We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Honeymoon!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Dover
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I can't believe it has taken me this long to review my stay at Turtle Beach in July/ August 2012 We stayed here for the first part of our honeymoon and it was our first all-inclusive experience. Our room was very nice, although a bit far from the lobby/restaurants and beach area. The staff were very attentive and kind. We even received 2 bottles of champagne to celebrate the occasion! I wasn't too thrilled with Asaigo's, but if I wanted good Italian food I should have stayed home!
We were happily surprised when the beach staff went out of their way to move the loungers to our preferred section on the beach. We took advantage of the catamaran rides, beach cricket and boogie boards in the waves. Our favorite part of the day was our self-titled "happy hour" in the beautiful turquoise water. It seemed like we were always last to peel ourselves off the beach. Another highlight was seeing a turtle come ashore to lay eggs. Turtle Beach certainly lived up to its name!
I don't believe I would have enjoyed myself as much in peak season. It was quite nice that the hotel was maybe at half capacity as we never had to wait on a line and always had the beach loungers where we wanted.
We took a cab to The Gap one night and I would recommend this as well. Barbados is an awesome island to explore and it was fun to experience the nightlife there.
All in all, if you are considering going to Turtle Beach, go!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LR72712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,696)
There are newer reviews for Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,208 - 1,214 of 2,696 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2013

This hotel was very impressive when we first arrived. Great initial customer service, beautiful foyer and very well kept everything. Everything is clean and very well groomed. You can tell that this is an older hotel that probably went through major renovations, since the rooms more represent the age of the hotel.
The Food: Great, great food. There’s something for everyone here. I wasn’t a fan of the times for breakfast lunch and dinner, as I feel that food should always be accessible no matter the time of day, but alas, it was a part of the program. The best night for food is the Barbados traditional night buffet. This is where they showcase the islands traditional dishes as well as some other Caribbean favourites. Hands down the best night for food. Nothing compared to the awesome spread they had. It was fantastic. If you want to eat at the A la Carte restaurants, you have to book as soon as possible. They book up quickly, although they were kind enough to squeeze us in to a late seating. The one night we ate at the A la Carte (the non-italian place), the food was delicious. It was definitely worth going. The main area where most of the buffet meals are served has a lot of birds. Some other reviewers may have commented on this. Basically this is an open air place, with a large canopy, but essentially open air. Birds like food, so they will come in to the eating areas. Do NOT leave your food unattended at any time, because a bird will have pecked at it. No question about it. We didn’t really have so much of a problem because we learned very quickly not to leave anything unattended, not even water. Always have someone at the table if you have food or water there, otherwise the birds will sample it before you get back.
The room: Definitely dated room, but it was comfortable, clean and had a feature that when you opened the patio door the A/C turned off so there was not any wasting of it. The shower was the most frustrating thing ever. It has a half door on it, and no shower curtain. This means that most of your shower water ends up on the floor and in the hall and in to the front closet. It is the stupidest thing I’ve seen. Just put up a curtain rod and curtain to fix the problem. Very annoying because if you had a family then the floors of the bathroom and entrance way would ALWAYS be wet.
Turtle Beach: This beach is very rough. If you just like sunning on the beach then this beach is fine, however if you want to get in, that’s another story. It’s just too rough to really enjoy and therefore if you have young children, this is NOT the beach for them. The waves are rough on most days and VERY rough on others. There is an option to go to a sister hotel called Crystal cove. This is on a much calmer ocean side of the island and therefore better beach. If you want to do this, ask at the desk right away about this, as the other hotel may not be able to accommodate you. We were disappointed because they were booked up for our planned day. However, we took a Reggae bus from the main road to Brown’s beach (10 mins. or so away) for $2 Bajan dollars. Stunning and beautiful beach. Great for kids and Adults.
Service/Staff: Great staff. Some are more friendlier than others, to be expected, but overall, they were great. Very, very nice people. Our initial customer service greeter was awesome.
The reason my review was not excellent was because of the beach.

Room Tip: If you like it quiet, get a room as far away from the main courtyard as possible, as it can get quit...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BBDCDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

From the moment you arrive to the moment you leave you will be looked after. We stayed in a junior suite ocean view, what can we say the view was superb, the room was cleaned daily all be it sometimes very late in the afternoon (4-5pm). The bathroom has to be the biggest bathroom of any hotel we have stayed in. The A/C was very cold and the ceiling fan was welcome in the evening. The food, we are great food lovers and the choice was amazing, we didn't book al a carte for many nights as the buffet was greatly rotated and tasted great. If you see the option for Pepper Pot be sure to top up!!!

The beach, whilst it was very choppy waters the loungers are the most comfortable loungers you will ever find, captain sam and his team will happily help you find a spot in the shade or the blistering sunshine and get you setup for the day. Entertainment was available every evening up until 10-11pm and be sure to watch out for the group Virgo.

Now heres our tips and tricks...

If you are not a smoker and don't like the taste of smoke be sure to site at the back of the restaurant as smokers are situated at the very front of the restaurant by the umbrellas.

Be sure to put the room card "please service my room" out as early as possible and you will get prompt service.

Don't worry about any security concerns as the security is great 24/7, patrolling the beach daily and evening.

Get a drink before seating for any meal as service can be a little slow but always with a smile.

Go BOOK now!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrAPayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Stayed at turtle beach for two weeks end of July this was our fourth visit in the space of six years as always had a brilliant time staff as always polite and happy cant wait for next July.captain Sam on beach always there to help you out and of course beach would not be the same without marridona bringing round those lovlely cold cocktails thank you to all staff for a brilliant stay.

Room Tip: Most rooms have a good view if you have children would suggest rooms round pool area
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mohewitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We have just come back from a two week holiday with our twelve year old daughter. Turtle beach welcomed us as soon as we arrived. The staff are excellent!! They are so polite and always smiling!! Tracess the hotels front lady was always laughing and gave good advice about the island and all of the hotels amenities . The rooms are roomy and well equipped, still providing coffee and tea and all wash bathroom supplies. The only downside and this is tiny was beds were reserved for the whole stay around the pool by the normal selfish people, the hotel did allow this and I watched at 6-30 am in the morning when this was being done!! The lovely beach boys did however always find us some beds there!! Great hotel and excellent time had by us all!! Must say it is alo convenient for shops outside and restaurants!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juliehuggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Last visit 13 years ago & nothing has changed.property in desperate need of maintanance & a complete refurb! This is acknowledged by some of the staff working at the hotel.standard rooms far too small for family of 4. We have 7 & 11 year old who don't like sharing fold up sofa bed, we asked for another fold up single bed but told no as....room too small! As a result, little sleep for all of us in 7 days. Asked to move rooms, only possible if we paid 'discounted' rate of $70 per night.most of staff very friendly, food pretty good for buffet style.cocktails tasted of containers they were pre mixed in, ie plastic!
If you manage to book this hotel on the 'cheap' you might take the view, got what we paid for, unfortunately we booked late, paid top dollar & felt like we made a big mistake!
Stayed at colony club in past, was far better, took a look at crystal cove again, looks far superior.

Room Tip: Choose largest suites, ocean view & away from noisey pool!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank COX4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

This was our first time in the Caribbean and having spent two weeks relaxing at this resort, coming back to the real world is a shock to the system!

With teenagers, we were pleased that we chose the south coast - there are a few more waves which is more fun on the body boards. We saw the west coast and it was pan flat - great with small kids I am sure. The staff were very attentive, and the beach team under Captain Sam were superb. Sam, Ricky and Maradona were all fantastic and are much missed now we are home. The rooms are good although the WiFi didn't really work in either of the rooms we had. The food is good as long as you are prepared to eat a variety - we used all three restaurants and had nice meals in each of them. The bar is well stocked and the drinks keep flowing. The equipment in the gym wasn't in the best of conditions whilst we were there with two out of the three treadmills out of order at one point. Not a big issue on holiday, but when you are eating and drinking so much, it is nice to do some exercise!

We went out into 'The Gap' on a few nights and enjoyed the local hospitality. Everyone we met was really friendly and Oistin's Fish Fry (in the other direction) is certainly worth a visit on the Friday night. If you want food, get there early as the queues are huge!

We hired a car for a day and travelled around the Island - the east and north are much more rugged and worth a look, although some of the roads aren't in the best of conditions when you are driving a little hire car!

Overall a very relaxing break and we were certainly return to both Barbados and this hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floors have much better views.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian_McQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dover
0.1 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,083 reviews
10.3 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
3.4 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 6 in Bridgetown
3,708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
2,556 reviews
7.9 mi away
Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels
Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels
#6 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,823 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
#10 of 51 in Christ Church Parish
1,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels

Address: Dover, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > Dover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Dover
Price Range: $392 - $1,266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"A vibrant blend of contemporary style and informal elegance." A truly magnificent all-inclusive property of 161 rooms situated on a glorious stretch of the south coast of Barbados. Turtle Beach Resort uniquely combines contemporary style, informal elegance, lively atmosphere and a superb range of facilities suitable for all ages, including a supervised kids Club (for children aged 4-12) setting new standards for all-inclusive holidays to the Caribbean. Complimentary WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Beach By Elegant Hotel Dover
Turtle Beach Barbados
Turtle Beach Resort Barbados
Hotel Turtle Beach
Turtle Beach By Elegant Hotels Barbados/Dover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing