We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd Time Around”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Dover
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 11, 2014

This was our second vacation to Barbados. Loved it the 1st time so went back for more. This time we booked the all inclusive with Denise from The Tropical Travelers and it made all of the difference in the world. When we arrived we were greated at the airport by Rose who was assigned as our own "personal concieger" and then on arrival at the hotel we received a very warm welcome from the staff at Turtle Beach. Rose spent time with us and help us plan our excursions and she personally called and booked the excursion and transportation for all events. Hotel was great and we had a wonderful ocean view. The staff was extremely helpful and curtious. This was a wonderful vacation! Thank you Denise and The Tropical Travelers for making it everything we were looking for!

Room Tip: Great view of the ocean from the upper rooms. Rooms with king beds are very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
8  Thank Donna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,749)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,040 - 1,046 of 2,749 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2014

This has been the best hotel l have stayed in for the food quility, we were there in may this year, the staff were very nice and friendly, the room was very clean and spacious, The birds that came in the restaurant were a bit annoying but other than that it was fine, we used the buses at the end of the street very cheap. Plenty of good restaurants to eat in outside of the Hotel.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor, 500 yds from the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank 466lesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

I read the positive reviews and based most of my descion on them for picking this resort. Upon arriving at the hotel , its nothing amazing . Looks more like a motel and service to match. We booked a room for a family of 4 and got a Jr suite which had 1 king and 1 full size sofa bed. Which was not what I expected. I tried complain ing but was told I can upgrade to a 1 bedroom suite Ofcourse for more money. That bothered me. The service is bad especially if your American like me. I would think with a 4 star rating it would be exceptional but not close. Every negative review on here I have had the same exact problem. I would not come back to this " resort" the service is lacking don't know if they are short staffed , lazy or just hate their jobs. You order a drink from the BAR with maybe 10 people seated for lunch and it takes 10-15 minutes to get it. I learned if you want it get it yourself. Food was ok nothing to brag about . Read the negative first because you will experience everything just like us!!!

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
7  Thank ideliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TracessYarde, Guest Relations Manager at Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2014

Dear Reviewer: ideliver

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at Turtle Beach Resort.

We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations and you were disappointed with your holiday. Our Business Philosophy focuses on providing exceptional service and hospitality and we usually receive high praise in this area from our guests. We will continue to emphasize the importance of outstanding customer service and its positive impact on guest satisfaction in our training sessions.

We are sorry that your allocated room did not meet your expectations. Please understand that rooms are assigned according to guest bookings. Therefore, if the booking is for an Ocean View Junior Suite this is what will be provided. If a guest requests an upgrade from a Junior Suite to a One Bedroom Suite an additional fee is required as it is of a higher category.

We do hope to welcome you back to Turtle Beach Resort in the future where we will aspire to change your negative opinion of us into a positive one.


Yours Sincerely,

Tracess Yarde

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

We stayed with our two children in a sea view suite for my 40th birthday. We had a bottle of bubbly on arrival, nice touch, the staff were all fantastic cleaning your plate as soon as you finished. Buffet for breakfast was fantastic my son loved the waffle machine. Slight negative birds in the restaurant very annoying!! Water front dining you were served and chose your meal. Italian was good just food rich but that's a personal thing nothing against the hotel. We went to the crystal cove sister hotel was meant to be a better hotel but we preferred turtle beach. Little tip, snorkel boat trip to see turtles fantastic, don't book with Virgin it is more money and the trip isn't as long so book direct with hotel. We would go back again.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank phillip y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TracessYarde, Guest Relations Manager at Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2014

Dear Reviewer: phillip y

Thank you for taking the time to post this review about your recent stay at Turtle Beach Resort.

We are extremely happy that you had such an enjoyable vacation and you were made to feel extra special for your birthday. Thank you for your kind comments regarding the food selections. We are delighted that the waffle machine was favored by your son.

We are aware that the birds are a bit of a nuisance to some of our guests, although others encourage their presence by feeding them regularly. Please be assured that we are exploring ways to reduce their presence in the restaurants.

We eagerly anticipate welcoming you back to Barbados and Turtle Beach Resort where our warm Barbadian hospitality and sea and sun will be awaiting you!


Yours Sincerely,

Tracess Yarde

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

Travelled as a family of 4 to TB in May and stayed for 11 nights
All in all had a brilliant time staff extremely helpful but you must bear in mind you are in Barbados and they have a much slower approach to anything than we do.
Used the public buses and reggae buses to get around very easy and 2 dollars wherever you go.
Went on 3 Virgin trips all very good the island tour interesting and includes lunch, harbour lights one evening an excellent evening so pleased we went and then the catamaran trip to swim with the turtles again another brilliant trip.
We tried all of the restaurants in the hotel all ok could always find something to eat, the only problem we found was the birds at meal times and to all of us they were a big problem which really does need addressing.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone we met some really nice people and had a lovely holiday

Stayed: May 2014
4  Thank KGS2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TracessYarde, Guest Relations Manager at Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2014

Dear Reviewer: KGS2014

Thank you for taking the time to post this review about your stay at Turtle Beach Resort.

It is pleasing to know that you had such a brilliant time at the resort and thoroughly enjoyed all of your trips and activities across the island. We recognize that the birds are a bit of a nuisance to some of our guests, although others encourage them by feeding them regularly. Please be assured that we are exploring ways to reduce their presence in the restaurants at mealtimes.

We hope to welcome you back to Turtle Beach Resort in the near future where our warm Barbadian hospitality and sea and sun awaits you once more!


Yours Sincerely,

Tracess Yarde

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stayed here with our two children in a one bedroom sea view suite. You are given a warm welcome with drinks. The rooms are very modern with an amazing view of the sea. There are three pools including a splash pool which is perfect for young children. The food is amazing with buffet food at breakfast, lunch and dinner. With the choice to book other restaurants. The grill food to order at lunch is very good. Evening entertainment was good as was the kids club which keeps the young ones amused and the staff are so friendly here and all round the hotel. The beach is amazing with white soft sand. The only slight negative thing which was resolved very quickly and we were moved to a larger room and refunded for one night was the air conditioning unit leaked. The hotel did everything it could and was just one of those things that can't be helped. This didn't effect our stay and overall we had an amazing holiday and will be back one day! Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Sea view is a must the view is beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TracessYarde, Guest Relations Manager at Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2014

Dear Reviewer: Matt H

Thank you for posting this review about your recent stay at Turtle Beach Resort. We are extremely pleased that you were happy with so many aspects of your stay, including the rooms, pools, food, entertainment, Kids’ Club, staff and the beach.

We apologize for the issue you experienced with your air conditioning unit but we are very glad that you were satisfied with the way the matter was resolved.

We eagerly anticipate your return to Barbados and Turtle Beach Resort where our warm Barbadian hospitality and sea and sun awaits you!


Yours Sincerely,

Tracess Yarde

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

I am sure when you scroll down through the reviews for this hotel you are only going to see excellent reviews, the reason for this is because this hotel is truly wonderful.
We stayed for one week and had a wonderful time. The staff are extremely friendly, we had an ocean view room and it was lovely, perfect size room, nice balcony, really good aircon.

The food and drinks are excellent, every night there is a different themed buffet, the quality of the food is very high. The evening entertainment was really good finishing at 10pm.

The beach is lovely, the sea is choppy due to natural currents and positioning but great for boggie boards which you can get from the Water Sports Hut.

It is well worth getting a day pass to ‘Crystal Cove’ a sister hotel about 20mins away, the sea there is completely calm and they offer water skiing, rings and banana boat free of charge.

Ok so the only minus point about the hotel is the A la Carte Italian Restaurant, you have to wear trousers in a non air conditioned restaurant, not a pleasant experience and the food wasn’t as good as the buffet food which is excellent.

Overall a lovely hotel *****

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Paulous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TracessYarde, Guest Relations Manager at Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2014

Dear Reviewer: Paulous

We wish to thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review about your stay at Turtle Beach Resort.

We truly appreciate the wonderful comments about our staff, rooms, food, beverages, entertainment, beach and the option of a complimentary day pass to the Crystal Cove hotel. We recognize that our guests have their own personal tastes and preferences regarding the Asiagos restaurant. While we receive many positive reviews about this restaurant we respect and appreciate that others may not enjoy it as much. We have noted your suggestion for a more relaxed dress code in Asiagos, but have found that most guests prefer the elegantly casual dress code for this particular restaurant as it lends to the ambience and romance which the restaurant emanates.

We hope to welcome you back to Turtle Beach Resort in the future where our warm Barbadian hospitality and sea and sun await you!


Yours Sincerely,

Tracess Yarde

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dover
3.4 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 6 in Bridgetown
3,816 reviews
8.4 mi away
Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
0.8 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
2,622 reviews
7.9 mi away
Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels
Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels
#6 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,860 reviews
7.3 mi away
Waves Hotel & Spa by Elegant Hotels
Waves Hotel & Spa by Elegant Hot...
#4 of 26 in Saint James Parish
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels

Address: Dover, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > Dover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Dover
Price Range: $407 - $1,286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"A vibrant blend of contemporary style and informal elegance." A truly magnificent all-inclusive property of 161 rooms situated on a glorious stretch of the south coast of Barbados. Turtle Beach Resort uniquely combines contemporary style, informal elegance, lively atmosphere and a superb range of facilities suitable for all ages, including a supervised kids Club (for children aged 4-12) setting new standards for all-inclusive holidays to the Caribbean. Complimentary WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Beach By Elegant Hotel Dover
Turtle Beach Barbados
Turtle Beach Resort Barbados
Hotel Turtle Beach
Turtle Beach By Elegant Hotels Barbados/Dover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing