We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden treasure”
Review of Surfer's Cafe

Surfer's Cafe
Ranked #3 of 19 Restaurants in Oistins
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Barbados
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hidden treasure”
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Laid back styling is the name of the game at Surfers. Relax, chill out thats all you need to do . The beer is cold, the food is great, the prices superb, and the staff friendly and accommodating. It;s worth taking a little trek off the main stretch off the south coast to find this place at any time of day. Check out their facebook page for details of what bands are on when as it;s also a great bar in the evening for live music and some great laid back atmosphere.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BarbadosJax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    367
    216
    62
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Great food and ambience”
Reviewed January 28, 2012

We went here last time in Barbados but did not eat, didn't realise what we were missing out on, great food, burgers absolutley gorgeous as was the fish and chips!!!
A really nice relaxed place to sit and chill with a cold glass of wine and a beer or two.
Give it a try I am positive you will love this place

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Samuela66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, good food,”
Reviewed January 24, 2012

We went there nearly every day for breakfast, rather than eating in our hotel - we preferred the food and the atmosphere at this cafe. Lavazza coffee - fab! It was the perfect place for a nightcap too. The live music on Saturday night was amazing. We felt really lucky to have this place so close by, definitely one of the highlights of our holiday.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SanJoseSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, UK
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A Little Gem in just the Right Place........”
Reviewed January 14, 2012

I have always been loathe to write in praise of this place, wanting to keep it to ourselves, but it deserves a wider audience.
It is geographically well placed, the Bridgetown side of Oistins fish market only about 200 yards away - if that.
We have eaten there a few times over the years - usually lunch - but it is great at any time of day with good food, drinks, atmosphere and service. We especially like taking a walk mid-afternoon from our hotel some 20 minutes away, and enjoying a sandwich or salad with a beer or two and later meandering back along the beach. Priceless really because it sums up for us what this type of holiday is about.
It has a quaint interior with a couple of perfect tables looking out over the sea from above a quiet, unspoilt beach. If there are a few of you, there is an amazing table in one area which fits into a narrow section of the building with a great sea view for all. There is also plenty of room inside too and the prices are reasonable by local standards.
Surfers Cafe is indeed a little gem in our holiday world and we shall be sure to return later this year.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PedroMacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“such a hidden treasure”
Reviewed January 5, 2012

A local favorite, right on the beach with some of the best casual food on the island. The staff is great and the beer cold -- don't miss a chance to experience this little gem.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kerryharrismail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Surfer's Cafe also viewed

Dover, Christ Church Parish
Oistins, Christ Church Parish
 
Christ Church Parish, Barbados
St. Lawrence Gap, Christ Church Parish
 

Been to Surfer's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing