We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved turtle beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Dover
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“loved turtle beach”
Reviewed May 9, 2005

We just returned from a long weekend at Turtle Beach Resort. The resort is really very nice, the beach is beautiful, food was pretty good especially at Asiago's. Everyone was very nice. We were especially impressed with the check in process. When you arrive, the bellman takes your bags and escorts you to a nice seating area and serves you cold rum punch while the staff checks you in. They bring the paperwork to YOU while you relax in the beautiful open air lobby. Speaking of the bellman, they are a very good resource for anything you need or want. They seem to know almost anything and never steered us in the wrong direction. We ate (off site) at Oistens fish market friday night which was recommended on this site and were very glad. It was excellent! We took a great snorkeling trip with Tiami tall ships and saw lots of sea turtles, a coral reef and a sunken barge. One tip; instead of taking taxi's everywhere, take the buses. They are much cheaper. They are more like vans but only cost $1.00/person whereas taxi fees are set by the government and cost between $10-20 US no matter how far you go. I'm glad we stayed at an all-inclusive because outside of the resort the prices are very high. In fact, I think the cost of this resort is really high too but it was very nice. We were fortunate enough to win our stay in a charity auction.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank luvchotinis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,384
    831
    260
    112
    64
See reviews for
966
1,047
13
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (694)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2005

My fiance and I travelled to Barbados on the 29apr until 05may 2005, my fiance had never travelled to Barbados before and this hotel compltely exceeded her expectations. As soon as we had arrived we were offered a drink in reception while the keys to our room was sorted out. The reception of this hotel is beautiful with a view overlooking the chelonia restaurant. We made our way to the room which was on the ground level with a view of a nice garden and a stones throw away from the beach. After a stroll along the lovely beach we then ate in the Chelonia restaurant which is one of three restaurants within the resort. The dining experience was wonderful for the entire trip and it is a must to have a romantic meal in the italian restaurant Asiagos.
The hotel has three pools and a jacuzzi which are all very clean and well maintained. There is also a watersports hut with a bar so that you can have a well received drink whilst relaxing on the sun lounges which belong to the hotel. Watersports include boogie boards and hobie cats. The beach is kind of split into two and the beach outside of the hotel is quite small but about twenty yards to your left there is a beautiful long stretch of white sand lined with casuarina trees on oneside and beautiful turquoise waters on the other. Compared to the west coast of Barbados the sea on the south west coast is no where near as calm and tranquil. Swimming is still safe and the hotel provides a flag rating system to warn people on the beach of the swimming conditions. Whilst boogie boarding one day i was lucky enough to find myself swimming with turtles. All in all the stay in this hotel was a great experience. I have travelled to many places in the world and as a hotel in the caribbean i would rate this as the best hotel i have stayed in.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Sketty222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnet, Hertfordshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2005

We stayed at Turtle Beach at beginning of April for 2 weeks - our first time in Barbados. The resort itself was very well laid out, lots of greenery, palm trees, etc leading to the absolutely superb beach. Resort not too big, with all restaurants etc close to rooms, but enough pool space for 2 lively girls. Went with 10 year and 9 year old girls along with our friends. The pools are mainly for the children while the beach is better for the adults - lovely rough sea providing plenty of fun - although when we went, would say that the sea is too rough for any children under 5, which is where the pools come in - we loved the rough sea and the best bit about the South Coast was the cooling (and constant) breeze that cools everything down to a bearable level - we went up to the West Coast to visit Sister Hotel Crystal Cove and was glad we didn't stay there - no greenery in the Hotel Grounds and the beach was unbearably hot (even for my sun worshipping husband) with sand too hot for bare feet! Turtle Beach is a safe resort too for children with all pools and amenties on one flat level (no stairs to trip on) so the children could safely play in the pool while we lounged on the beach and the distance/walk between the two was such that no-one could go missing.... Only drawback to the rough sea while we were there that the watersports were not operating at the Hotel (apart from 2 days), althouugh further down the Beach they seemed to operate on more days, but you could have walked down there and paid for banana boat, catamaran and jetskis. Rooms were very spacious, bright and clean, food was very good in all the restaurants - service typically carribean a bit slow but never rude, although the bar staff could definitely be a bit more friendly - Maradonna and Tyson were the best by a mile, only complaint was that perhaps the bars closed too early, everything was all over by 11.30 to midnight ... However, resort very close to St Lawrence Gap where there were plenty of good restaurants and bars, all of which we visited served excellent food from the pricier Pisces (wonderful location overlooking the bay, nicely presented food) to the very reasonable Cool Runnings - barbecue with laid back jazz tunes.... A couple we met spent the last 4 days of the hols at the Almond Beach Village on the West Coast which was a much larger resort with 10 pools and calm sea good for snorkelling, however they phoned us to say they wished they had stayed at Turtle Beach, as the rooms at AB were far more pokier and the resort itself too large..... All in all Turtle Beach is an excellent hotel situated on a superb beach (and no tussles for the sun loungers which were plentiful)....

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BeautyBird27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2005

Have just spent 14 days holiday with my young family at this beautiful resort. A bit concerned after reading previous comments, need not have been. Our room was large, clean and very comfortable. The food was excellent especially the Italian where my husband and I ate several times. Our two boys of 9 and 4 loved the excellent kids club and friendly staff. The beach was lovely although the sea was a bit rough at times but we expected this being on the south coast. The waves only added to the kids enjoyment. The staff were all very friendly and helpful throughout the resort. Can't wait to return next April!.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank shipmates657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 20, 2005

Have just returned from 10 nights at the turtle beach with my wife and 4 year old daughter. The hotel was superb, staff were extremely friendly and willing to assit all they could. We had ocean front room which was huge, very clean and light.
First time to the carribean after travelling a lot around the indian ocean. Whilst this hotel was not on par with some similar class hotels from here it more than made up for this in friendliness and atmosphere.
The food was excellent, good choice and very well presented. My daughter met 3/4 friends in first couple of days and after that we couldn't keep her out of the excellent kids club. This allowed us to become a couple again and dine alone in the excellent italian resturant.
Enjoyed the use of the well equipped gym and tennis courts prior to breakfast. The pools could have been clearer and as the day went on they got more and more murky. The sea was rough, but this allowed for some great boggie boarding.
Already looking to book to go to the carribean next year, it will be hard not to return to the turtle beach.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 18, 2005

Just returned from Turtle Beach. We went with a 6 year old son and 1 year old daughter. Kids Club was good for my son. He went in nearly every night for dinner and movie time...

Food was very good - lunchtime buffet in the Waterfront Restaurant got a bit boring - same food every lunchtime. Didn't cater too well for my 1 year old. But they did serve children's meals. Excellent buffets and a la carte meals in the evening. Very slow service - but apparently this is normal in the carribean....

We had an Ocean Front Room - excellent setting, room was spacious and clean. The bath was a bit grotty, but shower worked OK. Cleaned daily and sheets changed every other day.

It's worth a trip out to the Crystal Cove and Tamarind Cove to take a look at what the other hotels in the chain offer.

Most of the staff were really friendly. Would certainly consider going back again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 10, 2005

I just got married at the Turtle Beach Resort last week. The hotel is very quaint. It's not a new resort so don't expect it to be, but the rooms are very clean and charming. The food was very good as well. The only complaint I have is that children were allowed to take up bar stools while adults stood and they took over the pools. I think one of the pools should be reserved for adults. Also, the pool could have been cleaned more. The water was certainly maintained chemically, however, it should have been vacuumed more regularly. The male staff was extremely kind and eager to please, although, SOME of the female staff was less than eager to help you out. Juanita and Dwayne were very helpful and took care of all the wedding arrangements. Also, Nigel was extremely helpful and attentive with our luggage and room assignments. Hats off to Maradona and Tyson who were great about tending bar.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dover
0.1 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,029 reviews
10.3 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
3.4 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 8 in Saint Michael Parish
3,608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
2,483 reviews
7.9 mi away
Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels
Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels
#7 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,796 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
#10 of 51 in Christ Church Parish
1,963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels

Property: Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
Address: Dover, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > Dover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"A vibrant blend of contemporary style and informal elegance." A truly magnificent all-inclusive property of 161 rooms situated on a glorious stretch of the south coast of Barbados. Turtle Beach Resort uniquely combines contemporary style, informal elegance, lively atmosphere and a superb range of facilities suitable for all ages, including a supervised kids Club (for children aged 4-12) setting new standards for all-inclusive holidays to the Caribbean. Complimentary WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Beach By Elegant Hotel Dover
Turtle Beach Barbados
Turtle Beach Resort Barbados
Hotel Turtle Beach
Turtle Beach By Elegant Hotels Barbados/Dover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing