We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tired Turtle Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dover
Certificate of Excellence
Stocton-on-Tees
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Tired Turtle Beach”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

We have just spent Christmas in Turtle Beach we were really disappointed, food quality, choice and presentation terrible. Waterfront restaurant at lunchtime was dirty,chaotic and disorganised troughs of food that was cold and unappetising, salad selection was pitiful , soup like dishwater. Appeared to be lots of bosses milling around talking but not doing anything I could of organised it better myself. A La Carte was spotless and very well presented but again food cold and unappetising, Christmas Dinner was disgraceful freezing cold and overcooked, our only saviour every night was cheese and biscuits to fill up on. On a positive note entertainment was fabulous 8pm until 10pm every night just a shame it finished so early, the place went dead after that not even any quiet background music. Beach staff were very helpful and friendly, sunbeds on beach very comfortable but could do with a good scrub. We went to Asiagos A la Carte Restaurant twice service was slow but we were not in any rush, even though both times there was hardly any one in, food was really poor yet again. Breakfast is a bun fight people queuing trying to make reservations for evening and we are all waiting to be seated for Breakfast.
Toilet facilities really poor only one Ladies and Gents toilet to accommodate beach, pool and Waterfront Restaurant and they are not very clean at all, towel machine in Ladies broken for the whole time we were there. Needless to say we will not be returning.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Dee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TracessYarde, Guest Relations Manager at Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Dee S: Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay at the Turtle Beach Resort. We are sorry that although you enjoyed some aspects of your stay, such as our staff and the entertainment, we did not meet your expectations in all areas.

We respect and appreciate that individuals have different tastes and preferences regarding food, and while some may enjoy the food, others may not enjoy it as much. We do wish, though, that you had informed us about your disappointment while you were still at the resort, as it would have given us the opportunity to prepare personalized meals for you. It is not our standard to serve cold and overcooked food to our guests, and we do apologize if this was your experience. Please also accept our apologies if you experienced slow service while dining in our restaurants. We will continue to stress the importance of quick service at our departmental meetings. We have recently introduced a Dinner Reservations desk in the Activities office which has minimized the queuing in the restaurants. The Waterfront restaurant has been recently refurbished and we are in the process of renovating the bathrooms. After our nightly entertainment soft background music is played in the bar until its closure at 1am. Please understand that the resort is family-oriented and while some guests prefer for the entertainment to end later, there are guests with young children who prefer it to end earlier.

Be assured that we will continue to focus on our Business Philosophy and its commitment to achieving high guest satisfaction levels. Please let us know if you change your mind and decide to visit the Turtle Beach Resort once again so that we can grasp the opportunity to make up for your disappointment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,342
    807
    252
    112
    61
See reviews for
931
1,018
13
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (663)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful place , lovely people , perfect location . Worth upgrading to a suit though theres a big difference to standard rooms . Family hotel in the middle of paradise would definitely recommend . Will go back

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JDLCP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TracessYarde, Guest Relations Manager at Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear JDLCP: Thank you for posting a review about your honeymoon at the Turtle Beach Resort. It is very pleasing to know that you enjoyed our staff, the resort’s location and particularly our island paradise.

We hope to welcome you back to the Turtle Beach Resort for your Wedding Anniversary or even sooner. Wishing you a blissful marriage and a healthy, prosperous and happy 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

No doubt there are many positive reviews for this resort the staff are friendly yet professional the food is superb for an all inclusive resort the entertainment varied and above all the children have an absolute ball- st Lawrence gap is a favourite of ours the sea has slightly more swell than the west coast
We had an issue with the room we had allocated and they moved us without the drama- the resort has many repeat visitors and now we've been there we can see why we're going back next year!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Propertytroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TracessYarde, Guest Relations Manager at Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Propertytroll: Thank you for posting this review about your enjoyable stay at the Turtle Beach Resort. We are delighted that you were especially pleased with the food, entertainment, beach and the staff at the resort. It gladdens us to know that your children had a fantastic time also.

We look forward to welcoming all of you back as our valued repeat guests to Turtle Beach Resort later in the year! Have a healthy, prosperous and happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

Some people are easy to please.
We stayed over Xmas and I cannot describe it as value for money or 4 star.
The place is in need of a serious face lift - old beach loungers, poor quality sheets and towels (2 days without any hand towels or bath mats), no slippers or gowns provided, aging bathrooms with inadequate showers.
The common areas were better but I was not impressed by the pools and would hardly describe it as a resort.
However my biggest complaint would be the food. We have never been all inc before and I did not have high hopes but neither did I expect to lose weight. The lunch buffet was disgusting - metal vats of pot noodles, overcooked rice, poor quality chicken and overcooked un-named fish - even greasy beef stew one day. There was absolutely no rhyme or reason to it and it needs rethinking. Sticking to a simple beach barbecue would have been much more effective.
The evening meals were almost as disappointing and I would not recommend the Italian restaurant which we visited twice. On both occasions we had to wait ages for main courses despite few customers and on the second occasion our food was cold. One couple walked out after the starter.
Evening entertainment was good and children seemed to be enjoying themselves. Some of the staff were extremely pleasant especially front of house and beach staff.
We will not be returning and friends staying at Colony Club and Mango had much better experiences

Room Tip: someocean view rooms on the fourth floor have lovely big balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TracessYarde, Guest Relations Manager at Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear KimB: Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay at the Turtle Beach Resort. We are sorry that while you were pleased with some aspects of your stay such as the entertainment and our pleasant staff, we did not meet your expectations in other areas.

The resort has been recently refurbished with new equipment and furnishings as we continuously aim to beautify the property as often as possible. We have also now completed renovations on one of our pools, resulting in lots of positive feedback. It is our standard to place fresh towels and mats in the rooms daily and we ask you to accept our apologies if you did not receive this service. Slippers and gowns are not included in our all-inclusive package; however we are presently considering including slippers in the near future. We respect and appreciate that individuals have their own personal tastes and preferences regarding cuisine; hence while some persons may enjoy the dining options, others may not enjoy them as much. We would have been happy to prepare special dishes for you if you had made us aware of your personal tastes. Our Business Philosophy focuses on delivering exceptional customer service, so it is with regret to hear that you waited long periods for your dinner. Be assured that we will re-focus on the Business Philosophy as we continue to strive for high guest satisfaction levels.

We encourage you to let us know if you plan to return so we can grasp the opportunity to make up for your disappointment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

Our second stay in this hotel, we loved it so much the first time. This year, nov 2013, we came to get married on the beach. The whole holiday was perfect, from arriving to leaving. Didn't want to come home. The staff are brilliant, the food is top quality, our room was the perfect size for two. They even remembered our faces and that was two years previously! Amazing. Felt so at home and relaxed, wish we could live there

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TracyB504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TracessYarde, Guest Relations Manager at Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear TracyB504: Thank you for taking the time to post this review about your Wedding and Honeymoon at the Turtle Beach Resort. It was truly a pleasure ensuring that your special day was one of the best of your life. We are genuinely pleased that you loved everything that we had to offer and we were able to make you feel at home and relaxed once again.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Turtle Beach Resort in the near future. Take care and have a healthy, prosperous and happy 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

I chose this hotel as the location for my wedding and our group had 22 guests. We stayed between 30 November and 10 December

I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough! Firstly the staff are wonderful, they are always smiling and cannot do enough to help you. Captain Sam on the beach is a legend and kept the male members of our group occupied every day with water sports, his boys kept everyone happy with drinks and made sure all our group had sun beds reserved every day so we could all sunbathe together!

The food is the best I have ever had as part of an all inclusive holiday there was something for everyone and the menu was different every day, this was in the waterfront/Chelonia. The only critisism I have around the food is the meal in the Italian al a carte resturant was very bad and several of our group didn't get their food for up to an hour after ordering it with other members already on desert, the food was also cold and not as nice as the main resturants however when we complained the hotel took this on board.

The rooms in this hotel are lovely, several of our guests had poolside rooms however my husband and I had a garden view which had a stunning view and I definatley recommend an upgrade if you can afford it. The rooms are cleaned every day and are very spacious and modern

We had assistance planning our wedding by kinda dukett and she was amazing! We had been exchanging emails for nearly a year leading up to the wedding and she exceeded our expectations when it came to the day, nothing was too much trouble and she ensured the day ran smoothly and took everything out of our hands so it was stress free! I would also like to mention Sandra Parris and Rodney sealy who also assisted in the smooth running of our wedding and couldn't have done anymore to help. Our wedding took place on the beach and the decoration was amazing, we had the arch and chairs to match our chosen colour, we then had a cocktail reception in the garden area before moving onto our reception dinner which was a beach barbecue on the beach under a marquee and looked absolutely beautiful! The food was again amazing and there was so much we couldn't eat it all!

There is a salon on the hotel grounds and I highly recommend getting a massage there it was one of the best I have ever had! I also recommend the lady who does the hair and make up for the wedding she was wonderful and the prices were very reasonable. I did have my nails done in the salon however I wasn't happy with the result and when I complained to reception they were taken off my bill and I received an apologetic phone all from the salon owner. In relation to this one of the receptionists at the hotel front desk has a family member who owns a salon and arranged for me to attend and have my nails re done for a very good price as well as arranged for the taxi to and from (this was on the morning of my wedding!)

All in all a brilliant holiday and a fantastic location for my wedding, I will 100% be returning to this hotel and in the process of making arrangements to do so already as are the rest of my guests! We all had such an amazing time! Thank you turtle beach! X

Room Tip: The garden view rooms have stunning views of the garden and beach and are quieter than poolside
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TracessYarde, Guest Relations Manager at Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Carley P: Thank you for posting such a detailed review about the wonderful time you had at the Turtle Beach Resort. It was our sincerest pleasure to ensure you had the wedding and honeymoon of your dreams. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed so many aspects of your vacation such as our friendly and helpful staff, delicious food, lovely rooms and the treatments at our Crystal Executive Salon & Spa. We constantly aspire to provide our guests with an exceptional vacation experience and are delighted to know that you and your wedding party had such an enjoyable time.

We eagerly anticipate welcoming you all back soon to the Turtle Beach Resort! Wishing you the best of health, prosperity and happiness for the New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

We visited turtle beach for New Year for a 10 day stay. On arrival our initial reaction was that the property was a little tired and below what we would expect for the cost. However by day 2 our feelings about the hotel had changed completely. The hotel is kept very clean, the staff are excellent and the food very very good for an AI resort - with plenty of fresh fruit, vegetables and a variety of dishes. The beach is fantastic and kept clean and safe by the staff. The sea isn't very calm but the waves provide hours of fun and it is closely monitored for safety. The resort is relaxed and very child friendly. There is a general sense of safety on the beach and within the hotel grounds enabling relaxing for children and parents alike. There are a number of return guests at the resort and it's no surprise. New Years Eve was a fantastic night with a vast array of delicious food and brilliant entertainment. Although the wine on the AI is not the best you can order above the all inclusive at very reasonable prices. There are brand spirits and the local lager 'Banks' v good! Overall an excellent place for families and we certainly hope to return next year!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TracessYarde, Guest Relations Manager at Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Bob B: Thank you for posting a review about your enjoyable vacation at the Turtle Beach Resort. We are delighted that you enjoyed everything we had to offer such as our staff, food, beach, grounds, beverages and our New Year’s Eve entertainment. We are especially pleased that you felt safe, secure and comfortable in our child-friendly environment.

We look forward to welcoming you back later this year where you will have the VIP treatment awarded to our repeat guests. We wish you a healthy, prosperous and happy 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dover
0.1 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,959 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 8 in Saint Michael Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,450 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
#11 of 49 in Christ Church Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,926 reviews
7.9 mi away
Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels
Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels
#7 of 26 in Saint James Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,752 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandals Barbados
Sandals Barbados
#4 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels

Property: Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
Address: Dover, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > Dover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"A vibrant blend of contemporary style and informal elegance." A truly magnificent all-inclusive property of 161 rooms situated on a glorious stretch of the south coast of Barbados. Turtle Beach Resort uniquely combines contemporary style, informal elegance, lively atmosphere and a superb range of facilities suitable for all ages, including a supervised kids Club (for children aged 4-12) setting new standards for all-inclusive holidays to the Caribbean. Complimentary WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Kognitiv US Corp, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Beach By Elegant Hotel Dover
Turtle Beach Barbados
Turtle Beach Resort Barbados
Hotel Turtle Beach
Turtle Beach By Elegant Hotels Barbados/Dover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing