We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Silver Moon”

Silver Moon Cruises
Certificate of Excellence
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Silver Moon”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We had a fantastic day out on Silvermoon during our visit to Barbados last month. It was our third trip on the boat this year. We opt for the 12 person cruise and it is very relaxing. The crew are very attentitive. Our captain Stacey is great fun and her and Nick make a good team. If you have a child who is not that confident in the sea at snorkelling they are both very good at helping children to get the most enjoyment out of their day.
Lunch is delicious and there is plenty of choice of drinks throughout the day. Its fun racing the other boats back to harbour at the end of the day.
Our only complaint is the day is over too soon.

Can't wait to do it again next year. Thank you Silvermoon for a wonderful day out every time.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    4
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Needville, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Day (Turtles, Fush, and Good Food!!)”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Our theme for this trip's snorkeling adventures was to avoid the catamarans loaded with people in every possible seating area. This company provides the perfect opportunity to do just that. Like anything else, you get what you pay for but paying $115/pp to be on a large cat with only 12 people is so much better than paying $69/pp to be a sardine!!

The bus picked us up at the pier. The folks driving us over to the Silver Moon were efficient and courteous. Someone always manages to be late (Why??), but we were off just a few minutes behind schedule and headed to the dock.

Once on the dock, we were taken to a beautifully maintained catamaran and introduced to the crew. We motored out of port and were under sail in just a few minutes. Drinks were served both on boarding and regularly through the day. Very impressive level of service.

First stop--the turtles. The sea turtles were beautiful and they swam right into the middle of our group (with some food to coax them in!). We spent 30-45 minutes enjoying four or five different turtles before heading to the next site.

The second stop was a snorkel tour of sorts with lots of coral, a wreck, and many varieties of fish. They led us around in a circle at a leisurely pace to see all that was to be seen in the area before bringing us back on board for our final stop.

The last stop was for lunch and beach time. They served a delicious buffet lunch with chicken, fish, mac and cheese, salad, rice and some other things. They also provided a pepper sauce sure to tingle the taste buds. After lunch, there was ample time to either sit around and have a drink while taking in the view, swim near the boat, or make a short swim to the beach. We did the beach swim and enjoyed it.

The trip back under sail was relaxing and we were all too soon back in port and headed back to the Carnival Victory to head off to our next port of call...

My best advice--do charters or small group trips like this. It is SO MUCH BETTER than being part of a large group.

The level of service and the personnel on the Silver Moon was very high--we look forward to sailing with them again!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank RonCam2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“not to miss”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Put this on the top of your Barbados "to do" list. A very relaxing cruise, snorkel ,lunch. AHHH! Not crowded. On our first cruise this trip there were 7 other passengers, on our second cruise this trip there were 10. That's right it was so great we went twice!! Fantastic crew.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank mako252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“fantastic day”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Just back from a 5 hour cruise on Silver Moon3. What can we say.....if you're in Barbados, you must do this trip. Everything about the cruise is perfect, the crew are great fun whilst always professional. The buffet lunch had all of our favourite Bajan food, so our two 16 year old guys really enjoyed that. The snorkelling stop offs were great, and the crew make sure that even novices like myself can enjoy the experience safely.(Me, swimming next to a turtle...unbelievable!)
We would recommend this cruise to all ages, couples, families and grandparents....just get your sunblock on and get out there! Thanks again for a fab day.
Angie,Eddy,Jet & Matty.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AngeliaPearson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed January 1, 2012

We booked a snorkel excursion with silver moon in June 2011. It was one of the highlights of our cruise!! We were picked up and taken by bus to the boat quickly. Once on board we were off sailing down the beautiful coast. Drinks were plentiful and there was plenty of room for everyone. Once we arrived at the first site to snorkel one of the crew jumped in to feed the sea turtles. Snorkeling with sea turtles was so amazing!!!! My only complaint was that it was a very short stop. We headed out to a second location to snorkel and the waves became large....we were called back to the boat and as soon as we got on it began to rain. Obviously not the fault of the crew and we appreciated their concern for everyone's safety. We dropped anchor near a beach and the crew cooked a wonderful lunch (needed after all the drinks!).

A wonderful day came to an end too soon as we sailed back to the port. We loved our day with Silver Moon and the only recommendation would be to make the turtle snorkel longer please!

Helpful?
Thank amyf99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Silver Moon Cruises also viewed

Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
 
Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
Christ Church Parish, Barbados
 

Been to Silver Moon Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing