We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic wedding/Honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Dover
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 5 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic wedding/Honeymoon”
Reviewed September 24, 2011

We have just returned from our wedding/ honeymoon at the Turtle Beach and enjoyed every minute of our stay. The rooms were just like the photos, clean and bright. The food was very good and the cocktails were endless. We had a great spot of the beach and can not fault the beach boys who were fun, helpful and always friendly (very deserving of a tip at the end of our stay as often forgotten). The wedding was amazing although it rained all day, we used Stuart Tippleston for photophaphy who was amazing (full review http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/ShowTopic-g147262-i230-k4834776-Barbados_Photography_Stuart_Tippleston-Barbados.html) Kinda the wedding planner was fantastic and helped us from start to finish with our special day who I can not thank enough. We will return to Barbados hopefully next year and I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: You will be better off with any room at the Turtle beach than the Casuarina next door. If you have n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank rebplum81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,387
    832
    260
    112
    64
See reviews for
969
1,048
13
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (694)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Went here on a short honeymoon. Overall we really enjoyed our stay. The beach was the best, very clean, warm, slight waves... perfect! They offer free activities on the beach including the catamaran, where a guide will take you out for a 20 min ride - we saw a sea turtle just floating by when we took the catamaran! There are people to help you get loungers which is nice.
The food however was nothing special, as given its a smaller property, there wasn't that much selection. The asiago's restaurant was the best one however, and that was the best meal we had during our stay. I had the duck entree - very well done. Also, their bar staff were amazing! We had great drinks all the time - we tried everything! They make them strong too.
A problem we encountered however, was that their restaurants were all in open air - i.e. no air conditioner, so if you are sensitive to heat that might be a problem. We enjoyed the all inclusive aspect of this hotel, which meant we didn't have to worry about going out and looking for food. It was very close to the airport and Bridgetown, so its in good location for sight seeing. The main reason we chose to go to Barbados was that its a relatively safe place - hurricane wise, mosquitoes wise - especially during september. However, for a winter getaway, it would be better value to go elsewhere, as this place is not the best bang for your buck.
That said, the resort is operated by very friendly people and overall a very pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlleyCat1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2011

Loved this hotel. Never visited the same hotel twice but will revisit this one. Had such a lovely friendly vibe. Room overlooking the pool out to the beach, gorgeous. Food fabulous, staff so helpful and friendly. Beach - stunning with golden sand and rolling waves which we loved. Best sunloungers ever, and plenty of them. Buffet at lunch time was too tempting - came home few pounds heavier. The hotel was quite full when we were there but service was still good.
Barbados is a fabuous island, with lovely friendly people. My husband needed a doctor for an ear infection while we were there so we went to the local surgery - the doctor was more like a travel agent - told us where to dive - when the ear infection cleared up of course!
Booked the gospel choir breakfast at Crane Beach Hotel from reception. Taxi took us there. Fabulous setting, breakfast the same as Turtle Beach but if you want to have a special experience it was definitely that. We intend to return!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Michael123123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

We booked into the Turtle Beach at relatively short notice for a holiday in September 2011. Being somewhat out of season the resort was pretty quiet but that didn't affect the availability of the facilities. It's an all inclusive resort and they don't skimp on the food and drink on offer. We've been to a couple of all inclusives in the past and in comparison the meals and drinks were of a consistently good quality.

The staff were always keen to help and very friendly (in fact the only people we were less than impressed by were those on reception - not always as efficient as we would have liked), the facilites were good (the pools were clean and well maintained) and the beach was excellent (we particularly enjoyed the free-to-use watersports equipment).

We stayed in an ocean view suite - it felt new and was in excellent condition - we heard that not all of the other room types were as good but had no experience of this personally.

The only observation that we'd make was that the resort is relatively compact, and we wonder if it'd feel rather crowded under full occupancy.

As a general tip, avoid the taxis and make use of the public transport - lots of fun, people very friendly, and the number 11 minibus runs regularly up to Bridgetown...

Room Tip: God for the ocean view rooms, rather than the pool/garden view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

We booked this hotel at the very last minute, and came up trumps! We wanted a holiday that had something for everyone, activities for the kids to enjoy independently, some activities for us to take part in as a family, and an opportunity to relax and re charge. On arrival the staff were attentive and professional, and after a delicious rum punch we were taken to our room. We booked an ocean view suite, and were pleasantly surprised at how spacious it was and with a fantastic view of the pool and sea beyond. We had never been to the caribean before and weren't sure how we would cope with the heat. We were pleased to have booked a hotel on the south coast as the breeze was a pleasant relief, and the waves made the holiday for our 9 yr old son. There were a couple of days when the size of the waves meant that our 4 yr old had to steer clear, but on the days when she went in with us, she loved it! Whilst on the beach we were under the watchful eye of Captain Sam and his merry men, who were there to organise the water sports, issue us with sun beds ( in our favourite spot, without prompting), and generally keep us safe. They did a fantastic job, and were the nicest, polite and most chilled out guys! Nothing was too much trouble. Thank you. On the whole the staff in the hotel were exellent, and this more than contributed to the success of our holiday. Our children have especially asked us to mention the kids club and staff, who were also excellent. It was run extremely professionally, and we had no qualms about leaving the children in their capable hands. In the mornings they couldn't wait to see what activities were planned, and we arranged our days accordingly. To sum up, if you are after a relaxing family holiday, where there is something for everyone, and the staff are plentiful and attentive then this hotel is perfect. It is not luxurious, but being 4 star we didnt expect it to be. We will be back, along with plenty of other families we spoke to!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Carol186230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin,ireland
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Myself and my girlfriend have been to Barbados several times and stayed at turtle beach for a change. We were looking for a quiet romantic place to stay which this hotel isn't. Don't get me wrong it's great hotel for families with young kids with every kind of facility laid on. Rooms top quality with excellent ocean view.dining was very good. We tended to go to the Italian restaurant as no kids!! Gorgeous beach. Staff lovely. Very convenient location to St Lawrence gap for nightlife and restaurants.
Overall great but if looking for a quiet romantic place then it's sister hotel crystal cove better option.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jk3278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

I can only say good things about this resort. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable. We had booked a junior suite with pool/garden view (the lowest standard of room in this resort) and it was excellent; we even ended up with an amazing ocean view.

The staff are very friendly and helpful. Their overriding attitude was "you're on holiday, we'll do everything for you".

The best thing about this resort is the beach. The water was like a luke-warm bath, there was ample amounts of sun-loungers (each of which has an individual cover - perfect for a pasty white Irishman like myself!!) and we were served drinks on the beach at regular intervals.

The only negative was that we didn't get to eat in the Asagios restaurant. This was hihgly recommended but, because of it's popularity, it was booked out by 7.30am anytime it was open. It appears you have to get down for breakfast at 7am to ensure you get a booking there.

All in all though, a great resort. I would also highly recommend going to Barbados in September. During our entire stay there was one shower which lasted approx 20 minutes - other than that it was beautiful sunshine everyday. And we got a fantastic late deal because due to the time of year.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank StEndas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dover
0.1 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,031 reviews
10.3 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
3.4 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 8 in Saint Michael Parish
3,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
2,488 reviews
7.9 mi away
Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels
Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels
#7 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,797 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
#10 of 51 in Christ Church Parish
1,968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels

Property: Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
Address: Dover, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > Dover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"A vibrant blend of contemporary style and informal elegance." A truly magnificent all-inclusive property of 161 rooms situated on a glorious stretch of the south coast of Barbados. Turtle Beach Resort uniquely combines contemporary style, informal elegance, lively atmosphere and a superb range of facilities suitable for all ages, including a supervised kids Club (for children aged 4-12) setting new standards for all-inclusive holidays to the Caribbean. Complimentary WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Beach By Elegant Hotel Dover
Turtle Beach Barbados
Turtle Beach Resort Barbados
Hotel Turtle Beach
Turtle Beach By Elegant Hotels Barbados/Dover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing