We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it and will be back again” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dover
Certificate of Excellence
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Loved it and will be back again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2006

We stayed at Turtle Beach in August and had a fabulous time. Our room was cleaned everyday and the maid managed to keep it clean despite our trail of sand and clothes we would leave everywhere. The room had the most magnificient sea view. which was fantastic to wake up to. The staff were friendly and especially helpful if you took the time to talk to them. We had a pleasant meal on most evenings and although sometimes the service was slow we were after all on holiday with no where to rush to!! The staff all made sure that myself and my daughter were well looked after and that our stay was enjoyable. We have been to barbados many times and this was one of the most pleasant places we have stayed. The watersports team encouraged everyone to take part but at all times safety was paramount, special thanks to Sam who looked after the beach and kept a close eye on everything. The Crop Over carnival was fantastic fun and I would recommend everyone to leave the hotel for the day and take part in a truly bajan party!!! We were made to feel very welcome and the staff took the time to tell us the places we should be to get the most from our trip. Will we stay again ?.... most definetely.

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
7 Thank JR101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,324
    801
    250
    112
    61
See reviews for
921
1,006
13
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (652)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2006

We have just returned from Turtle Beach after a weeks holiday with our two children (11 months and 6 years). Overall, we had a good holiday but have definately stayed in better hotels for the money. Turtle Beach is definately NOT 4.5 star standard.

Rooms - Very tired and not very clean. When we arrived my 11 month old crawled into the bathroom and came out with his hands covered in something from the floor. We had to try and keep him out of the bathroom for the rest of our stay. We had old blankets on the bed and even though the rooms are quite large, it is a push to fit a child bed plus a cot in one. I definately wouldn't describe it as a 'suite'.

Food - This is the first time we have been on an all inclusive holiday and overall we were very impressed with the food. We were expecting buffets all the time, but you have a choice of 3 restaurants and most nights we had al a carte. The only bad experience we encountered was breakfast. Each morning you had to queue for at least 10 mins waiting to be seated. The queue was held up by the fact that you also had to book for your evening meal at the same time (a tip here: we booked our reservations days in advance. If you wait until the day you won't get in anywhere before 9pm). Once you were finally seated, it seemed to take an eternity to be served with tea or coffee, and even then getting a top up is impossible unless you want to wait all morning. Lunch was quite limited. It was okay for a week, but I'm sure you would get fed up with it if you booked for 2 weeks. We went up to Cystal Cove one day, and the set up there for lunch was much better, with more than one restaurant serving and more choice. Also, afternoon tea is a bit of a joke. They only serve a limited number of tiny triangle sandwiches and a few cakes - it isn't worth borthering with unless you feel quite hungry.

Pools & Beach - The pools never looked very clean and I never saw anyone testing the water the entire time we were there. We chose to spend most of our time on the beach. It is quite a nice stretch with plenty of sunbeds with canopies to shield the strong sun. Even though the sea is not as calm as the west coast, my eldest son and husband loved trying out all the water sports, particularly boogy boarding. The water sport staff are fantastic and don't seem to take any risks.

Kids Club - Our 6 year olkd absolutely loved kids club and would have happily spent his entire holiday in there if we had let him. It is great that they give the kids tea and they then watch a movie until 9pm which meant we got to have a few meals in peace.

Overall, I was quite dissapointed with Turtle Beach. It is looking very tired and in desperate need of a refurb. It definately isn't worth the money we spent, but looking at other hotels on the island, you would have to break the bank to get pure luxury as most of the hotels we saw seemed to be of a similar standard. We have travelled quite a bit in the far east and in no way did Barbados or turtle beach live up to any of our holidays there. We won't be returning.

One final warning, buy the strongest mosquito repellent you can find and put it on both day and night. We all got quite badly bitten even constantly wearing repellent.

  • Liked — Food, setting on beach
  • Disliked — poor standard of rooms
  • Tips/Secrets — If you are expecting luxury then don't book turtle beach
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Chantellebreeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2006

As soon as we arrived at our hotel the staff were fantastic. They said that they were there to make our holiday special and they certainly did.

All the staff went out of their way to ensure our holiday was perfect. Our room was upgraded to an Ocean Front room. We had room 411 and I commented that I thought it was the best in the hotel (end of a short corrider looking onto an empty beach. A staff member informed me that the best room was 405 which had a view of the whole south coast.

After breakfast we wandered to the beach where there were always plenty of available sun beds. Maradona who worked the beach bar constantly wandered amongst us bringing a choice of drinks, followed by fresh fruit and then more drinks. The watersports staff encouraged everyone to 'have a go' whilst always clearly explaining all the safety rules.

The waitresses were fantastic. Water glasses were constantly topped up with regular enquiries about bar drinks. When not busy they sang and danced to keep everyone smiling. Racquel was especially kind and frienly.

In the two weeks we were there we never ate two meals the same. All the meals were well prepared and delicious (if a little spicey at times.) The desserts were fantastic and irresistable hence the extra weight coming home.

Hermaniun on the entrance to the hotel was also friendly and helpful whenever we encountered him.

We took a day out with Ted's Tours (not to be missed) and went right around the island learning about its history and how things are changing. Lots of stops for sightseeing and rum punch.

Shopping in Bridgetown is a must with a free transport from the hotel.

We saw baby turtles hatch and even saw the odd one in the sea.

Some people complained about the birds flying around whilst we were eating meals but when the dining rooms are open air what do you expect. Chill like the Bajans and it isn't a problem.

Would I go back? Tomorrow.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't take any towels, hairdryers, irons, etc. Everything is provided.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Fatmags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2006

This Hotel gives Barbados a bad name. We have been to the island before and stayed at The bourgainvilla Hotel which was a palace compared to TB.

The staff have a serious problem with manners and treated the guests like they were enemies, this was not just our opinion but everyone we spoke to in the Hotel.

Birds were a massive problem at breakfast and if you forgot to book your reservation for dinner then they would not fit you in, which is ridiculous for an all inclusive. After the first night we ate out, due to poor standard of food.

Maid service was poor, not getting our room cleaned until 4pm.

The only member of staff who was good and had a smile for everyone was Tyson, who worked at the beach bar.

Barbados is a lovely place and the locals are very friendly, best Taxi driver on the island is Stan Colleymore, who was a great friend to us and also a great driver, showing us lots of the island and not ripping us off.

We will definitely return but maybe try the west coast next time.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — Staff
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Fiddler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2006

I have just returned from a 10 day stay at the Turtle Beach Hotel with my wife and our two children (aged 11 and 9). The location of the hotel is fantastic, with a lovely sandy beach and turquoise sea. Being the hurricane season, the sea in October can apparently be very rough and, while we were there the red flag (swimming forbidden) came out on a couple of occasions but, for the majority of the time, it was fine. The kids really enjoyed cavorting in the waves. The guys running the water sports facility are also very friendly and helpful.

We had a junior suite with a balcony facing towards the sea and overlooking one of the pools. The suite consisted of two separate rooms with a central bathroom. This worked very well, allowing us to sleep separately from the children and thus allowing us a degree of privacy. The rooms themselves are pretty basic, but acceptable and clean.

The food in all the three restaurants was good both in terms of quality and choice. However, for service the Asiagos was by far the best. Unfortunately, this particular restaurant does not accept children, so we dined there only twice. At the other extreme, service in the main Chalonia restaurant, in which the breakfast buffet is served and in which we took most of our evening meals, was a very hit and miss affair. Many of the staff were sullen, uncommunicative and generally unfriendly. It seemed that, once you had been served your main course, you were forgotten about. Orders for desserts and drinks either took forever or, on occasion, simply didn’t materialise.

As others have pointed out, birds fly freely trough the Chalonia and will land on your table to sip your drink or eat your food as soon as your back is turned. Whilst the kids found this entertaining, it doesn’t seem very hygienic, particularly in these days of bird flu!

For the first three days of our stay, we lost hot water at the times when it was most needed – in the mornings, and in the evenings on returning from the beach. This did seem to get sorted out eventually, but there was never any apology or explanation given by the hotel.

I was annoyed at being pestered on the beach by people trying to sell coconut carvings, massages, home-made aloe vera suntan lotion and so on. However, they are not too persistent and will generally take no for an answer without any apparent resentment.

The hotel has a kid’s club which seemed well-staffed and friendly but our kids didn’t make much use of it, preferring to spend their time with us on the beach, in the pool, or going into Bridgetown to shop (The hotel provides a free shuttle twice a day).

On the whole, we thoroughly enjoyed the holiday, but this was probably because we were not going to allow the negative aspects to spoil our enjoyment.

  • Liked — beach and sea
  • Disliked — restaurant service
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gribishok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2006

Just returned from a 10 night holiday at Turtle Beach. We had a great time. Our room was lovely with a great view of the pools, sea and gardens. The food was good and there was a great variety. The Italian resturant was especially good. The birds were a bit of a nuisance at breakfast and lunch, but I have stayed in other resorts and this seems to be the norm. Children were well catered for in the resturants, and there also seemed to be a great kids club. The staff were very helpful and all seemed to enjoy their work very much, as they all went around singing and sometimes dancing. The watersports guys were also great, and you can imagine how thrilled we were then one of them shouted to us that baby turtles were hatching on the beach. What an amazing thing to witness. The person who really made out holiday was Tyson the barman at the beach bar. He came around daily with a tray of soft drinks, beer, water etc. He also came round with fresh fruit. A guy who really knows how to do his job, and do it well, with a lovely smile .

  • Liked — comfort and view
  • Disliked — no kettle
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank caribbeanking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2006

We returned from a 2 week stay at Turtle Beach on Saturday 21 October 2006, having previously visited the resort in October 2001 for our honeymoon. We absolutely loved the hotel on our first visit - it was perfect IN ALL RESPECTS - and always vowed to go back one day. Needless to say we were very excited when we finally booked our returned visit.

Sadly our second experience was very different to our first. The staff were mainly sullen, unfriendly and disinterested, for the most part avoiding eye contact. There is a huge problem with birds in the Chelonia Restaurant - it was difficult to find a chair that was not covered in bird mess - and the birds frequently landed on your table while you were eating/drinking, often helping themselves to what was on offer. After 3 days, we didn't go to breakfast any more, not great given that we had paid for all inclusive. The restaurant was better in the evening when the birds had nested for the evening. Generally however the level of service was poor, often wine bottles were left unopened in ice buckets next to our table - we were given a complimentary bottle of wine for all the trouble we had experienced and this was left unopened, starters sometimes took over an hour to be served, there were often no saucers available at breakfast, and despite complaining, nobody seemed to care. There is one exception to this and that is Asiagos, the Italian Restaurant. We went there three times and it offered excellent food and excellent service.

Beach towels are provided by the resort but often did not appear until after 11 am - sometimes as late at 1 pm.

One day our water was turned off (from 0845 to 1600) for "routine maintenance". In itself this was not a problem as we understand that maintenance works need to be carried out, but nobody told us. It would have been simple for the cleaners to have put a note through our door the day before or for a message to be left on our room phone. I think this is unacceptable.

There are some plus points - the hotel is in a perfect location on the beach next to the beautiful Caribbean and the rooms are large and airy. Asiagos Restaurant is very good.

If they could sort their staff out, get rid of the birds from the restaurant and generally pull the place up by the scruff of its neck, it would be good again.

We have complained strongly to our tour operator and are awaiting a response. At moment, the Hotel is far from a 4.5 star though.

  • Liked — Beach Location
  • Disliked — Service/Birds
  • Tips/Secrets — don't go until they have improved it unless you have low expectations
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Appletops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dover
0.3 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,910 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 8 in Saint Michael Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,371 reviews
7.9 mi away
Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
#11 of 49 in Christ Church Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,905 reviews
8.9 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,348 reviews
7.5 mi away
Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels
Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels
#5 of 26 in Saint James Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels

Property: Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
Address: Dover, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > Dover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"A vibrant blend of contemporary style and informal elegance." A truly magnificent all-inclusive property of 161 rooms situated on a glorious stretch of the south coast of Barbados. Turtle Beach Resort uniquely combines contemporary style, informal elegance, lively atmosphere and a superb range of facilities suitable for all ages, including a supervised kids Club (for children aged 4-12) setting new standards for all-inclusive holidays to the Caribbean. Complimentary WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Kognitiv US Corp, Hotels.com, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Beach By Elegant Hotel Dover
Turtle Beach Barbados
Turtle Beach Resort Barbados
Hotel Turtle Beach
Turtle Beach By Elegant Hotels Barbados/Dover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing