We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Dover
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed May 10, 2012

You have to go. The hotel is lovely. The food is great with lots of choice. The staff are brilliant especially Ricky and the guys on the beach. Beach is truely amazing. The cocktails are also fab!

Room Tip: We had a Ocean front room which was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tbyrne309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,387
    832
    260
    112
    64
See reviews for
969
1,048
13
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (694)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

We (2 Adults & 2 kids age 6 & 3) stayed at Turtle Beach for 8 nights in April and had an amazing family holiday. The staff are what makes this resort, they are fantastic throughout the resort, reception, restaurant, bar, housekeeping, Captain Sam and his team and the lovely girls in the kids club. We had a 1 bedroom garden/pool view room and couldn't fault it. It was perfect for our family, spacious, clean, lovely bathrooms and a tiny stroll to the pool/sea. The food was really good, lots of lovely fresh salads for both lunch and dinner. We mostly dinned at the Waterfront for Lunch and had the buffet dinners in the evening in the main restaurant. This was our first all-inclusive( we've always run a mile from them) and we were really impressed. The house wine/beer were also really good.

Ideally we would have preferred to stay on the West Coast but we couldn't find a hotel with a kids club for under 4's. The West Coast is stunning but this didn't impact our holiday at all, actually wave hopping & boogie boarding was a lot of fun and the calm waters of the west coast is only 20mins taxi away.

The kids loved this hotel, and the staff were really helpful with the kids 'fussy eating' and special diets. A lovely plus was having the kids club open until 9pm which allowed us to feed the kids first and then let them watch a movie in the kids club while we enjoyed a lovely quiet dinner and a few drinks.

Highly recommend the Tiami 5 hour cruise up the West Coast, I was a bit worried considering how young the kids are but we had a lovely time. Also a must is dinner at The Cliff… a fantastic night out.

Room Tip: We had a room on the ground floor and you could hear the cart wheels very early in the morning which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eliza1london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Last week I returned home from turtle beach after spending 7 nights there with my family, this was our third stay! When you arrive you are greeted with such a warm “welcome home” and a cold rum punch, which is the best start to a holiday I can think of! You really do feel at home there, and you do not want to leave!!! We go back because we know that we will have a fantastic time in this beautiful part of the island and are always so well looked after. All the staff are so friendly and helpful and really want you to have a great holiday. The main reason we love this place is the laid back Bajan style and the relaxing atmosphere. You can spend the day chilled out on the stunning beach where the amazing captain Sam and his water sports/beach team will sort you out with sunbeds and help you have fun in the water. The sea may not be calm every day but Captain Sam keeps you safe and you can always ask his advice on activities available. The beach team will bring you rum punch until sunset if you wish and then it’s time for a relaxing evening meal. There is great entertainment at the hotel but if you want to go out partying afterwards then St Lawrence gap is only a short walk away which is a brilliant night out. The hotel is nice and quiet at night so you get an excellent night’s sleep with only the waves and birds to waken you in the morning. The overall experience and feel of this resort attracts me so much more than many larger, 5 star resorts I have stayed in. I love the people here, the culture and the natural surroundings. I hope I am lucky enough to return again soon, I’m starting to feel “homesick” already!!! Thanks to all the staff at turtle beach, especially captain Sam and his team, for a fantastic holiday yet again. Darci, Belfast, Northern Ireland =)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Darci K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Sutton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Very good holiday hotel. Well organisied and very friendly.Good service throughout our stay. Care must be taken when swiming in the sea as it can be quite rough although an excellent beach.

Room Tip: Request sea view rooms the best views are from the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCCUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

We stayed at the Turtle beach between 15/4 - 30/4/12, and can confirm most of the previous observations regarding the hotel. We acknowledge that we made a mistake by staying at this hotel for 2 weeks. In hindsight, I think we should have either done a 2 Centre, cruise and stay holiday or just stayed for 7 days. Two weeks at this venue became somewhat tedious, especially when we had 3 days of rainy weather. The hotel dining room and Waterfront restaurant leaks quite extensively, resulting in guests getting dripped on whilst eating or a wet bum after sitting on a wet seat. No additional activities/facilities to accommodate guests in poor weather resulted in the days being quite tedious.

Think again if you smoke, this hotel forbids smoking on guest balconies / patio areas. If discovered smoking on the balcony / patio areas there is a fine of $200 BDs. This is very irritating, and in addition smoking areas are very limited, and are generally occupied especially in the evenings. There is also a severe lack of ashtrays; these frequently need to be requested. These rules will obviously appeal to some visitors but I think the travel guides should inform guests so that they can make an informed decision about this aspect of their holiday.

All the staff are excellent and very attentive to the needs of their guests. Staff in all the restaurants and bars went out of there way to be friendly and helpful. Winston, Hilary, Wendy and other staff were very friendly and took the time, when possible, to chat to guests.

I agree that the food is of generally good quality, especially in the Waterfront restaurant. We generally like to eat our evening meal later in the evening say after 8pm, so often ate in the Waterfront and Asiagos restaurants rather than have the buffet. Our experience of the buffet was that if you ate early the food was fresh and hot, any later than 8pm the quality and temperature of the food declined. I agree with the other reviewers that the birds in the restaurants at breakfast and lunch time were a nuisance. This didn’t bother me too much but the bird muck deposited on the chairs wasn’t ideal so do check before sitting down.

I also agree that the sun beds around the pool were on the mucky side and there was a lack of umbrellas. However, there are plenty on the beach and towels are provided.

I think generally that this hotel needs a bit of TLC to maintain its 4 star status. The furnishings and decoration are becoming tatty. The leaks in the restaurants should be repaired etc.

We enjoyed our holiday but I doubt that we would return to the Turtle Beach.

If you do visit, Ted’s Island tour is to be recommended. This was an excellent day out with several rum punch stops included.

Room Tip: Poolside ideal for children, higher floors have nice sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewtownSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012 via mobile

just returned from staying at turtle beach for 10 days, we had an amazing time, hotel, staff,
Weather (a few downpours but soon dried up) beach, everything you could wish for.
We stayed in room 411 ocean view which had the most amazing views.
Food and service was excellent nothing to much trouble, very attentive and never left you your
Glass half full !!.
There was one thing that I found unacceptable was that some guests were entering the
Dining rooms in bare feet coming off the beach (waterfront) which I felt was unhygienic especially with food out on display, I mentioned to the restaurant manager and this was soon
Rectified, one guest did question when told to wear footwear saying it was a beachfront
Dining, but they said that restaurant policy states " footwear to be worn in all restaurants
Whilst dining"

Halfway through the stay the canadian football team arrived with there "WAGS" apparently very
Well known in Canada, they were there for training.

A big big thank you to captain Sam and his "crew" who could not do enough for you
Sunbeds awesome, drinks, ice lollies, fruit all served up on the beach.
Also I want to mention a lovely guy called Damien who was brilliant, always singing and always
Had a smile for you, works very very hard as they all do, a great great character.....thanks
Damien.

So go to turtle beach you will not be disappointed, took a trip to crystal cove made us very
Welcome and equally looks a great place.

BIRDS - you will get the birds wherever you go in the carribbean , we didn't think that they
We're that troublesome at turtle beach, just cover your drinks etc etc with napkin, when you leave the table, have been
To worse over the 10 years going to Barbados.

So a big big thank you to turtle beach for an amazing stay and will return.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank sunnyessex10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012

We stayed at Turtle Beach from the 9th April until the 16th April, before moving on the GPB Antigua the following week ( seperate review ). We were at the Turtle Beach to celebrate my wifes 50th birthday on the 13th and apart from the fact that our BA flight was delayed by 5 hours, everything was perfect.

We were greeted by smiles and a cold towel and drink at reception when we arrived, just what the doctor ordered after a very long day travelling. We were quickly signed in and shown to our room, which was an Ocean Front Room ( 437 ) and we were also given complimentary room service as we arrived at 21.00 hrs because of the delay.

We awoke to the sounds of the ocean and the view from the room was spectacular. See pictures.
The room was a good size and had everything you could require, even down to an Ipod dock !
The hotel has a complimentary Internet Cafe and all non motorised watersports are included, Speak to Captain Sam he will help you out.

The beach was very good and great for bodyboarding, ask my wife !!

The sunloungers are something else and are the best design I have ever had the pleasure to use. I was like having your own personal umbrella and you had the beach concierge for drinks etc.

The restaurants are very good with no repetious food, as stated on previous posts. You are in the Caribbean, you are going to get birds, cats, etc. Use a bit of common sense and cover your food/ drinks if you leave the table and all is good.

We did a couple of trips whilst in Barbados. Catamaran to swim with turtles which was brilliant and an island tour.You have got to go on the Reggae MiniVans to Bridgetown !!! $2BDS ( 70p )and the loudest Reggae music ever going at warp speed everywhere ! Briliant fun and should be on everyones bucket list.

I had e-mailed Olivia Skeete, Hotel Manager , a few times before our arrival to organise a " secret " Intimate Birthday dinner on the beach for my wife birthday on the 13th April as she is a " fussy " eater and the set menu would have to be altered. I met with Olivia and the Head Chef ( sorry, did not get your name ! ) and nothing was too much trouble for Chef.

The meal and the hotel was out of this world and really made my wifes birthday special. So much so, she did not want to leave !!

Thank you Olivia, Head Chef and your brilliant staff for all your hard work during our stay. We will be back, beware !!!

Gordon and Avril xx

Room Tip: If you can, upgrade to an top floor Ocean front room, as the views are spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AironetBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dover
0.1 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,030 reviews
10.3 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
3.4 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 8 in Saint Michael Parish
3,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
2,488 reviews
7.9 mi away
Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels
Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels
#7 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,797 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
#10 of 51 in Christ Church Parish
1,968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels

Property: Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
Address: Dover, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > Dover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"A vibrant blend of contemporary style and informal elegance." A truly magnificent all-inclusive property of 161 rooms situated on a glorious stretch of the south coast of Barbados. Turtle Beach Resort uniquely combines contemporary style, informal elegance, lively atmosphere and a superb range of facilities suitable for all ages, including a supervised kids Club (for children aged 4-12) setting new standards for all-inclusive holidays to the Caribbean. Complimentary WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Beach By Elegant Hotel Dover
Turtle Beach Barbados
Turtle Beach Resort Barbados
Hotel Turtle Beach
Turtle Beach By Elegant Hotels Barbados/Dover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing