We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
A Must thing to do!

So pleased that we decided to go on the Cliff Sharker rather than one of the larger boats. Not only... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
mrsbenn
,
Berkshire
via mobile
AMAZING TOUR

Charles thank you so much for your tour! Me and my family had such an excellent time on your boat... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
995zacl
,
St. Lawrence Gap, Barbados
via mobile
Read all 957 reviews
  
Reviews (957)
Filter reviews
910 results
Traveler rating
904
2
1
0
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
904
2
1
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free dive ship wrecks charles takes rum punch turtle whisperer sea turtles race horses fish highlight of our trip met charles an early start amazing experience small group snorkeling trip amazing photos once in a lifetime his customers
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 910 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

So pleased that we decided to go on the Cliff Sharker rather than one of the larger boats. Not only was it fantastic to be in a small group but also the attention that Charles gave to us all was brilliant. Charles clearly cares about the turtles and we were lucky enough to see three together and before any of the other boats arrived in Carlisle Bay. Charles has great equipment and showed us how to put on and use the equipment properly which was invaluable. We then had some rum and cake followed by a second snorkel session - this time over three of the ship wrecks with lots of fish to see. Fantastic experience and really good fun. Thank you Charles!! 100% recommend.

Thank mrsbenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Charles thank you so much for your tour! Me and my family had such an excellent time on your boat with you for the day! Flawless experience, saw plenty of turtles, swam amongst the wrecks and plenty of great tunes and rum. Even had a treat of seeing some of the race horses at the beach for some of their training! Do not miss this opportunity!!

Thank 995zacl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Started our day being collected by a Hilarious taxi driver who had us in stitches all the way to the boat, can’t recall his name but will never forget him.

Once we arrived at the boat we were greeted by Charles, very nice guy and very well informed, as you’d expect. Charles made us very comfy on the boat and of course reggae was cranked to the maximum while we set off to try to see sea turtles. We set off at 7am to beat the cruise ships and we did . Charles calmly showed us how to use flippers properly and almost how to fit a snorkel and mask correctly, this made a huge difference. We arrived at the location and all jumped into the sea and within 60 seconds we were swimming with a real sea turtle, absolutely absorbed in what was happening. Charles gave us fish to feed the turtles as by this time there were two. They swam really close to us, one within a centimetre of my face, astonishingly humbling and totally awe inspiring to be able to do this.

I guess we were with the turtles for well over an hour before climbing back aboard and were served with LOTS of rum, spot on!

We then moved on to dive some ship wrecks, I chose not to go in as the water was choppy, so spent half an talking to Charles, very interesting man.

All in all, one of the best wildlife trips I have been on and you will not do better than this.

An absolute must do if you visit Barbados, totally incredible!

1  Thank mark7531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Fantatsic day out!! All loved it!!
What a legend Charles is - he cares about the environment and his clients -perfect combination. He made sure all the snorkel gear fitted well and we got proper instructions how to adjust everything to ensure no leaking masks! Also taught us how to safely dive down deep!
We loved the turtles and swam around and through the wrecks!! An inforgettable day out! Thanks!
Rachael Steve Zack and Blake
UK, London

1  Thank Rachmojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2018 via mobile

Wow, what an unforgettable experience.

If you do one excursion/activity on this island, make it a day with Charles. We did a private trip with Charles for our honeymoon and it did not disappoint. He truly is a “turtle whisperer,” knowing exactly where and when the sea turtles will be stopping by to say hello. And you quite literally swim with the turtles for an extended period of time. Please, do not waste your time throwing money away at any corporate group trips to see the turtles because Charles will blow them all out of the water.

He gets right in the water with you, brings his turtles on over (pretty sure they know him by name, too) and they’re within centimeters of you.

Of course, this charter is so much more than swimming with turtles, too. Charles is seriously one of the most genuine, engaging, downright fun human beings you’ll meet anywhere.

We learned so much about Barbados, the culture, everything, as he goes above and beyond to make your day special. We briefly stopped to hang at a local beach as he blared great tunes... we visited local race horses training at a nearby shore... we snorkeled over the site of three shipwrecks... and then he added a romantic flair. On our trip home, Charles kept on pouring his incredible rum punch for us while playing honeymoon’ish tunes.

Seriously, the whole day was a dream and we’ll be talking about it the rest of our lives. Charles even took a camera underneath the water with him to snap a video of us swimming with the turtles. He’s unbelievably talented at his craft — but an even better dude.

This is worth every penny, however you arrange your trip. Absolutely make it a part of your Barbados experience!

Thank TyDunne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2018

Charles really cares about his customers and their experience with him. We had an awesome experience swimming with the turtles. He got us right to where we needed to be before all of the other cruise passengers crowded the area. He really made sure that we had the best experience with the turtles and really took care of us. I would highly recommend booking a trip with him. Best excursion ever!

1  Thank StephC0730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2018 via mobile

Charles is really kind and professionnal! We spend an incredible day diving with turtles and wrechts. It was unforgetable!

Thank Arnaud S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2018

My family and I were recently in Barbados and had contacted Charles about a snorkel trip with the turtles. Charles was unable to accommodate us but provided a recommendation for another provider with a similar attitude/approach- small numbers, go before the crowds and respect the turtles. We had an amazing experience and Charles even phoned our guide as he drove us back to Holetown to ask how things went on our trip. It's clear Charles is a top guy who cares about his customers. We look forward to a future opportunity to enjoy a morning with Charles and thank him very much for helping us this time around with such a great recommendation.

2  Thank pettyharbour_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2018

Spending a week in June in Barbados was capped off by with an unforgettable 4 1/2 hours with Charles and his "boat". It was a truly amazing experience to swim with the turtles and only a few other people before the hordes of catamaran tourists flooded the area. But beyond the turtles, Charles made the trip even more entertaining with his quick wit and gourmet rum punches. We will definitely be joining Charles and his "boat" - what's the name of it again? - the next time we're in Barbados. If not to swim with the turtles, than just to spend some time with Charles. See you soon.

Thank Larry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2018

I'd been speaking with Charles a few months before our May trip to Barbados, as swimming with sea turtles was my top priority. I knew that he had a family emergency, and emailed him when we arrived. He got back to me and let me know he would not be doing any tours during our stay, but recommended someone who did a great job. I am so thankful that Charles helped us, great customer service even during a difficult time for him.

1  Thank Debra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews