We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Dover
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 21, 2008

We wanted to write a review, and give some of our opinions of Turtle Beach Resort. There had been a few bad reviews and complaints.

We went for our Honeymoon in the beginning of June. It is a beautiful resort. However, the only two complaints we had (which are very minute) is the fact that their "upscale" restaraunt Asiagos, requires formal dress wear. No sandles, jeans, shorts, sleeveless shirts, etc. We weren't told prior to our booking that this would be the case, so we only were allowed to eat their one night, because the manager allowed my husband to wear "trainers" (sneakers).

The other was the birds, they truly are everywhere! If you leave anything on the table for a split second, there may be a bird eating/drinking out of it. Our advice to you, is keep everything covered.

Overall, it was a beautiful resort, the staff were very respectful and accomodating. They upgraded us to an ocean view, junior suite, at no extra charge (reason is still unclear to us at this time), but we weren't complaining.

I think most would enjoy this resort, their are four pools, a beautiful beach, and water sports that are for the most part included if you chose an all-inclusive package. Just make sure you find a chair by the pool/ocean very early!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank KrisM08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,694)
There are newer reviews for Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,323 - 2,329 of 2,695 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2008

We booked this hotel through barbadoshotels.co.uk & I would recommend them for great VFM - we found we paid a lot less than other travellers!
Overall we had a fantastic time at Turtle Beach, we had read some bad reviews but really we can't fault the place. The staff were friendly (except for 1 member of the bar staff but we just laughed about him!) - just remember that things are much more relaxed in the Carribean. The food was superb - so much to choose from & children are really well catered for. Drinks (soft, hot & alcoholic) were available all day/evening & at dinner we never had to ask to have a refill. The rooms were lovely - clean & cool with aircon & ceiling fans so no trouble sleeping due to the heat. All the pools were clean & our 3yr old daughter had a great time splashing about with all the other children.
There is a kids club but she didn't want to go only because she wanted to swim all day however the staff were friendly & other children I spoke to had a great time there.
There was nightly entertainment which varied in quality but on the whole was fine & we enjoyed the balmy evenings on our patio listening to the reggae beat!
All in all I would recommend this hotel to families with small children without a doubt. It can be noisy though so if you want a relaxing quiet holiday don't book during the school hols!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carolinec70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2008

Our second stay at turtle beach this time as a honeymoon after arriving from New York on a two trip holiday.
And just as last time i really can't understand how anybody can give this place such bad reviews.
The staff have never been anything but freindly to us on both of our stays this time even more so,but obviously if you want people to be nice to you just use the simple please and thankyou it gets you a long way and isn't to difficult although i did notice some people's attitude to the staff was abysmal would you treat anybody nice if they were so rude to you?
The food and drinks are excellent with a great choice from 3 restaurants which you are best off booking early to avoid dissapointment for your ideal times.
If you want to venture out of the hotel as we did on a few occasions there is a good choice of restaurants nearby in St.Lawrence gap and also a good choice of bars which all seem to have there selected theme/party nights at different occasions,our favourite being the Ship Inn on a thursday night.
You really must try your best to get around the island as it truly is a lovely experience a day in bridgetown or a catamarran trip are a must we went through Best Times for this and they make swimming with the turtles a fantastic experience and a great day out think approx cost was about £60 each.
So overall yet again a fantastic time in Barbados and in particular Turtle Beach.

Enjoy your trip.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hangus_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2008

Me and my boyfriend was planning out first trip to Barbados, when we was looking for hotels Turtal Beach looked lovely and the price was perfect. BUT! then i decided to look up the reviews on Trip Advisor and i freaked out because it had so many bad reviews!!. I actually started looking for different hotels because the thought of going away and ending up in a awful hotel made me feel stressed before i even got there.

Thankfully my boyfriend, said "we'll be out the room all day so if does look bad we'll be to tired to notice, and as long as we don't starve we'll be ok!" So i took his laid back advice.

When we arrived the lady who was signing us in told us that our room wasnt quite ready, she said we could go down to the beachfront buffet then go to our room when we was finished.

Well after a long jouney and plane food we couldnt wait to eat something. It was great, they had traditional caribbean dishes, hot dogs, burgers, Salads, wraps, cakes, cheesecakes fruit THE LOT!! it was brilliant.

When we walked into our room and it was another plesant surprise. the bathroom was nice and clean, the air con was great!! bed was nice and big, and the decore was lovely......even the TV programmes was good, something for everyone!.

Dinners was nice and my fave meal of the whole holiday was the beach front BBQ!!! you can't miss that. We didnt get to try the Italian because it was fully booked the night we wanted to go, that was a bit of a pain but the other resturante was still good.

Mental Note: Book table in advance

The Jeep Safari tour was great, i wish i did more tours but the beach makes you lazy.

I'm def coming back next year. Can't wait!!!

Ps: We noticed that the people who complain are just a tad fussy. We witnessed a couple shout at a member of staff because they didn't have the wine that they wanted!!.....There the ones that type bad reviews and put you off.

:-)

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank HUGORainham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2008

We have recently returned from our 2nd visit to this lovely Resort. Our previous visit was in May 2007. This review is therefore an ‘Update’ on our experiences now and then.

WELCOME

Once again we received a warm welcome upon check-in together with a Rum Punch! The Resort Staff are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. In fact they go out of their way to ensure that you have an enjoyable stay.

The Managers Weekly Cocktail Party is held on a Tuesday evening. Everyone from the General Manager downwards takes the time to introduce themselves which we thought was a nice touch. The General Manager could often be seen throughout the resort complex ensuring that everything was in order.

ROOM

Our room (325) was a Junior Suite on the 3rd floor of the main building as we referred to it. We managed to get the same room as before by E-Mailing the hotel direct via their website. The room was spacious and well maintained. The view from the massive balcony was great – you could actually see the sea through the palm trees.

CHANGES

There have been a few changes since our last visit but these only add to the overall experience of staying at the Turtle Beach.

The in-room Mini Fridge is now stocked with soft drinks (Pepsi, 7up, Club Soda etc) and bottled water. Larger was also available if required. There was also a welcome bottle of Sparkling Wine. The fridge was checked and re-stocked on a daily basis.

On our first day we received 3 welcome plates of food. The first one had freshly prepared fruit which consisted of pineapple, orange, melon, grapes and also water melon. The second one had cheese, biscuits and grapes and the final one had an assortment of biscuits (cookies) - very nice they were too!

Each day between 4 and 6pm a plate would arrive containing various items such as canapés, mini sandwiches, cakes and grapes. The selection was different every day.

RESTAURANTS & FOOD

Breakfast is buffet style in the Chelonia and there is plenty to choose from. This included the ‘Full English’ if you so desired. Freshly made omelettes were also available. The freshly prepared pineapple and melon was a favourite of mine.

Lunch is buffet style in the Waterfront and there was always plenty to choose from. If you’ve still got room after lunch Afternoon Tea is served in the Chelonia at 4pm daily - very nice indeed.

The Restaurants open in rotation for dinner but there were always at least 2 to choose from each evening. The Weekly ‘What’s On’ leaflet (delivered to your room) details which Restaurants are open on which days and what style of dinner they will be serving i.e. Buffet, BBQ or A la Carte. The menus were normally on display in the Chelonia during breakfast and throughout the day.

Dinner reservations are required for all the Restaurants and to avoid disappointment we would suggest booking a few days in advance especially for Asiagos which is very popular. Please note that Asiagos does not allow children under the age of 12. It’s also worth mentioning that after 7pm the Dress Code is now strictly enforced in both the Chelonia and Asiagos. As a guide men are expected to wear casual trousers, collared shirts and appropriate footwear (trainers/sneakers, flip flops and open sandals are not acceptable). We saw a guy arrive for dinner wearing long shorts and he was kindly asked to go and change. The Dress Code in the Waterfront is more relaxed.

The food in all 3 Restaurants is still excellent with Asiagos the Italian Restaurant (only open for dinner) being the best in our opinion. The speed of service in the Chelonia does however need attention. On the 2 occasions we had dinner there it took ages for our main course to arrive. We noticed several other guests in the same situation. We mentioned this fact when completing the guest comments questionnaire at the end of our stay and hopefully this will be addressed. Dining in the Waterfront at night was always very pleasant as you were cooled by the sea breeze and you could hear the waves breaking on the shore.

BARS

Our favourite bar was the one in the Chelonia which was open in the evenings. The list of cocktails was endless! The Rum Punch was very good - strong! There was beach service available from the Waterfront bar which was very handy. The bar staff would mainly bring water and Pepsi down to the beach but were more than happy to get you something else from the bar if necessary.

GENERAL

Evening entertainment was provided on 6 of the 7 nights of our stay and was very enjoyable.

The Public areas of the Resort were well maintained as were the Pools and grounds.

There seemed to be more beach traders than last year which we found rather annoying. Although most of them went on their way after a polite ‘no thank you’ some were more persistent.

I’m glad to see that the majority of the negative reviews of this Resort have now gone. You still get the odd one here and there but as the saying goes ‘you can’t please all of the people all of the time’.

We really enjoyed our time at the Turtle Beach again and will certainly be returning in the near future.

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Flyboi47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2008

Stayed at Turtle Beach from 23rd May to 31st. What a fabulous hotel. Having read some of the negative reviews from people I was not sure what to expect. From the minute we arrived the staff were polite and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. Our room was kept spotless, the food was amazing - there was always something for even the most fussiest person - I dont know what some of these people expect from their holidays! Thanks to Captain Sam and his team on the waterfront for taking us out on the catamaran - we even got to see the turtles. Special thanks to Maradonna for his excellent drinks service on the beach - what more could you ask for. The Virgins Ahoy Catamaran trip is a must for anyone booking through them - we had a great time.

We will be going back again for sure. DON'T BE PUT OFF BY THE MOANERS!! - There are no huge birds flying around the restaurant - just a few and they are lovely.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank kjc_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2008

We have just returned from out third stay at the 'Turtle Beach Resort' in Barbados and had a fantastic holiday.....

The hotel has been refurbished since our last stay in 2004 and the rooms are what you would expect from Barbados - not wall to wall luxery but ample clean rooms with good facilites, with daily maid service.

The hotel is located on the south coast and has a beautiful uncrowded beach, the water is a little choppier than on the west but we (a family with young childen) still managed a little swim on calmer days and enjoyed the Boogie boarding at other times. The watersports are run by Captain Sam and his team, he's a real character, lots of fun and really friendly....

The pool area is nice with two main pools and one baby/toddler pool, sunbeds are always available. Maradona the waiter provided an excellent service delivering us guests with fresh fruit and drinks whilst we bathed in the sun....

There are three restaurants (one adult only) which offer both A la Carte and buffet, the food is plentiful and good, you really can spend the whole holiday eating!!!! The bars are well stocked, we enjoyed many a cocktail in the late afternoon sunshine.....

The staff on the whole warm and friendly as are most Bajans, service did slow a little when busy but really nothing to complain about....

A really nice day out is to jump in a taxi to Turtle Beach's sister hotel 'Crystal Cove'. Here you can enjoy the calmer West coast and travel by Water taxi to the other Elegant Hotels...

Turtle Beach is a well run hotel for both couples and families and i'm sure we will return once again.....

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank UKFamilyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dover
0.1 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,082 reviews
10.3 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
3.4 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 6 in Bridgetown
3,705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
2,550 reviews
7.9 mi away
Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels
Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels
#6 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,818 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
#10 of 51 in Christ Church Parish
1,984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels

Address: Dover, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > Dover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Dover
Price Range: $391 - $1,266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"A vibrant blend of contemporary style and informal elegance." A truly magnificent all-inclusive property of 161 rooms situated on a glorious stretch of the south coast of Barbados. Turtle Beach Resort uniquely combines contemporary style, informal elegance, lively atmosphere and a superb range of facilities suitable for all ages, including a supervised kids Club (for children aged 4-12) setting new standards for all-inclusive holidays to the Caribbean. Complimentary WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Beach By Elegant Hotel Dover
Turtle Beach Barbados
Turtle Beach Resort Barbados
Hotel Turtle Beach
Turtle Beach By Elegant Hotels Barbados/Dover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing