We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (783)
Filter reviews
783 results
Traveler rating
248
340
128
38
29
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
248
340
128
38
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe gapst lawrence gapgarden viewsun deckmain buildinghousekeeping staffbars and restaurantsbudget hotelbritish airwaysthe activities deskmin walksmall hotelenjoyed my staysmall fridgefriendly hotelself cateringconvenience store
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 783 reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2018

My partner and I stayed at The Dover Beach Hotel in June for a week. We booked with British Airways and got a reasonably good deal.
Check in was smooth and the reception staff where friendly throughout our stay.
We did have a leak in the roof of our room after a tropical storm and was moved to another exactly the same room straight away.
All the staff, from cleaning to Mary the excursions person and the security staff where all really friendly and made us feel at home.

I must say thank you to Mary for arranging my birthday cake that my partner had ordered.

The rooms where all clean, need a little updating but were ok for the hotel star and price.
The hotel is in the perfect location for the beach and Gap, Just outside the hustle and bustle.
The restaurant was reasonbly priced, we eat there several times for breakfast and lunch, The brekfast menu could do with more items like a ''full english'' . We went to the Ocean 15 cafe at the top of the road, the food was lovely there.

The beach and sea had seaweed in, Yes a little disappointed at first, but we we took a cap ($20 USD into Bridgetown and visited Pirates Cove or The Boatyard - the sea and beaches there are perfect.

We had a brilliant time and would defiantly recommend The Dover Beach Hotel to anyone looking for a budget hotel within walking distance of the shops,bars and restaurants of St Lawrence Gap,

The street vendors selling ''Green/White'' (Drugs)Aloe Vera gel and braclets around the Gap where annoying at first but if you say No'' they usually respect that.

The Nearest store is Dover Stores, and stocked everything we needed and even gave us the recipe for Rum Punch so we could make it at home.

  • Stayed: June 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisWagg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVERIL B, Guest Relations Manager at Dover Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2018

Hi Chris:

We love reading reviews like this one, as you share ideas of things to do and expectations with others. Thank you for staying with us at Dover Beach Hotel. We are really pleased that you fitted in so well with our brand and had the opportunity to experience the friendliness and caring nature of our staff. We are always delighted when our guests get off the property and explore their surroundings, so we glad to hear that you got out and about and took advantage of our location in the Gap.

We hope to see you and your partner very soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2018

I want to start with the negative. Literally one thing. The bartender when we arrived was super rude and the whole "welcome drink" felt like a "get out of my face drink" from her.

Okay that was it. The front desk staff and concierge were outstanding. The room was great for the value and we used the kitchenette everyday! There is a grocery store about a 5 minute walk away. The beach on site is small but beautiful. It was a bit hard to find as it was tucked away but overall we had a pleasant experience. Very short walk from plenty of places to eat and drink.

  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVERIL B, Guest Relations Manager at Dover Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2018

Dear Andrew:

We wish to by apologising for your negative experience with our bartender on your arrival. We are very sorry that your holiday started like this but thankful that you kept an open mind to embrace the warm hospitality we are known for. Our front desk staff certainly saw to it. We are also happy to know that you appreciated our prime location in St Lawrence Gap which allows easy walking access to an abundance of small restaurants and intimate bars and live entertainment.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2018 via mobile

The staff are super friendly, you are steps from the beach, the restaurant on site serves great food and drinks, and you are walking distance to about everywhere (Oistin's is about 2km so some may want a cheap taxi). The rooms were nice and large, especially for a smaller hotel.

The only downside was there wasn't much insulation and you could hear quite a but around you.

For the money you can't go wrong and I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Stayed: June 2018, traveled on business
2  Thank Skycop207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVERIL B, Guest Relations Manager at Dover Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2018

Thank you for choosing Dover Beach hotel on your recent business trip. We are delighted that you enjoyed our warm hospitality, our great location of St Lawrence Gap, and the food in our Restaurant Seagrape, where we have recently refreshed menus for lunch and dinner.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2018

I stayed at Dover beach hotel for the first time and was so impressed with the staff and their customer service skills I would go there again. We gad a studio self catering room which had very good kitchen facilities but the rooms do need a bit of re decoration. It does look very tired and worn. I felt let down by the food in the restaurant as it was not very good and very expensive i would say avoid it if you can. If you are short of cash or looking for a no thrills hotel this is for you.

Room Tip: The studio rooms are best.
Stayed: June 2018, traveled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank annepink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVERIL B, Guest Relations Manager at Dover Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2018

Thank you for staying with us at Dover Beach Hotel. We appreciate your feedback. We are pleased that our staff impressed you with customer service. Of course, we are disappointed that you did not feel the same way about the food in the restaurant. I certainly hope that you visit us again in teh future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2018

Stayed here early May for 10 days.

We had upgraded to a sea view room which was definately worth it. The rooms are pleasant and spacious and very carribean style with the white wicker furniture, plenty of storage space, ie double wardrobe, 6 large drawers in the dressing table and a bedside cabinet each.

Kitchen was old but very convenient, with a microwave, hob, large fridge, kettle and toaster and with a supermarket less than 5 minutes away, we could stock up with cold drinks, basic necessities for breakfast and of course some local rum!

Room was cleaned every day, so no complaints.

There is a bar/small restaurant in the hotel, which is a little more expensive than outside but no where near normal hotel prices, so we did have a few drinks in there and lunch a couple of times, it’s nice to chill when your spending the day by the pool and not feel like your being ripped off.

There is no beach at this hotel but you can walk along and take your towel, unfortunately while we was there, the beach was full of seaweed and was far too choppy to swim in, Sandals is two hotels down and I would’ve been well miffed if I’d paid to go there and still not go to the beach, but Mother Nature can’t be tamed.

Mary in reception is very helpful and will book your trips for you. We booked Oistins Friday night fish fry, which is an experience, it was $15 each for a taxi, I’ve heard people say that they walk there but it must be at least a 45 minute walk and the roads are not paved properly or lit well, so either book a taxi or get on the reggae reggae bus which is $2 each, it can be packed and is used by everyone, but they are everywhere and you can hop on and off or stay on and go round the island for $2!

We also done the Calabreza catamaran afternoon cruise, which was amazing! food and drink was free flowing all afternoon and then a swim with the turtles and a snorkel around a shipwreck, my only gripe was that it wasn’t long enough, time flies when your having fun!

Our favourite beach was Rockley Beach, which was about a 25 minute walk from the hotel, it’s easy to find but the roads are a bit hairy as there is no pavement in places, so hop on the bus, it’s probably safer.

When you go to Rockley Beach enter through the Tiki Bar, you can then get 2 sun beds and an umbrella for $15us each, they then give you tokens to spend in the bar for $60barbados dollars, what a result, drinks food, bathroom facilities, great beach, amazing atmosphere what more can you ask for? We went back on a Friday evening for a meal, there was a reggae band playing, so good food, cocktails and watch the sun go down, perfect!

Location - as you exit the hotel, turn left and just keep walking and you will soon hit the restaurants and bars, there is something for everyone, small huts serving drinks and food in a very relaxed setting, no need to dress up and further along more restaurants. To be honest we didn’t have s bad meal in anyone of them, ranging from £40 in Pronto to our most expensive bill of £135 in Primo, almost at the end of the gap. Pure Ocean is also worth a mention, as great food and a lovely setting. Sharkeys bar is brilliant for cocktails as is Cocktail kitchen.

We loved it here and would definitely recommend this hotel as a great base, getting around is easy. The hotel is not top class but Barbados is so relaxed, just go with the flow and chill. We visited sandals for a day $130us Dollars each from 10am to 6pm and I wouldn’t have swapped our holiday for a stay in Sandals.

Please be careful when out walking, I fell down a pothole on the last night, as the roads and pavements are bad and the lighting is not good and being a small hotel there was no first aider and only had a small first aid kit, so we had to wait until morning until the chemist opened to get fresh plasters and bandages.

Stayed: May 2018
3  Thank Essexfamily_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVERIL B, Guest Relations Manager at Dover Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2018

We appreciate the time you took to write such a detailed review. Your feedback is very much important to us and valued. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to host you at Dover Beach and for providing future guests with such useful tips. We are of course very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at the hotel, but more importantly, that you got off the property and experienced the destination and much that it has to offer, which clearly was well worth your while. There still so much more to add to your Barbados experiences.

We hope to see you and your family very soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews