We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“i did not think it could get beter”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Dover
Certificate of Excellence
Magor, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“i did not think it could get beter”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

little bit late on my review but we all have to work when we come back after staying a full month at turtle beach.i have just come back after spending my 5th Christmas and new year at turtle beach with my 10 year old daughter,and ive got to say I did not think it could get better so wrong I was.firstly I would like to thank Sophia and her staff from the kids club they do a fantastic job,as a single father I am very very protective but Sophia and her staff put me to rest as my daughter was treated like there own the childrens entertainment is 2nd to none a big thank you ladys.i also want to say a big thank you to Charles and the girls at the desk they made me and Shannon very very welcome and so with all there guests once again Charles thank you.i was recamended turtle beach from james at best at travel five years ago and ive been there every year since.there is so many things u can do on the island but I believe it starts with were you stay.the turtle beach as all of them facilities.captain sam is in charge of all the water sports and the beach and let me say what a gentleman he is,sam and his team go out of there way to make sure your holiday is so special.all water sports are free as well.i see people go on about food etc,the food is 2nd to none breakfast.lunch and dinner has all diif menues.there are 3 diff restraunts my fav is waterfront but saying that the Italian upstairs is as well.as a repeted guest on arivel I had a bottle of champayne and a bottle of Barbados finest rum which I found a lovely touch thank u rylan. Christmas day was the beast ever,father Christmas comeing in on the jet ski and giving out presents to all the children at the resort.then there was a Barbados school choir omg brought tears to my eyes it was so lovely.me and my daughter went back to our room then to find presents on our beds it was a lovely touch all the men it the resort had a dressing gown with there names on them so touching.the whole experience was lovely I have met some lovely friends as well this chrismas there are a lot of us going back.once again I would like to thank Hillaryand his team and alisia at the waterfont restraunt what a gentleman he does a fantastic job makeing sure that all guests are looked after.if any one would like any information about turtle beach please you can email me on kingstv1@hotmail.co.uk once a gain a big big thank you to Charles, rylan,dawn,hilarry david,damian,marrodana,diane,alisia,stephen and sam and all the team at turtle beach and of course Philip who is head of security

Room Tip: ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stephen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TracessYarde, Guest Relations Manager at Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Stephen K: Thank you for posting such a detailed and very nice review about your fifth vacation at the Turtle Beach Resort. It was our staff’s pleasure to ensure that you and your daughter were well taken care of and we are delighted that you were more than satisfied with our efforts.

We are very pleased that you continue to enjoy our food year after year, and are genuinely appreciative of our incentives for our valued repeat guests. Our Christmas Day program was carefully organized to spread joy to our guests and we are happy that we were able to achieve this goal.

We are very pleased that your stays at Turtle Beach Resort keep getting better and better and we will be sure to convey your heartfelt thanks to the staff. We eagerly look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the next Christmas season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,397
    839
    263
    113
    65
See reviews for
986
1,052
13
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (694)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
widnes
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

We visited turtle beach in jan 2013. We loved it so much we are going back in feb. the best hotel we have stayed at, and we have visited some lovely places including a water villa in the Maldives, but nothing compares to this lovely hotel, great staff, great food/drinks, great location, great everything. Can't wait to return. Love it.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank gelwidnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TracessYarde, Guest Relations Manager at Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear gelwidnes: Thank you for writing this brief but very flattering review about your stay at Turtle Beach Resort last year.

We are delighted that you loved the resort’s staff, food, beverages and its location and have found none better in all your travels.

We eagerly anticipate welcoming you back to Turtle Beach Resort very soon and aspire to make your next vacation experience even better than the first!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Myself and my wife had a great week here,friendly staff ,very clean , food good,
The guys on the beach were great at captain SAMs in fact sam went out of his way to make our holiday good ,all round a good week.

Room Tip: There all good ,our was right by the beach first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ken Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TracessYarde, Guest Relations Manager at Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Ken Y: Thank you for your brief but very nice review about your stay at Turtle Beach Resort. We are pleased that you loved the resort’s general cleanliness, tasty food and our friendly and helpful staff, in particular Captain Sam and his team.

We invite you to return to Turtle Beach Resort where we intend to make you fall in love with the resort all over again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Third time in Barbados and second time at Turtle Beach. So glad we went back and will return again. Staff very friendly, room spacious and clean, food excellent and Captain Sam's team were very helpful and patient.
We enjoyed everything especially walking along the lovely beach in the sunshine at 6:30 each morning.
As we had explored most of the island tourist attractions on previous visits we just lazed on the beach watching the surf roll in. The one attraction we did visit was the recently opened Garrison Historic Centre which we thoroughly enjoyed and would recommend it as it told the historic links between Barbados, England and the USA.
As a retired couple we felt very safe walking outside the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank David_and_Julia2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TracessYarde, Guest Relations Manager at Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear David_and_Julia2: Thank you for writing this lovely review about your second stay at Turtle Beach Resort. It pleases us to know that the staff, the room, the food and our beach where you enjoyed those early morning walks, were all highlights of your vacation.

We are glad that you visited the Garrison Historic Centre where you gained knowledge of our country’s history. We eagerly anticipate welcoming you back to Turtle Beach Resort where our warm Barbadian hospitality will be awaiting you once more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We went to Barbados and stayed here at turtle beach hotel. The hotel was great and the staff were very polite and helpful. The kids club helped us with our 2 boys so they were out of the hot sun in the afternoon. The kids club was great both of love it and the staff in there are very friendly and helpful.

The whole complex was great and right on the beach, the food is different every day and very well prepared and the kids food were able to eat early and entertainment in the evening is great.

The staff in the restaurants again very helpful and polite and always helped out when ask.

Would really recommend this hotel and Barbados, it's a great place to go and very friendly people.

Thanks to the hotel staff for our great stay and looking after the 2 boys throughout the 2 weeks we were there.

Thanks again.

The Lad Family (UK)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JayL L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TracessYarde, Guest Relations Manager at Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear JayL L: Thank you for posting such a nice review about your enjoyable stay at Turtle Beach Resort.

We are very pleased that you found our staff to be so polite and helpful, particularly those in the Kids’ Club. We are glad that you also enjoyed the food and the variety offered as well as the evening entertainment.

We truly hope to see you and the entire family again in the near future, where we await you with our warm Barbadian hospitality!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We spent 10 days at the Turtle Beach resort over Xmas 2013 , and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Our rooms were newly renovated and very nice and spacious. The beach was beautiful, although be forewarned that it is on the south coast of Barbados and the water can be rough, but it was great for sailing and boogie boarding, not for snorkelling. The staff at the hotel were very accommodating and happy to get you whatever you needed. Service was excellent. The food was also quite good and there was a wide variety of dishes that changed every day so you didn't get bored. They are constantly doing improvements to the property, which we noticed after new years , as they brought in all new gym equipment , new furniture in the lounge and beautiful new umbrellas. We were a large group and everyone seemed to really enjoy themselves

Room Tip: Ask for renovated rooms . We were on the fourth floor overlooking the garden and ocean with a great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jessemil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TracessYarde, Guest Relations Manager at Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Jessemil: Thank you for posting a review about your enjoyable Christmas vacation at Turtle Beach Resort. We are genuinely delighted that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay, particularly your newly renovated rooms, the beautiful beach, the friendly and service-oriented staff and the tasty food.

We are happy that you noticed the changes on the property as we constantly aspire to improve our facilities and services for our guests. We sincerely hope to welcome you back to the Turtle Beach Resort in the near future where you will find even more awaiting you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

The location to the secluded beach is the high point of this hotel. When we were there no problem getting a great spot on the beach. Food was nice but they need to control the birds in the dining room. There mess and scavenging was off putting. Room was a good size and well appointed. Having the bar/snack hut beside the beach and pool was nice. Meals can be had here. The staff were on top of people going in to the sea and ensuring they kept out of danger . Boogie boards were available to surf the waves. The sea was good to swim in as long as it is not too rough.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TracessYarde, Guest Relations Manager at Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Neil M: Thank you for posting a review about your stay at Turtle Beach Resort. We are very pleased that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay such as the beach, food, room, bar hut and the beach staff.

We are examining ways to reduce the presence of the birds at meal times; however in the meantime we ask guests not to leave their meals unattended. It is a continuous struggle as some guests like the birds and feed them which encourages their presence. We are also very mindful to keep the food on our buffets covered at all times as we always put the health of our guests first.

We hope to welcome you back to Turtle Beach Resort in the near future where we await you with our warm Barbadian hospitality!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dover
0.1 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,052 reviews
10.3 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
3.4 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 8 in Saint Michael Parish
3,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
2,517 reviews
7.9 mi away
Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels
Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels
#8 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,806 reviews
9.3 mi away
The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa
The Club, Barbados Resort and Sp...
#10 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels

Property: Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
Address: Dover, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > Dover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"A vibrant blend of contemporary style and informal elegance." A truly magnificent all-inclusive property of 161 rooms situated on a glorious stretch of the south coast of Barbados. Turtle Beach Resort uniquely combines contemporary style, informal elegance, lively atmosphere and a superb range of facilities suitable for all ages, including a supervised kids Club (for children aged 4-12) setting new standards for all-inclusive holidays to the Caribbean. Complimentary WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Beach By Elegant Hotel Dover
Turtle Beach Barbados
Turtle Beach Resort Barbados
Hotel Turtle Beach
Turtle Beach By Elegant Hotels Barbados/Dover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing