We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great good, great fun”

Oistin's Friday Night Fish Fry
Book In Advance
More Info
$70.00*
and up
Oistin's Fish Fry and The Barbados Rumshop Tour
Ranked #4 of 11 things to do in Oistins
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great good, great fun”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

My family (6 adults and 3 children) went from Sandy Lane by taxi to Oistins Fish Fry. We arrived around 6.00 pm, and walked through the fish market (lots of yuk and aaagh from the children) and on to the pier where we watched the Fisher men feed the turtles - amazing!

Back to the Fish Fry..where there are so many small stalls selling barbecued fresh fish... We choose sword fish which was really lovely - served with chips or potatoes, and salad. The lovely waitress made sure the small children were fed first , they had chicken, which was thoughtful. Reggae music and dancing by the locals and tourists made a brilliant, fun, party atmosphere.

Walking back to the taxi, we passed lots of stalls selling touristy things, but the children were delighted!

A brilliant evening out.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cyclingforester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,128
    702
    269
    115
    79
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Oistins Fun Fish Friday”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

An amazing experience and great to have a taste of local food and fun and superb music!!!!
Highly recommend the flying fish supper, very cheap and do not expect haute cuisine - street food at its best but worth an experience!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank LizziB2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tunbridge wells
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lobster nightmare”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

I don't want to slag Oistens off, it's a nice atmosphere, good fish and beautiful location. However we made the mistake of ordering lobster from Margaret's fish bar... 35 US dollars and when it arrived it was literally the size of a crayfish. There were four measly bits of meat
It took a massive effort to get our money back. Locals got involved on our side, and they then got the police involved (although we'd got our money back at this point), I had to stand outside their counter and warn people off. When I asked the vendor what she would pay for the lobster she looked ashamed and wouldnt even comment.
It almost ruined the night for us and that is why I give it 1 star. Their excuse was pitiful- they didn't sell lobster - because they got the lobster from another bar.
Also, if you want drinks get them yourself, Margarets sold them but whacked on a 6 dollar surcharge for a rhum punch.
I've seen a lot of the world and I dont mind minor rip offs when the locals are clearly struggling. Here you're paying good money and the service should match.

ps taxi driver on way home states lobster has to be imported - which partly explains measly size

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank dan-and-jo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon
Level Contributor
104 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Over-hyped”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We went after reading what a great time it was and that the entertainment was very good. Well, the hype outshone the reality. Food was ok but nothing great. Entertainment consisted of CDs being played with some lame attempts at break dancing. What happened to local musicians jamming? Crafts were good. After seeing two 60-plus British women puking drunk, it was time to call it an early night.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Silly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best place to be on a Friday Night!”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

There is not much I can say about Oistins that others have not said ! Best place to be in Barbados on a Friday it is always live . Great food and lots of people and music

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Natasha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oistin's Friday Night Fish Fry also viewed

Saint Thomas Parish, Barbados
Saint Joseph Parish, Barbados
 
Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
Saint Peter Parish, Barbados
 

Been to Oistin's Friday Night Fish Fry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing