We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Accommodations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Barbados Resort
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Accommodations”
Reviewed October 2, 2009

My husband and I found the Barbados Hilton to be an excellent hotel providing many of the amenities found in more upscale resorts as well as all the efficiencies that are important to the business traveler. The warm welcome that we received from the very attentive staff set the tone for our leisure get-a-way. Our room was very clean, comfortable, and spacious with a beautiful view of Carlisle Bay and the lighted shoreline at night. The entire staff was courteous and very accommodating. The Breakfast Buffet at the Lighthouse restaurant was very good as well as the BBQ dinner on the beach with live enterainment. Food and drinks were expensive at this hotel so venturing out to surrounding restaurants provided a cost savings as well as different dining experiences. We will definitely return to this hotel for leisure as well as business related trips to Barbados.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ssnb613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,651
    1,281
    438
    144
    99
See reviews for
931
1,471
159
472
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (795)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2009

The Barbados Hilton is clean and well designed, the spacious outdoor lobby is impressive and most of the staff are welcoming. The breakfast at the Lighthouse is good and if you can get an outside seat it is set in a pleasant environment facing out on to the beach.
Where I think this hotel lacks is if you are looking for a romantic getaway or perhaps something a little unique. It is very similar to many American style hotels in that it runs smoothly and plays it very safe but is somewhat lacking in character or charm. The beach for instance is very pleasant but is fairly bland and the rocks in the sea can make it a little tricky when going for a dip. It also gets a little busy at times and you dont get too much privacy.
Rooms in the hotel are standard, I have stayed here 3 times and twice took a room overlooking Bridgetown and once overlooking the beach. My preference is definitely the beach side although you do have to put up with Karaoke blasting out from the beach bar but it all stops at around 8pm. In the mornings waking up and sitting on the balcony listening to the bird song and waves is very relaxing.
Overall service was pleasant and at a level you come to expect in the Caribbean (a little below European, quite a bit below US and a lot below Asia).
I like the Hilton at Needhams Point, it is the kind of hotel you can just relax in but dont expect a hidden paradise or anything quirky or local. I would say it is like a US hotel plonked at the end of Needhams Point.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
josie7221
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2009

I had the wonderful pleasure of staying at the Hilton Barbados from Sept. 19-26. The hotel is beautiful with an open-air lobby, beautiful guest rooms, and a lovely beach. I found the staff to be very friendly, warm, and professional. The property is lovely with a few pools, one being the infinity pool. The breakfast at the Lighthouse restuarant was good. I did not eat lunch or dinner on the property because it was too expensive. Dinner buffet was $45 . There is a nice Barbadian restuarant located on the main road called "Brown Sugar" that was really nice and the food was delicious. My room looked exactly like the pictures posted online however my king size bayview room was smaller than I anticipated. The view from my room was lovely! The room was contemporay in style which I loved. If you are looking for a nice propery with spacious and lovely rooms, and lush gardening, "The Crane" is a nice hotel though expensive. If you are lookin for a hotel with average size rooms that are lovely and moderately prices, I would suggest the hilton. The Hilton hotel is situated where you can find alternate places to eat such an Indian roti shop that sells all types of rotis and a Bajan shop that sell all type of foods. These are within walking distance from the hotel (perhaps 5 minutes). The Hilton Barbados and The Crane are two of the most lovely properties on the island. I was not ready to leave on last evening. I could not have asked for a nicer vacation. I will be back next year!!!

Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank josie7221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle, wa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2009

Hilton Barbados is by far the best hotel that we have ever been to! Very clean and the amenites were great. They have two large pools in a grotto like setting and a beach that is to die for! The Hilton always kept the beach on its property very clean and well kept. We went in September which is considered the "off season" i guess because its supposed to rain. We stayed 10 days and didnt see any rain at all. We heard it had rained overnight one night but we didnt see any signs of it in the morning. Because it was the off season, it seemed like we had the whole island to ourselves! It was amazing. The hotel pool/lounge chairs were never crowed, in fact we were the only people in the infinity pool everytime we went there (which was everyday sometimes twice a day). We also went to the Boatyard which is a beach with water activies and restuarants..etc and we were literally the only people there. It was very romantic. Barbados has the clearest blue waters and the softest white sands. But the food in Barbados is really expensive, most nights we payed double what we would in the U.S for dinner. Even with that I would still recommend Barbados and especially the Hilton.

For things to do check out Harbour lights on monday or wednesday nights, its like a luau Bajan style. Also, do the Cool Runnings catamaran, so fun snorkeling with the turtles and food was excellent. As well as the above mentioned boatyard.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank niomi8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2009

We used our Hilton points to spend a week in August. We were amazed by the deal. 170,000 points + $63 for 6 nights. The $63 was a special offer for 2 more nights. I don't think we would have selected this destination if we had to pay full price. Adding the cost of the room to the very expensive food would have been outrageous.

We were blessed with beautiful sunny weather and relaxing beach days. The waves were huge due to a storm in the Caribbean, which was perfect for us. We grew up body surfing waves in NJ. I had to laugh at the red danger flag posted on the beach that meant "no swimming". It was faded and torn, and no one ever took it down, not even when the ocean was totally calm.

Most guests stayed by the pool with good reason. It's two-tiered with an infinity pool on the top level and an active pool on the bottom. The top level is the quiet area with a large patio shaded partially by trees. I always appreciate a separate "quiet pool".

The hotel is located on a peninsula and an old fort lies on the property. The fort's sea walls and the small beach below it provide excellent spots for watching the sunset. We also took a taxi to The Gap for dinner, and hired a taxi for a 3-hour tour of the island. Our driver was Tyrone. His cell number is (--) or ask for him at the bellman's desk. He was very friendly and informative. We also hired him to go into Bridgetown, but there really isn't much to see or do there. The shopping is not worth the trip.

Lastly, I'd like to warn everyone about sunburn. We live in the south and use proper sun protection every day of the year, but we forgot about being so close to the equator. We used SPF 30 sport, wore hats and stayed in the shade and still got sunburn. Take a hint from the little British kids in their long sleeved UV suits and take extra precaution.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HSVTraveler46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 17, 2009

My wife and I have just returned from a 10 night honeymoon stay at the Hilton Barbados. Firstly, and without wishing to appear negetive from the outset, i would not recommend this hotel as a honeymoon hotel. That is not to say it is bad, far from it. Its just that in my opinion it caters more for the business traveller and or family break. The staff are very friendly if a little robotic sometimes. nothing is too much trouble for them. The room we stayed in was a deluxe ocean view room, fairly standard room for the Hilton. The room itself was comfortable, clean but nothing spectacular. the particular room we had, had inter joining doors to the room next door, so consequently privacy was a bit of an issue, especially when the couple next door had blazing rows every night of which we could hear at high volume, clearly im not holding the Hilton responsible for the conduct of some of its guest, merely pointing out that doors between rooms highlight these types of issues. We were on a half board option ( breakfast & Dinner) and as on other half board holidays we expected to be given a card, or a band indicating that were half board, instead of which everytime we ate, or had a drink at the bar we asked our room number and had to sign a bill at the end of every meal. By the end of week we had over 50 receipts, which is frankly annoying having to constantly sign for something that you have already paid for?? In terms of value of money, the Hilton Barbados is way overpriced for what it is. We ate in the 'Grille' restaurant a few nights with wedding present money, and although a charming atmousphere with great service, the prices are madness. £30+ for a bottle of wine, £30+ for a fillet steak, etc etc. £4 for a small beer. In summary a decent hotel, not for honeymooners in our opinion, and extremely overpriced.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank padlis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Hilton in Barbados for 7 days and both agree that it was one of the best vacations we have ever had. The location of the Hilton is absolutely breathtaking, the beach in front of the hotel was immaculate, the staff was wonderful, polite & accommodating, the food was excellent (though I recommend venturing out to try some local cuisine as well), the pool is fabulous, the activities are fun, and it is an all around wonderful place to stay!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KCooker21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Michael Parish
3.2 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,031 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
8.2 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,050 reviews
11.4 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
2,488 reviews
3.6 mi away
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
#10 of 51 in Christ Church Parish
1,968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Barbados Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Barbados Resort

Property: Hilton Barbados Resort
Address: Needham's Point, BB 11000, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Michael Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Saint Michael Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Barbados Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The upscale Hilton Barbados Resort, winner of the 2014 TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence, boasts a prime location on the lush tropical peninsula of Needham's Point in Barbados. Each of the 350 beautifully-appointed rooms & suites offers a private balcony and beautiful ocean views. Hilton Barbados Resort offers amenities tailored for couples, families, and all kinds of travelers, plus it's 100% non smoking and fully accessible, becoming versatile paradise for all. Conveniently located, the resort is just five minutes from the island's capital, Bridgetown, 20 minutes from Grantley Adams International Airport and walking distance to the newly listed UNESCO World Heritage site of The Garrison. Some of the facilities include a sparkling pool complex with whirlpool, on-site scuba diving center, three tennis courts, four restaurants and a Fitness & Health Centre with spa treatment rooms overlooking Carlisle Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Barbados Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Barbados Hotel Saint Michael
Hilton Hotel Bridgetown
Hilton Bridgetown
Barbados Hilton
Bridgetown Hilton
Hilton Barbados Resort Saint Michael Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing