We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location for family stay during Spring Break, with some caveats”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Barbados Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice location for family stay during Spring Break, with some caveats”
Reviewed April 13, 2010

Went to Hilton Barbados at Spring Break, during which most guests were families with young to mid-teen children, about half being American and the other half European. It had a very nice family atmosphere. I give the hotel an "A" for its location, pool and beach. It is 30 minutes from the airport, has 2 large pools with plenty of beach chairs and umbrellas, and has a pretty beach with crystal turquoise water and small to medium waves. The hotel also gets an "A" for cleanliness, as everything was clean and furnishings were up-to-date. Our maid service was particularly thorough. Now the downside: grades "B" to "F" on food and customer service. The food off the menu in the hotel's family-friendly restaurant was bland and uninspired, though the nightly buffet seemed to be a favorite among guests. We had one case of food poisoning--not good. Staff is reserved and does not engage in small talk. There is no sense of urgency to fulfill requests, and although being on "island time," I noticed that staff would rather engage in conversations with other staff, clean tables, or stack bar glasses than take care of guests. It almost felt like we were interlopers, not guests, while there. In the executive lounge, there was a huge, all-chocolate display with chocolate eggs and lollipops for Easter, with signs saying "Do Not Eat." No other Easter goodies were provided, leaving kids salivating and being told none of it was for them. We did find the concierge very efficient and knowledgeable at recommending and booking off-site activities. If you do go here, be sure to ask for an unobstructed oceanview room and pay for an executive level room with lounge privileges. The lounge provides internet access, and complimentary breakfast, afternoon tea, sodas & snacks, and evening hors d'heurves. There is a restaurant within walking distance called "Brown Sugar" that with good to excellent food.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prsandmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,668
    1,301
    441
    145
    103
See reviews for
957
1,479
161
474
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (800)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2010

Rooms were nice and clean and updated. Pool was really nice. Breakfast buffet is oh so good but expensive. food at the pool bar was good! check-out was painfully slow and frustrating. the beach is a bit of a hike from the pool, and the waves kind of rough, but the waves were sort of fun. you definitely cant swim in it. you need a car if youre going to stay at the Hilton. Other than the very very slow checkout our stay was enjoyable and we will come back to the Hilton Barbados.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SUMMAGOLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2010

We had a very enjoyable stay here in February. I have summarised some of the key points in our opinion:

The good......
- Our room was lovely, a good size with an amazing sea view
- The gym was well equipped and not overcrowded at any times (free towels, water etc)
- The beach and pool areas were lovely and well maintained
- Food in the restaurants and pool bar was always enjoyable
- Staff were friendly
- Contiental breakfasts included a wide choice including a lot of fruit, yogarts, toast etc.. We didnt have the main breakfasts but these looked good also.

The not so good....
- There was no fridge in the room you were able to use for water, wine etc
- The service on reception was a bit patchy - always friendly but you couldnt always get the answers required.
- The location was perfect if you want to be in a peaceful location, however it did mean that in the evenings you cannot walk to a selection of restaurants - the nearest selection is at St Lawrence Gap where there is a big choice.

Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank HanD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2010

Our stay at the Hilton was the best of any Hilton Resort I have previously been too. The service was exceptional and the facilities were awesome. The beach, which was isolated, had perfect white sands and was the best of any of the beaches we had visited on the island during our stay (even though other beaches had been highly rated by trip advisor). Our only complaint was that it was (like most other Hilton Resorts) a bit pricey when it came to food and drinks. Spending $75-100 daily on the beach for lunch and drinks for 2 was the norm. All in all, we had a great time and would consider a return trip to the Hilton Barbados.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HHDiamondVIPmember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2010

After reading lots of reviews of the Barbados Hilton prior to my trip it is now my turn to review the hotel . . .the good with the bad. So here it goes!

Reservation – F, We booked online using the Advance Rate to get the best deal. Unfortunately, the room rate went down and the Hilton would not honor the lower rate. So be warned – don’t book using the Advance Rate b/c the Hilton only honors its Advance Rate for 24 hours.

Room – B+, We booked a bay view room which was smaller than I expected, but was nicely appointed. The view was great! There is no need to upgrade to an ocean view room b/c the bay is beautiful! AC worked perfectly. I thought the bed was great – my husband thought it was too hard. The bathrooms were updated and nice and the terrace was a sweet breezy touch.

Grounds – B, We enjoyed the manicured beach at sunset and 2 large pools during the day. There did not seem to be enough poolside umbrellas though, and they were too heavy to move for shade on our own. The fort on the edge of the property prevented us from walking around the hotel so we exited out of the hotel and resumed our walks on the other side of the hotel.

Surf/Ocean – C, We visited at the end of Feb and encountered a red (do not enter) flag one day and a yellow (use caution) flag another day. We were very disappointed with the rough sea in front of the Hilton. We are both strong swimmers BUT found it worth the 10 minute walk away from the Hilton to swim on public beach with calm clear water. I certainly did not think I would have to LEAVE the resort to find calm swimmable water!

Location – C, We found the Hilton Barbados to too remote for our liking. We are New Yorkers and do not mind waking or taking taxis, but it is not so fun to have to take a roundtrip cab for a quick lunch (we got bored of the poolside restaurant after day 4)! The hotel is a short taxi ride from “The Gap” which is a small strip of restaurants/bars. We did not care for The Gap – we expected more nightlife and more restaurants! Also, we thought we would be able to walk to more restaurants from the hotel in general – we walked for about 25 minutes in either direction along the beach and in both directions on the road and there was NOT a restaurant in sight (except for Brown Sugar).

Hotel Food - C+, As others have noted The Lighthouse offers buffet and a la cart breakfast options. Unfortunately, we experienced terrible food and service. We actually decided granola bars from the gift shop were a better bet for breakfast! We enjoyed lunch at the poolside restaurant; it’s mainly burgers and sandwiches, but was just fine. For dinner we ate once at the hotel for the “beach show” the buffet should be avoided unless you like paying top dollar for chicken nuggets, dry meat and oily fish. The show itself was satisfactory once we looked past the offensive “big butt” dance.

Staff – B, The front desk, housekeeping and poolside bar staff were great. The pool staff should have been friendlier and concierge could have been more knowledgeable. Overall everyone was fine though.

The BEST thing about our trip was . . .
Tiami Tours – A+, The highlight of our trip was our catamaran tour and snorkel trip w/ Tiami! The staff was great! The excursion was absolutely perfect - from the on time bus pick-up from our hotel to the gourmet lunch and snorkeling with several sea turtles we had an amazing time!

I’ll just mention 2 restaurants – this is a long review! (Are you still reading?)

Lobsters Alive – A, We walked along to beach for a while and came across this great little beach restaurant. While the prices are high the food is worth it! Our lobster and steak were the best meal we had on Barbados, the frozen drinks were very good too! Call ahead and make sure live music is being played.

Champers Restaurant – C-, We wanted to LOVE Champers. The atmosphere is stunning! Our table was perched cliffside over illuminated water. It was so beautiful, unfortunately that’s where my good review ends. The food was just OK and my cocktail came ½ full, when I requested a full drink I was told that’s how high they fill up the glass! (When I order a pricey cocktail - I want a full drink!)

So there you have it my review of the Barbados Hilton.
Will I return? Nope
Do I recommend it to you? Nope
Sure I had a good time, but the Hilton’s location, rough surf and average to bad food did not win me over. Bon voyage!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LizEats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2010

Dive shop on site , but not the best, way too many people per trip.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gpick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2010

We stayed from Jan 28/10 to Feb 4/10.
The hotel is in close proximity to Bridgetown and the walkable boardwalk is in close proximity. As a Diamond VIP Hilton member we had acess to the Executive lounge which had great breakfast and excellent staff. Pools were expansive and not crowded. Beach was clean and well protected.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaceyGreenTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Michael Parish
3.2 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,048 reviews
8.2 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
0.6 mi away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
319 reviews
11.4 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
2,516 reviews
3.6 mi away
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
#10 of 51 in Christ Church Parish
1,976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Barbados Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Barbados Resort

Property: Hilton Barbados Resort
Address: Needham's Point, BB 11000, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Michael Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Saint Michael Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Barbados Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The upscale Hilton Barbados Resort, winner of the 2016 TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence, boasts a prime location on the lush tropical peninsula of Needham's Point in Barbados. Each of the 350 beautifully-appointed rooms & suites offers a private balcony and beautiful ocean views. Hilton Barbados Resort offers amenities tailored for couples, families, and all kinds of travelers, plus it's 100% non smoking and fully accessible, becoming versatile paradise for all. Conveniently located, the resort is just five minutes from the island's capital, Bridgetown, 20 minutes from Grantley Adams International Airport and walking distance to the newly listed UNESCO World Heritage site of The Garrison. Some of the facilities include a sparkling pool complex with whirlpool, on-site scuba diving center, three tennis courts, four restaurants and a Fitness & Health Centre with spa treatment rooms overlooking Carlisle Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Barbados Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Barbados Hotel Saint Michael
Hilton Hotel Bridgetown
Hilton Bridgetown
Barbados Hilton
Bridgetown Hilton
Hilton Barbados Resort Saint Michael Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing