We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home away from home in Barbados”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front view of Southern Marsh
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Front view of Southern Marsh
Spacious living room
Living room
Living room with TV and Blu-ray player
Dining area
Dining area - seats up to 8 people
Large kitchen
Kitchen
Patio off kitchen
Master bedroom with king bed
Master bedroom with full ensuite bath
Master bedroom
2nd bedroom - can be king bed or twins
2nd bedroom has large closets
3rd bedroom - can be king bed or twins
3rd bedroom
Main 2nd floor bathroom
Main 2nd floor bathroom
4th bedroom (main floor) and ensuite bathroom
4th bedroom has a double bed
Lovely Dover Beach is less than a 5 minute walk from Southern Marsh
A monkey family often visits to snack on our bananas
Our local beaches are favourite nesting areas for sea turtles
Aerial view - red arrow (top right) points to house
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Dover, Christ Church Parish, Barbados

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Zullster
Drammen, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home away from home in Barbados”
Reviewed July 15, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We were 4 friends who stayed at Southern Marsh for two weeks in june/july and we had a fantastic stay. The location is perfect in a quiet neighborhood yet just a short walk from the Gap where you will find bars and restaurants. Also just 5 minutes away is one of the most beautiful beaches I have ever been to, Dover Beach.

We spent our days with both relaxation and adventure and Southern Marsh was a perfect base. We rented a car throughout most of our stay which was delivered and fetched from the house by the rental agency. The house has its own parking spot. The mornings and evenings we would often spend at the patio playing cards, listening to music and having a few beers. A couple of times we had a visit from a small monkey family Unfortunately they weren't as interested in us as we were in them and went on their way quite quickly.

Sandy was very helpful with planning our trip answering our questions when we had them. She also organized pickup on arrival and departure day. She made sure we had the dream trip we hoped for. We will definitely recommend Southern Marsh to anyone wanting to visit Barbados. We hope to come again soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The standard of the house and its location.
Liked least: We have nothing negative to say about the property.
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Reviewed May 21, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
natasha w
Mississauga, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing from beginning to end”
Reviewed May 20, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This was by far the best place we could have stayed at. From the moment we booked, the owner and manager answered every question we had. When we got there we were very warmly greeted by the manager and the process was very easy. The house was better than the pictures and had everything we could have needed. It was in the perfect location especially beside a beautiful beach. Everyone's expectations were exceeded and we wouldn't hesitate to stay there again when we go back.

Thanks for EVERYTHING!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bdos-girl...
Belleville, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Ahhhh Paradise for sure”
Reviewed May 12, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I was lucky enough to share Southern Marsh in Mar./14 with 4 ladies. What an absolutely lovely home with all the amenities one could need. Spacious, lovely breeze blowing through constantly and so nicely appointed. We did not find one thing missing that you could ever want. Beautiful, huge patio to enjoy morning coffee and drinks whenever the mood struck. Close to grocery stores, restaurants, beach, night life and a short walk to local transportation.
Cool Running's Catamaran is a must, such a fun day, the steel band at Southern Palms is also very enjoyable. Weather was fabulous, only rained 1 day in our whole vacation. The people are so friendly and willing to help answer any questions you may have. I would definitely highly recommend Southern Marsh for anyone wanting to be spoiled on a vaca to Barbados. Can't wait to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Accomodations and location
Liked least: I can't think of one thing.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering
Reviewed April 22, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 22, 2014
Thanks John!! We hope you will return to Southern Marsh really soon!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Laura N
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home Away From Home in Paradise”
Reviewed February 10, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

From the minute I stepped foot into Southern Marsh, I instantly felt both at home and relaxed. The unit has all the amenities of home - washer/dryer, cooking utensils, blender, coffee maker, etc. With four bedrooms and three full bathrooms, there is plenty of room for everyone. The back porch is a great spot for a morning coffee or late night drink, which we took advantage of every day of our trip. The house isn't directly on the beach, which may be a deterrent for some vacationers, however with just a short 3-4 minute walk we found it great. The local shop for beer and food is right around the corner as well, as are many amazing restaurants and bars. The local beach (Dover) is great, we never found it too crowded and the water is great for swimming. If you're looking for an outing, we can't recommend Cool Runnings catamaran tours enough - it is a day you won't forget! This was my first, but absolutely not my last, trip to Barbados and I will be choosing the Southern Marsh as my vacation spot every time! Can't wait to be back and I only left yesterday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 9, 2014
Thanks!! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Southern Marsh. Please come back again soon :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarathewa
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfort of home, miles from home!”
Reviewed January 24, 2014 for a stay in January 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Our stay at the southern marsh in the st Lawrence gap was incredible!
The home is packed with the comfortable amenities of home that may even be nicer than the ones you have at home haha..the house is on a quiet side street in the gap that is a one minute walk to the Dover market, a 2 minute walk to the beach and a 5 minute walk to the main strip in the gap. The nightlife here is amazing with a plethora of options. If you party too hard your first couple days a romantic,quiet night is always an option.there is always live music to draw you in.
The southern marsh is located close to the main road so that you can take the local transportation into another town or tourist spot very easily.
We woke up every morning and made ourselves coffee and sat on the back patio where we also listened to music as the sun went down. I even spotted a few hummingbirds while sitting out there. An impeccably kept home that we will definitely visit again.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 23, 2014
Thanks so much for this review - it's our first!! We are so pleased that you enjoyed our island home and hope that you will visit Southern Marsh again sometime soon! We are also happy to arrange airport pickup and drop off for all our guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing