We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great trip!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Dover
Certificate of Excellence
Shediac, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Another great trip!!”
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Just got back from a great stay at this resort. How could someone ask for anything more? Great food, drinks, entertainment, location, beach..... Here's a brief rundown.

Flight: Air Canada.... I must say, faith has been restored. The in-flight entertainment (movies, tv shows, etc) made the 5 hours journey go by quick.

Transfer to and from airport: A breeze.

Resort in general: small and cozy... nothing is too far.

Rooms: Wow!! We were in a 4th floor, ocean front suite. King size bed was very comfy and the fridge was cold. Lots of hot water. The free in room safe is a key less one, so no worries about loosing the key. TIP: DO NOT program the code when you are drunk.... it makes it very difficult to remember your 4 digit code to unlock!! :-)

Food and Restaurants: One of the best... fish, chicken, thick juicy burgers cooked to perfection, made to order wraps, and all the sides. ALL kept hot or cold... no worries about getting sick here.

Entertainment: Really,... not that bad. Yes it ended at 10 pm, but the resort is a hop, skip and a jump form the nightlife on the Gap if you wanted to keep the party going.

Beach: Not overly long, but white sand and very clean. Great wave action for boogie boarding. But could be a bit much for a small child.... but we saw many kids playing in the wave under the watchful eye of a parent.

Beach Staff: Captain Sam made that we were well taken care of. Ricky (I called him Lefty cause he stubbed his toe on a chair and wore only one aqua sock to protect his toe), Dario and Amara were the real stars of the beach staff. Need a chair? No problem! Fresh towel? No problem! How many boogie boards do you want? I'll bring them to you. These guys worked their butts off. They are true friends. One evening we were walking back from the Gap and met up with them after their shift. Dario offered us his bicycle if we wanted to use it. Where else but Barbados would you experience this?

The whole bird issue: This resort spent a lot of time and energy training these birds to fly in and out of the open air restaurants. They were trained to fly up close to guests in an apparent attempt at pecking away at your head. Ok, enough fooling, we actually found the birds quite entertaining. It was always a game for us to pick a bird and plot it's next move... the winner not having to get the next round....

All in all, great resort. We make our trips our own and have fun. PM me if you have any specific questions.

Cheers,

allout

Barbados is truly a unique place... Everyone is friendly and polite and make you feel at home. Even the beach vendors! We'd just tell them "no thanks" and they were like "Hey no problem! Enjoy the rest of our vacation and welcome to Barbados!!"

Room Tip: ask for 208, 308, 408....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shediacguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,387
    832
    260
    112
    64
See reviews for
969
1,048
13
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (694)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012

Myself and 3 friends have recently returned from our 10 day stay in Barbados and I cannot fault the hotel at all. The staff are very friendly and polite (especially Kevin behind the bar and Ricky and Sam on the beach) and the hotel is spotlessly clean. The food was of a very high quality and there is such a selection to chose from, for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The beach is literally in the back garden of the hotel, and having a free sunbed and beach towel was a nice little perk!! A few of the reviews here have complained about the birds, but these people really need to get a life!! There are only a few birds that come into the restaurant and yes they are cheeky but for me it really wasnt a big deal!

Great hotel and would go back there in a heartbeat! Would recommend it to everyone.

Jessica, Essex.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012

You have to go. The hotel is lovely. The food is great with lots of choice. The staff are brilliant especially Ricky and the guys on the beach. Beach is truely amazing. The cocktails are also fab!

Room Tip: We had a Ocean front room which was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tbyrne309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

We (2 Adults & 2 kids age 6 & 3) stayed at Turtle Beach for 8 nights in April and had an amazing family holiday. The staff are what makes this resort, they are fantastic throughout the resort, reception, restaurant, bar, housekeeping, Captain Sam and his team and the lovely girls in the kids club. We had a 1 bedroom garden/pool view room and couldn't fault it. It was perfect for our family, spacious, clean, lovely bathrooms and a tiny stroll to the pool/sea. The food was really good, lots of lovely fresh salads for both lunch and dinner. We mostly dinned at the Waterfront for Lunch and had the buffet dinners in the evening in the main restaurant. This was our first all-inclusive( we've always run a mile from them) and we were really impressed. The house wine/beer were also really good.

Ideally we would have preferred to stay on the West Coast but we couldn't find a hotel with a kids club for under 4's. The West Coast is stunning but this didn't impact our holiday at all, actually wave hopping & boogie boarding was a lot of fun and the calm waters of the west coast is only 20mins taxi away.

The kids loved this hotel, and the staff were really helpful with the kids 'fussy eating' and special diets. A lovely plus was having the kids club open until 9pm which allowed us to feed the kids first and then let them watch a movie in the kids club while we enjoyed a lovely quiet dinner and a few drinks.

Highly recommend the Tiami 5 hour cruise up the West Coast, I was a bit worried considering how young the kids are but we had a lovely time. Also a must is dinner at The Cliff… a fantastic night out.

Room Tip: We had a room on the ground floor and you could hear the cart wheels very early in the morning which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eliza1london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Last week I returned home from turtle beach after spending 7 nights there with my family, this was our third stay! When you arrive you are greeted with such a warm “welcome home” and a cold rum punch, which is the best start to a holiday I can think of! You really do feel at home there, and you do not want to leave!!! We go back because we know that we will have a fantastic time in this beautiful part of the island and are always so well looked after. All the staff are so friendly and helpful and really want you to have a great holiday. The main reason we love this place is the laid back Bajan style and the relaxing atmosphere. You can spend the day chilled out on the stunning beach where the amazing captain Sam and his water sports/beach team will sort you out with sunbeds and help you have fun in the water. The sea may not be calm every day but Captain Sam keeps you safe and you can always ask his advice on activities available. The beach team will bring you rum punch until sunset if you wish and then it’s time for a relaxing evening meal. There is great entertainment at the hotel but if you want to go out partying afterwards then St Lawrence gap is only a short walk away which is a brilliant night out. The hotel is nice and quiet at night so you get an excellent night’s sleep with only the waves and birds to waken you in the morning. The overall experience and feel of this resort attracts me so much more than many larger, 5 star resorts I have stayed in. I love the people here, the culture and the natural surroundings. I hope I am lucky enough to return again soon, I’m starting to feel “homesick” already!!! Thanks to all the staff at turtle beach, especially captain Sam and his team, for a fantastic holiday yet again. Darci, Belfast, Northern Ireland =)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Darci K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Sutton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Very good holiday hotel. Well organisied and very friendly.Good service throughout our stay. Care must be taken when swiming in the sea as it can be quite rough although an excellent beach.

Room Tip: Request sea view rooms the best views are from the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCCUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

We stayed at the Turtle beach between 15/4 - 30/4/12, and can confirm most of the previous observations regarding the hotel. We acknowledge that we made a mistake by staying at this hotel for 2 weeks. In hindsight, I think we should have either done a 2 Centre, cruise and stay holiday or just stayed for 7 days. Two weeks at this venue became somewhat tedious, especially when we had 3 days of rainy weather. The hotel dining room and Waterfront restaurant leaks quite extensively, resulting in guests getting dripped on whilst eating or a wet bum after sitting on a wet seat. No additional activities/facilities to accommodate guests in poor weather resulted in the days being quite tedious.

Think again if you smoke, this hotel forbids smoking on guest balconies / patio areas. If discovered smoking on the balcony / patio areas there is a fine of $200 BDs. This is very irritating, and in addition smoking areas are very limited, and are generally occupied especially in the evenings. There is also a severe lack of ashtrays; these frequently need to be requested. These rules will obviously appeal to some visitors but I think the travel guides should inform guests so that they can make an informed decision about this aspect of their holiday.

All the staff are excellent and very attentive to the needs of their guests. Staff in all the restaurants and bars went out of there way to be friendly and helpful. Winston, Hilary, Wendy and other staff were very friendly and took the time, when possible, to chat to guests.

I agree that the food is of generally good quality, especially in the Waterfront restaurant. We generally like to eat our evening meal later in the evening say after 8pm, so often ate in the Waterfront and Asiagos restaurants rather than have the buffet. Our experience of the buffet was that if you ate early the food was fresh and hot, any later than 8pm the quality and temperature of the food declined. I agree with the other reviewers that the birds in the restaurants at breakfast and lunch time were a nuisance. This didn’t bother me too much but the bird muck deposited on the chairs wasn’t ideal so do check before sitting down.

I also agree that the sun beds around the pool were on the mucky side and there was a lack of umbrellas. However, there are plenty on the beach and towels are provided.

I think generally that this hotel needs a bit of TLC to maintain its 4 star status. The furnishings and decoration are becoming tatty. The leaks in the restaurants should be repaired etc.

We enjoyed our holiday but I doubt that we would return to the Turtle Beach.

If you do visit, Ted’s Island tour is to be recommended. This was an excellent day out with several rum punch stops included.

Room Tip: Poolside ideal for children, higher floors have nice sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewtownSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dover
0.1 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,031 reviews
10.3 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
3.4 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 8 in Saint Michael Parish
3,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
2,488 reviews
7.9 mi away
Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels
Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels
#7 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,798 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
#10 of 51 in Christ Church Parish
1,968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels

Property: Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
Address: Dover, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > Dover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"A vibrant blend of contemporary style and informal elegance." A truly magnificent all-inclusive property of 161 rooms situated on a glorious stretch of the south coast of Barbados. Turtle Beach Resort uniquely combines contemporary style, informal elegance, lively atmosphere and a superb range of facilities suitable for all ages, including a supervised kids Club (for children aged 4-12) setting new standards for all-inclusive holidays to the Caribbean. Complimentary WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Beach By Elegant Hotel Dover
Turtle Beach Barbados
Turtle Beach Resort Barbados
Hotel Turtle Beach
Turtle Beach By Elegant Hotels Barbados/Dover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing