's cafe has it all! The sparkling blue water and cool vibe welcomes you for a morning latte. Or, the sweet sunset and live music can lull you into an evening of delight. The food was great. The staff--incredibly friendly. And, the rustic ambiance is welcoming any time of day.

I highly recommend making a reservation for a table by the water. It's well worth it!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KymCoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Lucia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“live music”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

This place is good on weekend because music is playing and people flock to it!You don't have to eat here even though the food is good you can just chill ,have a cuppa or surf the net.I was driving around the island and i stopped frequently here it is just by Oistin bay. When the waves are big the surfers come out and the place gets busy.No need to dress up at surfers paradise...
every weekend i was here enjoying the music,this place is special at nightime.Good memories.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank charliebrownish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ostend, Belgium
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“not really a "surfer's" cafe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

the only reason i say this is that for a "real" local surfer it's a bit too expensive.
If you look at the prices from a tourists point of view it's great.
You get really good food, (perfect hamburgers), excellent service and a stunning view.
so if you're visiting Barbados, definitely stop by here for a howly burger.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank buftje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Surfer's Cafe also viewed

Oistins, Christ Church Parish
Dover, Christ Church Parish
 
Christ Church Parish, Barbados
Oistins, Christ Church Parish
 
St. Lawrence Gap, Christ Church Parish
Christ Church Parish, Barbados
 

Been to Surfer's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing