We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Dover
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Stayed for two weeks 22nd Nov to 6th Dec. Hotel is in a very good location for easy access to Bridgetown, St. Lawrence Gap and Oistins. Hotel staff were without exception courteous and efficient and made guests feel genuinely welcome. All public areas are clean and well maintained as was our room, number 419. The food was very good with plenty of choice at every meal. Can recommend the rum cocktails - tried them all and it's difficult to choose a favourite! Good beach adjoining hotel where the waves can get rough at times. Captain Sam and his team monitor the beach efficiently and organize the water sports - at least one trip on the Hobie Cat is essential! Getting around the island by public transport is cheap, easy and good fun (particularly on the "reggae" buses). Enjoy the hotel and its excellent facilities but get out to see as much of the island as you can.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Neil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,695)
There are newer reviews for Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,137 - 1,143 of 2,695 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2013

What a great resort! We had 2 children (6 and 2 at the time) and they also had a wonderful time! The staff were very friendly and helpful, the food was lovely with plenty of choice to suit all and the adjoining beach was beautiful. The water gets a bit rough at times but there are safeguards in place and our kids loved the fact that the water was a bit rough at times! Our room was lovely and very clean with a balcony that overlooked the pool and sea and housekeeping done a great job in making it up every day. The entertainment at night was great and varied each night of the week. We renewed our vows whilst there and enjoyed a candlelit dinner on the beach which was second to none! Lonelle was great at making sure we were well looked after, our kids loved her! There was a 30 min wait one morning for breakfast items to be replenished and ended up giving up waiting but other than that our stay was faultless. We will def be returning next year!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Locals4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Our overall experience was excellent the postives about the resort, transfer to and from the resort was professional and enjoyable, check in was efficient and easy, the staff were friendly, caring and very helpful through out our trip. We stayed in an Ocean Deluxe Room #421, the room was clean however it was very noisy not from the pool/beach side but from the open air hallway that faced toward the other resorts and the gap. The music on the pool side generally ended around 10 which was fine, but on Friday night it went till around 2 or 3 and neither of us could sleep, the front desk arranged for us to stay in another room our last night there because we had to get up around 4:00 am to catch or flight home. The ladies in the activities were fabulous and so helpful we so appreciate all their time helping us make this trip memorable. Nigel hooked us up with a fantastic driver for a tour of the island which was awesome we took a guided tour which in no way measured up to the fatastic time we had with Doc Livinginston. We recommend him over Glory Tours any day of the week. Good Times Catamaran was fatastic as well, organized, great food and just a wonderful time. My chief complaint was our view was a little different then what we had anticipated and our room was in a little disrepair, our AC didn't shut off and on correctly our ocean view was obscured by unsightly unmanicured trees which wasn't a huge deal but we paid extra for the view and when we switched room we recieved a smaller room ( room # 201)that had a better view and was clearly refurbished and much more up to date.. Sadly we would have preferred the down scale room so to speak because it was definitely a better quality. We enjoyed the beach the water sports area was terrific the dining area staff were stellar they are extremely nice and made every effort to make our stay pleasent. The evening entertainment was a good time the singers were fantastic. The pool area was clean and well maintained however none of the fountains were operational. Although we are animal lovers to the extreme we noticed that alot of the guests were extremely put off by the birds in the dining area. I think putting bird feeders in the outer areas of the resort would probably cut down on that issue we rescued an baby bird out of one of the fountains we think it fell from a nest but it didn't make it which was very upsetting for me. We didn't use the spa facilities so I can't speak to that I felt the prices were kind of high they are resort prices but the area didn't reflect a resort style flair so I opted to pass on that. We have been to many islands this by far was the most memorable and Bajan's rock! They are gracious, welcoming and wonderful to hang around with...Thanks to all who made this trip awesome.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Beautiful resort with great location, amenities and water sports included. We have children with food allergies and the chefs were very accommodating and professional about customizing special meals for them. The ladies in the kids club were awesome and my kids loved doing activities with them.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Julia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We chose Turtle Beach based on reviews from numerous sites as this was not only our very first all-inclusive vacation, but the first family vacation with our son who was 7 at the time. One of many of the deciding factors for choosing this resort consisted of the rave reviews of the Flying Fish Kids Club, which I have to say are all very accurate. Even though we went at an off-time (mid-November) when kids are still in school, our son LOVED the kids club so much that he specifically requested at least one day that he spend the entire day playing at the club. Sonja was absolutely wonderful not only as an excursion coordinator (she recommended some wonderful excursions for us to take our son on), but she was truly wonderful not only to our son, but to us as well. The buffet food was delicious (just remember to consider that they are cooking for a large number of people) and the a la carte dining was excellent, especially Asiagos. The beach....oh my....the beach! it was absolutely gorgeous and Captain Sam and his crew took such great care of us each and every day. Overall, we had an incredible vacation at Turtle Beach...the only complaint that any of us have is the hard mattresses (we thought the beach chairs were far more comfortable) but that's just a personal preference. All in all, this was a family vacation to be remembered and will be repeated....we were so sad to leave.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mjefly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

This was our 17th return visit to the wonderful Turtle Beach, Barbados.
We had the most amazing 10 day holiday at this fabulous All Inclusive Resort. The staff in the bars and restaurants are always so helpful and Captain Sam & his watersports crew always at hand to do the utmost to ensure our holiday is enjoyable. The very special Maradonna and Daniel serve fresh fruit served on the beach and plenty of ice cold drinks.
The sun shone for the whole 10 days and we met some really great people and had lots of laughs .
We were a family of 4. My son has been going since he was 5, now aged 19 and sometimes we have been a couple of times a year. We have visited February, March, April, October and November throughout our 17 years and some of the staff are still there from our very first visit 14 years ago. Our son has made some excellent friends at Turtle Beach.
I would highly recommend visiting Turtle Beach Resort, a great escape!
On our most recent trip in November, we saw baby Turtles hatching from a nest, something that is just so magical to experience. I have seen this happen on 3 occasions whilst staying at Turtle Beach Resort and it never ceases to amaze me.
Have come back relaxed and refreshed with more wonderful memories.
All I now need is to book my return trip! Thank you all at Turtle Beach Resort!

Room Tip: All rooms are good. If you have small children then a pool view, ground floor room is ideal.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Just come back from 10 days at Turtle Beach resort in Barbados, this was our first visit back to the resort in 10 years and all it is starting to show its age but this is made up for by the excellent food and the great staff with Rodney and Sheryl looking after the dinners, Captain Sam and his beach boys looking after you on the beach and the ever smiling Maradona around the pool and beach making sure you always have a cocktail on the go!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank timkazhughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dover
0.1 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,082 reviews
10.3 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
3.4 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 6 in Bridgetown
3,705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
2,551 reviews
7.9 mi away
Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels
Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels
#6 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,819 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
#10 of 51 in Christ Church Parish
1,984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels

Address: Dover, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > Dover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Dover
Price Range: $391 - $1,266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"A vibrant blend of contemporary style and informal elegance." A truly magnificent all-inclusive property of 161 rooms situated on a glorious stretch of the south coast of Barbados. Turtle Beach Resort uniquely combines contemporary style, informal elegance, lively atmosphere and a superb range of facilities suitable for all ages, including a supervised kids Club (for children aged 4-12) setting new standards for all-inclusive holidays to the Caribbean. Complimentary WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Beach By Elegant Hotel Dover
Turtle Beach Barbados
Turtle Beach Resort Barbados
Hotel Turtle Beach
Turtle Beach By Elegant Hotels Barbados/Dover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing