We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Vacation!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dover
Certificate of Excellence
Stoughton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Vacation!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

We just returned from a week in Turtle Beach form 10/5 - 10/12 and there is absolutely nothing negative we can say. It was fantastic!!! The staff is friendly and go out of their way to help, the food was delicious, the room was beautiful and immaculate. The beach area is without a doubt one of the best I have ever seen. I would highly recommend it andf we will return there again!!!!


Marci Larsen
Berteletti

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marci B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TracessYarde, Guest Relations Manager at Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Reviewer: Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about your stay at Turtle Beach Resort. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us! We truly appreciate the feedback and are happy that our staff members made you feel so special.

We look forward to your return to Turtle Beach Resort, where you can enjoy some more of our warm Barbadian hospitality, delicious meals and our beautiful beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,324
    801
    250
    112
    61
See reviews for
921
1,006
13
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (652)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
norfolk, england
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Stayed at Turtle Beach in September having been to New York for 4ays prior. Before I start the holiday review I must give Virgin Holidays a special mention for their superb service and smooth running of our holiday. They put the package together with me and everything flowed like superbly, all the transfers, flights and hotels....so hats off to them and will definitely use them again. We especially loved the chill out check in service.

Ok so on the hotel. Having been to the Caribbean many times and stayed in Riu type hotels, this was a significant change, being a smaller hotel. Most of which we liked but there are some improvements which could make it better in my opinion.

The good bits.......

No long queues for lunch and breakfast
Very easy to mix with people in a small resort
Beach was lovely
Large rooms
Wifi in the room
Decent size balcony
Personal welcome card in the room
Coffee machine in the room
iPod charger in the room
Personal birthday cards and cake in the room
The people are amazing


The bits could have made things better.....

New sun beds .... Many of the attached shades were broken
Paintwork needs a refresh, but not a major issue
Buffet closed for dinner, due to hotel not being full...... A la carte doesn't suit me personally prefer buffet. Would only have a choice if 3 dishes.
Fridge provided but no drinks in them... It's an all inc hotel, drinks would have been nice.
The birds...oh the birds!!!!! Big problem at breakfast and lunch but not dinner. Have eaten in many open air restaurants and never encountered birds on this level. People and furniture were affected by their actions(If you get my meaning). The staff did all they could but it is not pleasant.
The bar.... They often closed the main bar at night which meant you had to find one which was open. They also tended to close the other bars around 12.00. I am not one for drinking much but occasionally we stayed up and it would have been nice to be able to get a drink.
Would have been nice to have a coffee bar. After meal times it was done on a self serve basis from a a machine which was not the best. A latte would have been great.

In summary.....

Overall we had a fabulous time, the people are amazing, the service was excellent, my hair dryer failed on two occasions but was fixed within minutes. We enjoyed the hotel but have stayed in better 4 star hotels in the Caribbean which is why I have given 3 stars as I believe it reflects the comparison. Would have given 31/2 if I could.

We loved Barbados and many of the things we have marked down would not be an issue for others. We had a brilliant time and the points I have raised would have improved our stay but we did not let it spoil our holiday. The environment, people, location more than made up for it. I would not put people off coming here, it's just personal preference. We met some amazing people and will remain friends with them so we are very thankful for that.
And finally............ THE SUPERSTARS....
Ryan behind the bar
The waiting staff in the restaurants
Most of all........ CAPTAIN SAM AND HIS TEAM.... They are awesome. They really made our holiday, so friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble for them. They took us out on catamaran many times, our sun beds were always ready for us, their manner and demeanour was outstanding. We tend to tip at the end of our holiday when we have received good service so this was not done on the back of tipping. This was genuine excellent service. They are a credit to the hotel.

Room Tip: I believe all rooms are similar
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Davies1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TracessYarde, Guest Relations Manager at Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Reviewer: Thank you for writing this detailed review about your stay at Turtle Beach Resort. We are delighted that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay such as the room and its amenities, the beach, complimentary Wi-Fi, the personalized cards in the room, and most importantly our amazing staff. We do regret, however, that we did not meet your expectations in all areas.

Again, thank you for taking the time to post your feedback and we do hope to welcome you back to Turtle Beach Resort in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

We come to Barbados once a year for a short break. With children we always found the Almond Beach a convenient place to go to, but since they packed up last year and so far no new owner has taken it over, we had to look out for a different location. The Turtle Beach Hotel turned out to be a good alternative. Although the sea is not as calm as on the westside of the island, I would still rate this resort as very good. Especially because of it's staff. If at home you are used to have people organize your life and read every wish off your mind before you even think of it yourself the Sandy Lane would be the better choice. Here we find staff that is very friendly and like what they do. They treat you with respect if you treat them likewise. If as everywhere something does not work at once everybody tries to fix it a.s.a.p. Since we are on holiday we don't mind waiting for things once in a while. Rooms and facilities were better equipped than the Almond Beach (new comfortable beds, fridge, hairdryer, safe). The children' s club is also very nice with friendly childminders who think of a lot of activities away from television and Wii (although it' s available). Since the Sea is not calm it's fun to use boogieboards and windsurf. You are welcomed to join a Hobiesail but due to the waves you can't go out on your own. The Sports facilities are also very good but they haven't got a regular instructor for watergymnastic and yoga early in the morning. Geraldine (who taught at Almond) have you spare time to come and do some lessons over
here? The same applies for the sailing instructor. The one's in this resort are very friendly and good in what they do. But they don't teach you yoga while you are out sailing with them. But I admit that that can not be expected under any circumstances anyway and was just a lucky coincidence at the Almond Beach due to one particular person. Last but not least: Food was very tasty. Lot's of local choices, especially fish, but for the less adventurous there's the western style food of course. Everything is freshly prepared, tasty and not overcooked. And you can easily eat different food every day if you stay for a week. And the Hotel stood up for it's name: during one week we had turtle hatching twice! Exciting is not the word. All in all this hotel is a very good choice to prepare yourself for the long european winter.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TracessYarde, Guest Relations Manager at Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Reviewer: Thank you for posting a review about your wonderful stay at Turtle Beach Resort. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed so many aspects of your vacation such as our rooms, facilities, kids’ club, food, and most importantly the staff. We sincerely appreciate the warm praise for our staff and the amazing service which they provided to you and your family.

We are so happy that you were fortunate to witness turtle-hatching not once but twice during your stay with us as we know it is a very exciting experience. We hope to greet you once again with our warm Barbadian hospitality in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Kentucky
Level Contributor
684 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

I was on a work assignment in Barbados and my host made arrangements for me to stay at the Turtle Beach. I arrived at 11:30 pm on a flight from the states and had had a long day. Upon arrival I was greeted by an upbeat smiling front desk associate that was full of energy and enthusiasm and a warm smile. After checking me in, he personally took my bags and walked me to my room. He made sure that I was comfortable before he left.

I was at the resort for 4 days and I did not lack for anything. All the employees were on top of their games with hospitality courtesies. The meals were excellent, the atmosphere warm and friendly, the ocean and sky views were remarkable and for those staying at the resort, everyone was just having a great time.

Good for families, couples, singles. There is something here for everyone. Would I go back? You bet!

Room Tip: You can have a room that over looks the main dining area and catch the nightlife OR you can ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrMarc9491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TracessYarde, Guest Relations Manager at Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Reviewer: Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Turtle Beach Resort. It truly pleases us to know that although your trip was work-related, our staff, the food, the scenery and the pleasant atmosphere, allowed you to relax and enjoy yourself.

We eagerly anticipate your return to Turtle Beach Resort where our staff will be greeting you with our warm Barbadian hospitality once more!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

We had a room on the 4th floor lovely views but a bit of a climb in the heat! There was only one lift in this section of the building.
Rooms are confortable, not sure what the previous comments are about with the shower in the bathroom? We had no issues at all.
One thing that hits you straight away are the friendly staff, and a generally clean resort, right on the beach
Just a few negatives.. first if you are a smoker be prepared for very limited smoking areas. you cannot smoke on your balcony, only in designated areas, The Turtle Beach should make this much clearer before you book, I would not have chosen this resort if I had realised the lack of smoking areas.
Secondly we spoke to several other holiday makers who were also unhappy about the pre booking of evening meals, with the excetion of buffet meals all evening meals had to be pre-booked. This became rather tedius when you just want to chill on holiday and go down for your meal when you wanted to. Perhaps it was because it was low season and they didnt want to open all the restaurants every day and staff them with just a few guests in. But I thought the idea is that they fit in with the holiday maker not the other way round!
Not sure where the adult area was as children appeared to be in every pool?
Be prepared for large wedding parties, not just the odd one, but several. Obviously a popular place to get married, So if you are looking for something intimate and quiet, The Turtle Beach Resort is not.
A nice enough hotel in general the food quality was good , drinks service a little hit and miss but hey you are in the caribbean. Thought it very much overpriced for what you get compared to ther resorts in the caribbean. Wouldn't rush back, lots of other places to see.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room with good views. All but the rooms very close to reception are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank IntrepidAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TracessYarde, Guest Relations Manager at Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Reviewer: Thank you for posting your feedback about your stay at Turtle Beach Resort. We are pleased that you enjoyed most aspects of your vacation with us, such as the rooms, beach, grounds, food and our friendly staff. We are, however, apologetic that we did not meet your expectations in all areas.

The smoking policy at the resort - which restricts persons from smoking in buildings or in any construct with a rooftop - is the legal policy which was implemented by the Barbadian Government in 2010. We hope this law does not deter you from visiting our beautiful country in the future. We regret that you were unhappy about pre-booking your à-la-carte meals; however that system is in place to provide order and efficiency to the guest’s dining experience. We advise guests to book their dinner reservations when they go to the restaurant to have their breakfast as this is a convenient time for the guests. Turtle Beach Resort is marketed as a family Resort; therefore there are no designated adult areas on property. However, the Asiagos restaurant does not admit children under the age of twelve, and additionally children are not allowed in the Jacuzzi because of the high water temperatures.

Again, thank you for taking the time to post your feedback and we do hope that you change your mind and return to Turtle Beach Resort in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

The rooms are large and has everything you could want,I went with My Girlfriend, and had a garden, pool view, room number 425, Service was great, one of the better I have had in the Caribbean, meals are everything you would expect and more, not small portions, and the dress code is smart but relaxed, except the Italian which you have to try. The complex is nice, beach is what you would expect, and sun lounges which are plentiful and comfortable with there own mattresses, and some had sun shades on the beach.You must go and see the water sports guys, Captain Sam and let them take you out on the catamarans, they are great and make you fill very safe, All I can say is its a great place to chill, The only slight niggle if I had to have a moan, is that the entertainment finishes at 10.30, and after that its a bit quite, but bars are still open.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BECKS593
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TracessYarde, Guest Relations Manager at Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Reviewer: Thank you for posting a review about your enjoyable and relaxing stay at Turtle Beach Resort. We are delighted that you enjoyed your vacation with us and loved our rooms, food, beach, sun lounges and the service provided by our amazing staff.

We recognize that we have diverse guests and while some would prefer entertainment to finish a bit later, there are some with children who would prefer it to finish earlier. As a result we end the entertainment no later than 10:30 pm in efforts to please everyone.

We do hope to welcome you once again to Turtle Beach Resort in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

I am here at the moment and must say that this is the best resort that I have stayed in. The comments about tired rooms are ridiculous. I am staying in a one bedroom pool/garden suite with my husband and three children and the suite is beautiful and certainly not tired. The view from our suite is amazing, the pool and the beach are outside of our window. The food is good and plentiful and the staff are the best I have come across in the Caribbean, nothing is too much trouble and as soon as you ask, whatever it is, it's done. The beach is beautiful but rather rough so we just paddled. We did try the other resort, crystal cove but I couldn't wait to get back to our resort after a. Day trip there. The sea is meant to be calmer there as it's the west coast but there are sharp rocks which my daughter cut her foot on and dangerous fish which can sting you. Also, children aren't allowed in the pool there. All in all turtle beach has been amazing, the entertainment isn't brilliant apart from a girl singing group with a lead singer who knocks spots off of Rihanna. Can't wait to come back again

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlotte A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dover
0.3 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,910 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 8 in Saint Michael Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,369 reviews
7.9 mi away
Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
#11 of 49 in Christ Church Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,905 reviews
8.9 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,348 reviews
7.5 mi away
Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels
Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels
#5 of 26 in Saint James Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels

Property: Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
Address: Dover, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > Dover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"A vibrant blend of contemporary style and informal elegance." A truly magnificent all-inclusive property of 161 rooms situated on a glorious stretch of the south coast of Barbados. Turtle Beach Resort uniquely combines contemporary style, informal elegance, lively atmosphere and a superb range of facilities suitable for all ages, including a supervised kids Club (for children aged 4-12) setting new standards for all-inclusive holidays to the Caribbean. Complimentary WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Kognitiv US Corp, Priceline, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Beach By Elegant Hotel Dover
Turtle Beach Barbados
Turtle Beach Resort Barbados
Hotel Turtle Beach
Turtle Beach By Elegant Hotels Barbados/Dover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing