We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“most relaxing vacation ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Dover
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 12, 2011

We spent seven days at the hotel. It started with the easiest check in I had ever experienced. The staff could not have been more helpful or friendly. The food was plentiful and the service fantastic. We love the beach and the beach at this hotel was great. The staff on the beach were eager to assist with all our needs wether it be a chair to lounge in or a cool drink while relaxing. The only bad part of the trip was leaving. Hope to make it back in the near future.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NYY15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,766)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,984 - 1,990 of 2,766 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2011

My wife and i got Married on the beach at Turtle Beach resort in mid Feb, we stayed for 2 weeks and LOVED every minute of it!! We arrived to the resort after a long 30 hour flight from BC Canada to a cool dude named Herm that greeted us at the front door, he took all our bags as we walked up to the registry to be booked in, with in a min we were given rum punch to wet our throats with mmmm good! mins later we where taken to our rooms as there was 2 groups of us. The rooms are very clean with an unbelievable view of the aqua blue sandy beach Sea!!! its worth a billion bucks any day even on cloudy rainy days which is liquid sun shine!! they have 3 restaurants which serve absolutely wonderful food, so many dishes to choose from and all of them tasting sooo yummy!!! They have 2 pools to use and one hot tub, the only thing i really didnt care for with the pool was they closed it at 7pm WTF come on dusk and later is the time i wanted to use the pool after a long fun day in the city of BridgeTown ect.. they need to keep it open till midnight or so for us grown ups to use, thats one thing that needs to be applied, oh well no biggie... The staff are absolutely 100% A+ always there to make sure your taken care of, nice smiles, happy bunch, they made sure we were well taken care of, and thats for sure! they made sure our wedding was one to remember!!!!!. Kinda is the wedding coordinator we used at the resort, she went the extra mile for us making sure all the "P and Q were crossed" such a pleasure to deal with... The beach is very nice to relax on with there real cool beach chairs with sun shapes and even come around serving drinks for you. they have some cool dudes that run the beach hut with all your water activity's they offer which was a blast! we toured the island a few times wile we where there and what a beautiful island it is, i would go back in a hart beat!!!! i recommend Turtle beach to anyone reading this review i just wrote, we meat people that have been going there for 15 years now and still love it like the first time they where there.... We plan on doing it again !!! i hope this is helpful

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BCcooldude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2011

We went February half-term with 6 & 3 year old. Rooms are good and we slept pretty well - go for a suite if you can with a family. 2 main restaurants - both buffet style for breakfast and lunch. Food is good without being great. Resort is quite large but never feels overcrowded. Service patchy - some very friendly while others seem a bit disinterested at times. Pool areas very good with plenty of loungers and towels etc. Beach is lovely though sea can be quite choppy so need to keep an eye on young ones.
Easy walk up to Dover Beach and St.Lawrence gap so you are not resort-bound.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2011

My daughter and I just got back from this exceptional place. We were a little concerned prior to the trip as there had been some not so favourable reviews. Don't know what those people were talking about. The food was great with ample variety. The rooms were comforable and clean. The staff was friendly and accomodating. Captain Sam and his boys are the best. If you want a beautiful, relaxing stay with a wonderful beach this is the place for you. Not a party resort, things quiet down at 10 or 10:30 which was exactly what I was looking for. Would highly recommed and would got back in a hearbeat.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zoey-jack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2011

Having been to Barbados before and travelled extensively around the island, we knew that we wanted to return to the South Coast with its outstanding beaches and turquoise sea. We chose this hotel due to the fact that it advertised lots of watersports, which suited our teenage children. I have to say it was fantastic and the holiday has been voted one of our best yet!
Upon arrival we were asked to sit down in the lovely, large and airy reception area, (along with a couple of rum punches!!) whilst we were registered. We immediately felt completely relaxed and had a great feeling about the holiday.
* Rooms - we had two large, adjoining rooms on the third floor with huge balconies. Not sure if they had been refurbished or not as the decoration, light fittings, furniture etc were good. Bathroom was a little dated so would guess they were the older rooms. The bed in our room was huge, plenty of wardrobe space, a very modern TV and ipod deck, and empty fridge, Air conditioning was excellent. The highlight was the sea view which we were not expecting and was outstanding.
* Service was exceptional - everybody we met was very friendly and polite. Nothing was too much trouble. A special mention must go here to the beach and watersport team who - every day they would ask us where we wanted to sit and then put our sunbeds in that spot. They were always cheerful and always gave us very accurate weather forecasts!
* Beach and sea - outstanding location if you want lots of photos of white sand, turquoise sea and blue skies!! My epitome of the Carribean! There is plenty of room on the beach, and it is easy to get a 'front uncrowded position'. The sunloungers are the best we have come across - comfy mattresses and a very useful sun shade that can be positioned so that you have plenty of shade. There is butler service on the beach which is also very welcome!! The sea was excellent fun - some quite big waves which made 'jumping the waves' and using the complimentary body boards great fun. We were able to go into the sea every day but the previous week the currents were too strong and visitors advised not to swimming in the sea. Uncle Sam will take 2 people at a time out on the 'hobby cat, small catamaran' which was fun. There are also surf boards and canoes/kayaks. Our three children also hired a jet ski which they took out together $60 (USA) for half an hour.
* Food! There are three restaurants with two being open each evening - normally a buffet choice and an Al a carte choice. We did not get into Agiassos (Italian) as we saved that for the last evening and then could not get in! No problem - the other choices were equally as good (or so we were told!). The Al a carte menus were particularly good. We always had lunch at the waterfront buffet (near the beach) which had a good choice. Breakfast is in Chelonia (the main restaurant near reception) - again lots of choice. A highlight for us, was afternoon tea at 4 o'clock. In addition to the obvious tea, there were sandwiches and cakes, and even scones with jam and cream!
* Location - our teenage son walked into the bars at Lawrence St Gap one night with a few other teenagers he had met. He said everybody was very friendly and very safe - took about 10-15 minutes. We had planned to walk to the fish fry in Oistins but were advised not to walk home as it is unlit and a bit lonely. Once agin 5 stars for the fab beach location.
* Amenities - my husband and son used the gym on a number of occasions. Our two daughters used the internet room - free internet and I thought the connection was quite fast! There is a little shop and some market stalls came into the hotel grounds on the Sunday and Tuesday evenings.
* Mosquittoes - anybody who has read my past reviews, know mossies are the bane of my life!! Our daughter decided to wear insect repellant on the first night and got badly bitten!! The rest of us did not use insect repellant and did not get a single bite!
* Trips - we went on the 'jeep safari' - a great way to see the island, especially the beautiful North east coast. We also had lunch at one of the plantation houses and lots of rum punch! We also went on the 'Virgin' catamaran trip to swim with the turtles. We swam with the turtles, and then moored up by the 'Sandy Lane' hotel for lunch and a swim/ walk along the beach. A day of pure relaxation. The hotel offers a complimentary trip into Bridgetown but we did not have time to do that.
We cannot wait to go back, and met people who had just returned to TB for the 14th time. We can see why - it is lovely and certainly has something very special about it.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mrsbstaffordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2011

this hotel on the less fashionable south coast is truly a joy to stay at. We had the old rooms, but were given a large suite which was excellent if clearly in need of refurbishment, especially the bathroom, but the size and the views from the large verandah made up for this. The staff are good and typically barbadian with a smile at all times and doing their work at caribbean pace. If you are the kind of person who is in a hurry don't go to barbados as the whole reason to come here is to relax.
The pools are excellent and there were loads of sunbeds and umbrellas and on the beach the staff are great and nothing is too much trouble for them.
For all-inclusive the food was excellent in all the venues and we had no complaints at all

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hayesone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2011

Superb hotel and staff. Extremely clean and very well managed. An absolute dream of a holiday and all staff just couldn't do enough to makeyour staff enjoyable. Good food with mostly al a carte evening meals. Well stocked bar and knowledgeable staff. Second visit and will be returning again next year; a thing we've never ever done before. It is just wonderful.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teeshhampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dover
3.4 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 6 in Bridgetown
3,867 reviews
8.4 mi away
Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
8.5 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
2,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Sugar Bay Barbados
Sugar Bay Barbados
#3 of 9 in Hastings
776 reviews
7.9 mi away
Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels
Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels
#5 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,869 reviews
7.3 mi away
Waves Hotel & Spa by Elegant Hotels
Waves Hotel & Spa by Elegant Hot...
#3 of 26 in Saint James Parish
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels

Address: Dover, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > Dover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Dover
Price Range: $408 - $1,358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"A vibrant blend of contemporary style and informal elegance." A truly magnificent all-inclusive property of 161 rooms situated on a glorious stretch of the south coast of Barbados. Turtle Beach Resort uniquely combines contemporary style, informal elegance, lively atmosphere and a superb range of facilities suitable for all ages, including a supervised kids Club (for children aged 4-12) setting new standards for all-inclusive holidays to the Caribbean. Complimentary WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Beach By Elegant Hotel Dover
Turtle Beach Barbados
Turtle Beach Resort Barbados
Hotel Turtle Beach
Turtle Beach By Elegant Hotels Barbados/Dover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing