We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time at the turtle beach resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dover
Certificate of Excellence
Oakville Ontario
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great time at the turtle beach resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights - first time in Barbados

Resort was very good - staff very friendly - ask for Collis the barman, he's the best. Beach is fantastic

Food decent if not brilliant but overall we really enjoyed the resort and would recommend it

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maganncal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,341
    807
    251
    112
    61
See reviews for
929
1,018
13
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (663)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

Check in was a breeze,shown straight up to our room.Room clean and bed comfy.Room cleaned on a regular basis throughout our stay.Staff from cleaners to hotel manager are so very friendly and bend over backwards to help in any way they can,something a lot of establishments could learn from.Food piping hot and well presented,even at buffets,with a very good variety on offer,so as not to get boring.The 3 restaraunts are capable of managing when the hotel is full,something we witnessed in week two.
We are not big drinkers,but we do appreciate the good quality premium brands that are on offer,Bells,Hennesey,Bacardi,Gordons etc,along with the local alchol selections of rum and Banks beer.
Bell boys Herm,Nigel,Jason and Andrew were always on hand to order a taxi or give advise,along with their own style of humour lol.
Restaraunt staff Jaqueline,Hilary,Racquel,Karl,and so many others,always there to accomadate our every whim.
Reception staff Ryan and Crystal,efficient and friendly.
Managers Charles,Neil and Julian proffesional to a tee.
Cant wait to go back even though we have just left!

Room Tip: Any room above ground floor has a sea veiw Get out and about Talk to locals
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fletch69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

This was our third stay at Turtle beach, and it more than lived up to our expectations. It was really nice that most of the staff remembered us from last visits. As we were returning customers we had an upgrade on accomadation. This meant that we had the fridge restocked daily and all free. Our room as on previous visits was cleaned daily, this years attendant was Juan who was loveliness it's self, always had a smile and chat.as well as little suprises such as towel displays and little notes saying have a wonderful day.
All staff at turtle beach are polite and helpful, moving about thier daily routines quietly and professionally. Captain Sam and his crew make sure everyone enjoys there time on the beach ensuring safety and comfort as much as possible, and Maradona keeps everyone hydrated with drinks and fresh fruit he also has a friendly word for all.
The food was fantasic and plentiful with a variety to suit all tastes. Especially desserts.
If I could have any compliants it is about the lack of respsct by certain guests to observe the hotels dress code for evening meals. In my opinion wearing shorts and football shirts and flip flops for evening meals detracts from the ambiance of the experience.

Room Tip: ocean view rooms are quieter than garden view rooms however the evening entertainment does close at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christine c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

I got married here last year and I cannot speak highly enough of the staff from this hotel. the pools were lovely, the beach was fantastic, the food was great and the staff were faultless.
I had a sea front room, which was nice and clean. it was lovely to wake up and look out over the sea every morning. we had some children with us, who were also catered for.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Romney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

We had 10 nights at turtle beach and we didn't want to leave, we loved every second.

The rooms were spacious, cleaned daily and were what we expected for a 4 star hotel. Good air con,fridge, kettle for bottles and coffee machine. We were in room 114 on the ground floor this was perfect with a 1 year old and 3 year old as we could watch them play on the grass. Also if we needed anything from the room when at the pool it took seconds to get to. On a couple of evenings you could hear the entertainment, but it didn't stop us from falling asleep.

We found 99% of the staff to be very helpful, polite and great with our children. The themed evenings were great and something different.

We couldn't fault the food and being a fussy vegetarian there was something to eat everyday. There is also a little children's buffet put on at 1730 daily in the main restaurant, which was great for us!

The beaches were very clean,beautiful sand and blue sea. Sadly the water was a bit to choppy when we were there and couldn't go in! But the breeze on this part of the island was very pleasant.

The evening entertainment was mainly singers and one evening a Bajan night which we felt was the best. The hotel went to huge efforts on there themed nights. We also enjoyed the beach BBQ with steel band.

We didn't use the kids club as our son didn't want to go, but you can still use the park, pool table, football table and table tennis. Also we took our one year old to the club with us, where you just use there toys and books. You can pop in any time of the day which was good to escape the heat!

We hired a car for a day, great way to see the whole island and roads are safe, the island is beautiful and there is lots to see and do!

We had a fantastic time at this hotel and would love to return.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rebecca11767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

I have just returned from Turtle Beach and really enjoyed it. The hotel was great and the staff excellent. Rooms were clean and tidy although it did seem to take them a long time to do so. More staff might help, however this did not spoil my holiday. Whilst sat by the pool a young employee named Maradona who wears a Aston Villa cap came round every day with fruit and ice cream. This was a pleasant and welcome surprise. A nice touch!
At the main entrance all three guys were excellent. Hernandes seemed to be running things very well nothing was too much trouble. Generally the rooms were well equipped, WiFi worked well with TV and iPod docks supplied. Another good touch was if you were out for the day the hotel supplied a good lunch in a cool bag. You were able to choose what you liked.

All in all the staff helped make this an enjoyable holiday for my wife and I. We would like to revisit someday. Before we chose the hotel we checked it and others out on trip adviser and I can confirm that it is a good place to stay. We had a problem with our taps but it was addressed as soon as they could.

It seems that some people forget that the like all islands in this part of the world they have there own way of doing things and a different time scale for doing so. It is important to remember that you are a visitor to their country and respect Their values and way of life if you can't do that don't go!

Hope this helps you choose

Room Tip: Try an Ocean View junior suite a little extra but worth I for the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank subsonic13uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Our 1st Caribbean experience last year was so good we decided to make a return journey to the Turtle Beach Hotel in Barbados. We found it to be just as good as last year. The staff old and new were just as helpful, cheerful and welcoming as ever, some even remembering us. The food, surroundings, weather, service and welcome were excellent as always. Special mention to Captain Sam, Ricky and Dario of the beach crew, who always made sure we had a sunlounger exactly where we wanted it and kept us safe in the water! Damien and Maradona who kept us in cool rum punch, fresh fruit, ice cream around the pool and on the beach and always served with a smile. The food plentiful and varied and always hot. In the restaurants Hilary and Emerson made sure we had a good table and Raquel who was good fun and very attentive as all the staff including the housekeeping ladies who kept our lovely room overlooking the beach clean and tidy. These are just a few of the staff that make this hotel the sort of place you would like to revisit. All in all, another fabulous relaxing holiday being spoilt in the sunshine at the Turtle Beach resort!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VTT870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dover
0.1 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,957 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 8 in Saint Michael Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,445 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
#11 of 49 in Christ Church Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,924 reviews
7.9 mi away
Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels
Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels
#7 of 26 in Saint James Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,750 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandals Barbados
Sandals Barbados
#4 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels

Property: Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
Address: Dover, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > Dover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"A vibrant blend of contemporary style and informal elegance." A truly magnificent all-inclusive property of 161 rooms situated on a glorious stretch of the south coast of Barbados. Turtle Beach Resort uniquely combines contemporary style, informal elegance, lively atmosphere and a superb range of facilities suitable for all ages, including a supervised kids Club (for children aged 4-12) setting new standards for all-inclusive holidays to the Caribbean. Complimentary WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Kognitiv US Corp, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Beach By Elegant Hotel Dover
Turtle Beach Barbados
Turtle Beach Resort Barbados
Hotel Turtle Beach
Turtle Beach By Elegant Hotels Barbados/Dover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing