We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Dover
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I got married here last year and I cannot speak highly enough of the staff from this hotel. the pools were lovely, the beach was fantastic, the food was great and the staff were faultless.
I had a sea front room, which was nice and clean. it was lovely to wake up and look out over the sea every morning. we had some children with us, who were also catered for.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,696)
There are newer reviews for Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,293 - 1,299 of 2,695 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

We had 10 nights at turtle beach and we didn't want to leave, we loved every second.

The rooms were spacious, cleaned daily and were what we expected for a 4 star hotel. Good air con,fridge, kettle for bottles and coffee machine. We were in room 114 on the ground floor this was perfect with a 1 year old and 3 year old as we could watch them play on the grass. Also if we needed anything from the room when at the pool it took seconds to get to. On a couple of evenings you could hear the entertainment, but it didn't stop us from falling asleep.

We found 99% of the staff to be very helpful, polite and great with our children. The themed evenings were great and something different.

We couldn't fault the food and being a fussy vegetarian there was something to eat everyday. There is also a little children's buffet put on at 1730 daily in the main restaurant, which was great for us!

The beaches were very clean,beautiful sand and blue sea. Sadly the water was a bit to choppy when we were there and couldn't go in! But the breeze on this part of the island was very pleasant.

The evening entertainment was mainly singers and one evening a Bajan night which we felt was the best. The hotel went to huge efforts on there themed nights. We also enjoyed the beach BBQ with steel band.

We didn't use the kids club as our son didn't want to go, but you can still use the park, pool table, football table and table tennis. Also we took our one year old to the club with us, where you just use there toys and books. You can pop in any time of the day which was good to escape the heat!

We hired a car for a day, great way to see the whole island and roads are safe, the island is beautiful and there is lots to see and do!

We had a fantastic time at this hotel and would love to return.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rebecca11767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

I have just returned from Turtle Beach and really enjoyed it. The hotel was great and the staff excellent. Rooms were clean and tidy although it did seem to take them a long time to do so. More staff might help, however this did not spoil my holiday. Whilst sat by the pool a young employee named Maradona who wears a Aston Villa cap came round every day with fruit and ice cream. This was a pleasant and welcome surprise. A nice touch!
At the main entrance all three guys were excellent. Hernandes seemed to be running things very well nothing was too much trouble. Generally the rooms were well equipped, WiFi worked well with TV and iPod docks supplied. Another good touch was if you were out for the day the hotel supplied a good lunch in a cool bag. You were able to choose what you liked.

All in all the staff helped make this an enjoyable holiday for my wife and I. We would like to revisit someday. Before we chose the hotel we checked it and others out on trip adviser and I can confirm that it is a good place to stay. We had a problem with our taps but it was addressed as soon as they could.

It seems that some people forget that the like all islands in this part of the world they have there own way of doing things and a different time scale for doing so. It is important to remember that you are a visitor to their country and respect Their values and way of life if you can't do that don't go!

Hope this helps you choose

Room Tip: Try an Ocean View junior suite a little extra but worth I for the views
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank subsonic13uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Our 1st Caribbean experience last year was so good we decided to make a return journey to the Turtle Beach Hotel in Barbados. We found it to be just as good as last year. The staff old and new were just as helpful, cheerful and welcoming as ever, some even remembering us. The food, surroundings, weather, service and welcome were excellent as always. Special mention to Captain Sam, Ricky and Dario of the beach crew, who always made sure we had a sunlounger exactly where we wanted it and kept us safe in the water! Damien and Maradona who kept us in cool rum punch, fresh fruit, ice cream around the pool and on the beach and always served with a smile. The food plentiful and varied and always hot. In the restaurants Hilary and Emerson made sure we had a good table and Raquel who was good fun and very attentive as all the staff including the housekeeping ladies who kept our lovely room overlooking the beach clean and tidy. These are just a few of the staff that make this hotel the sort of place you would like to revisit. All in all, another fabulous relaxing holiday being spoilt in the sunshine at the Turtle Beach resort!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VTT870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Our second visit to Turtle Beach and we had a great time. Most of the staff are very friendly and helpful, special note of thanks to Hermanius who arranged the fantastic taxi driver Darwin, for our island tour, Jacqueline in the restaurants for looking after us, Maradonna, Captain Sam and his gang for looking after us on the beach, and Marian for keeping our room clean.
The large group of Canadian soccer players rather took over the place for our first few days and meant we could not have the Saturday bar b q on the beach which was a shame but things returned to normal after they had left.
The food was good with different themed buffets at night and the entertainment was different every night of the week.
We stayed in an ocean front room this time and although quieter than the ocean view room we had last year, the view was not as good so not worth the upgrade.
Check in was great with the rum punch served immediately and the check out service that Virgin offer is fantastic as it means no long queues at the airport .

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
4  Thank Southernsoftie15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Just not impressed. Friendly, but slow staff. We had a problem with our air conditioner in our room and went to the front desk twice about it. Never fixed. Room was in fairly good shape but needed small repairs (besides the AC). Nice and safe beach. Food wasn't great. Overall, it's slightly overpriced for what you're getting.

Room Tip: look elsewhere
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jason b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed at the Turtle Beach for a family holidays (9 nights in April 2013). Our stay was booked through Kuoni who ensured us that the hotel will be comparable to The Sandpiper ( 4.5 star hotel we stayed at in March 2012, we couldn't go back there as it was fully booked). Upon our arrival to The Turtle Beach we were quite disappointed as we expected similar standards to The Sandpiper, saying that, after few days at The Turtle Beach we actually got used to the place which I believe was thanks to a great service provided by the hotel staff and meeting few wonderful couples who were holidaying there too.

I'll try to be specific about what has disappointed us about the hotel but also, what we found really good about this place.
Disadvantages: the only coffee available at the hotel was the ordinary filtered coffee, so no lattes or cappuccinos; the food during the morning buffet breakfast wasn't very presentable, also the only available bread was the ordinary toast bread, no bread rolls; paper napkins; no natural juices available; all cocktails being made with cheap tasting syrups and alcohol; no decent wine available; also lunch buffet normally consisted of hamburgers, hot dogs, pizza and french fries, with not many healthy options available. Other issues included elevators used by guests being used by the hotel stuff to transport trolleys, etc.

However, at the same time I need to say that the room was always very well cleaned (although the house-keepers didn't get there often until after 3 or 4pm); the reception staff was extremely helpful (we needed some help with air-condition once and it was sorted immediately, in the middle of the night); the beach of this hotel is absolutely beautiful and long enough to go for a lovely walks; the staff at the Water Sports centre was always very helpful and polite; the hotel pools are so big that there was always a time in the day for a quiet swim; the gym is great, good size and variety of equipment available.

I can honestly say that the staff at The Turtle Beach is absolutely wonderful and makes this place so much more special. We were always greeted with a smile by all the staff members, including those "working behind the scenes", like porters and stewards. Their warm service felt genuine, which is so hard to find.. The staff members at the Kids Club are probably the most amazing, special thanks to Sonia here, the way they play and interact with babies and kids there is phenomenal. There is also a lovely waiter (Maradona) who works by the beach serving drinks to the sun loungers, always ready to make everyone smile.

while we have stayed at much better hotels with incomparable standards, we thought that the service delivered by the staff at the Turtle Beach was second to none.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Szinvene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dover
0.1 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,083 reviews
10.3 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
3.4 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 6 in Bridgetown
3,708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
2,557 reviews
7.9 mi away
Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels
Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels
#6 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,823 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
#11 of 51 in Christ Church Parish
1,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels

Address: Dover, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > Dover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Dover
Price Range: $391 - $1,265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"A vibrant blend of contemporary style and informal elegance." A truly magnificent all-inclusive property of 161 rooms situated on a glorious stretch of the south coast of Barbados. Turtle Beach Resort uniquely combines contemporary style, informal elegance, lively atmosphere and a superb range of facilities suitable for all ages, including a supervised kids Club (for children aged 4-12) setting new standards for all-inclusive holidays to the Caribbean. Complimentary WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Beach By Elegant Hotel Dover
Turtle Beach Barbados
Turtle Beach Resort Barbados
Hotel Turtle Beach
Turtle Beach By Elegant Hotels Barbados/Dover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing