We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Explore beautiful barbados and enjoy hilton luxury!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Barbados Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hilton Barbados Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburg, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Explore beautiful barbados and enjoy hilton luxury!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

A family, we booked a suite, loads of space. A note if used to Europe hilton s esp city then the rooms furnishings are not so bling. The same goes for the exec suite, fab just not as polished as other hiltons, still good but different.

The room fab, views of horses in the sea early Morning. Air con and bathroom all spot on and clean.

Exec suite good value, esp coffee and cake. Alcohol is paid for but fair, light snack at night tasty. Breakfast plentiful, you could go to the big restaurant but plenty here.

The staff absolutely made the experience superb. Smiles, friendly they genuinely want you to have a great time on their island.

Marie and Audry in reception great to help organise your tours.

Pools fab sea and beach perfect. Location spot on although we did hire a car.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sally R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,556
    1,190
    405
    132
    88
See reviews for
869
1,383
147
433
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (766)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

Being people that want an excellent value, we couldn't have been more pleased with our stay. Only ate at the breakfast buffet, but it was the best ever! Hotel staff (everyone we came in contact with) was superb. Friendly and helpful. Property grounds are beautiful, pool was very relaxing, beach small (but clean) & enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
3 Thank Debra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

Great location, 15 mins from airport. Friendly staff. Extremely clean and well kept inside and out. Good amenities. Slightly limited choices in hotel restaurants, but what is there is very good, fresh, well presented and tasty. We stayed in an exec room on the 6th floor and therefore took advantage of the exec lounge on the 8th floor - which served to keep us full on drinks and snacks from breakfast through till we went out for dinner in the evening. Tried room service twice, this was prompt and really good - price was ok considering it was room service and they called shortly after to check we had eaten and everything was ok. If we needed anything at all, we called the help desk and it was there within 5 minutes.

The view from our room (a sea view) was absolutely stunning, and our balcony was very private.

We hired a car for the full 10 days, which was great because we were able to really explore the island. Everyone we encountered was friendly, helpful and very open. Watch out for people trying to flag your car down in the outer regions though - they are completely harmless but want to give you tourist advice for a small donation - took us a couple of times to realise and then we just waved back and drove past.

Also, watch out for the 'masseuse' outside the hotel on the beach - unless you want an unprofessional massage with coconut oil - the one they use for cooking!! :)

The beauty treatments in the hotel on the 6th floor are fabulous. Total professionals - fully recommend a shoulder and back massage - heavenly!

We fit a lot into our holiday, submarine trip, swimming with turtles (save yourself a fortune by doing this directly through 'Barbados Blue' in the hilton car park), jet ski-ing, snorkelling, wildlife reserve (feeding monkeys, tortoises, deer etc and walking in the rainforest) and exploring the designer shops in Holetown where you can buy duty free designer stuff. We ate in really lovely, high class restaurants (such as Champers and Cin Cin) and did one or two museums such as Sunbury house - which is an old plantation house with loads of antiques and stuff and everything was really reasonably priced.

Do take advantage of the booking service in reception to book tables at restaurants, but try to book your own trips direct using the phone numbers in the guides provided at the hotel - works out cheaper.

On the whole, a wonderful holiday - can't fault it at all - looking forward to going back :)

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a sea view, the higher floor, the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank MJKidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

I'll begin by saying that this hotel is spotless. EACH employee was extremely friendly and helpful. Actually, we found that to be true of every resident on the island! I've traveled to various locations throughout the Caribbean and I cannot make the same statement of those. We ordered room service a few times. It's pricey, but room service is pricey in every hotel. It's convenient. That being said..it is what it is. We ordered drinks from the pool bar daily both during happy hour as well as other times. Bummer that non-alcoholic drinks (for our teen) were not included in happy hour. Couldn't figure that one out, but we lived through it. Car rental from Stoutes at the airport was easy. They did not have any navigation systems available, but they happily met my husband in the hotel lobby the next day as promised. Enjoyed several trips to The St Lawrence Gap for good meals and souvenir shopping. Several places at The Gap for beautiful scenery and snapshots. Ostin's is a little beyond that and we visited several times as well. If you're on the fence, GO! You will enjoy great sunshine and Extraordinary hospitality!!!
OMG!!!! How could I forget? If you have the opportunity, visit the Lonestar Restaurant in the St James Parrish. We discovered it by accident. Approximately 30 minutes by car. I noticed several bus stops along the way so I'm certain it's accessible by bus as well. Worth EVERY moment. Awesome food, spotless, and located directly on the beach. Enjoyed a fabulous meal while looking out at the white sand and clear blue waters. If you need to take a stroll after your wonderful meal, knock yourself out. The beach is less than 10 steps away.
Life is good. :)
Safe Travels!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MsPam12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is very comfortable and the service is very good. The cost is quite high but they offer a lot. Multiple restaurants and several great beaches. There is only 1 local restaurant in walking distance but it is a good one.
The downside is that one of the main restaurants is only open a few days each week so that limits you on food choices. All the beaches are public so there are vendors walking about trying to sell you things.
Try the specialty rum punch!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank chuck1063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
135 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

This hotel is better than a lot of other Hiltons. The staff are genuinely friendly and helpful. The rooms are same same. Breakfast at Hiltons are always below standard but this was ok here. The room service menu is rubbish and mysterisoulsy familiar to other Hiltons.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Businesstravellerr8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

This was a fantastic place to stay.
My son loved the Kidz Paradise. They had a comprehensive range of activities and Sonia & Antoinette in there are fab with kids. My husband loved Barbados Blue - the dive shop - where they took him on a variety of well organised dives. And I loved the spa and the pool and the food!
Out the back of the hotel the sea is a little rougher (as it is on the East side of the island) and it's fun to throw yourself about in the waves. If you go out of the front of the hotel you get a much more calm beach where we could snorkel easily; and could even reach the marine park on foot for some excellent snorkelling on wrecks.
It is a bit of a walk to get to more than a few eating places - but it is fine - we did it almost every evening with a 5-yr-old. It was easy to take a ZR (reggae bus!) and for only $1 you can get a very long way and get off anywhere on the Bridgetown to Oistins route. The stop is only a couple of minutes walk from the hotel.
The staff at the hotel are absolutely fantastic on the whole and they are what make the hotel so good. In the past we haven't stayed at such large hotels as we like a "friendly and personal experience" but we were pleasantly surprised by the fact that we had the same experience in a larger resort.
The room cleaners are fantastic. So are the shop managers, reception staff, waiters, childrens workers, spa girls, etc. They get to know your name and ask after your experiences, etc. The only member of staff that we discovered who was not so great was a young lady working on the towels service as she seemed disgruntled a lot of the time and we struggled with knowing what to do with our towels on a few occasions. (It is straight-forward enough though - so if you do use it you just give a towel card in to the hut on the beach and they give you a towel then they give the card back when you return it. If there is no-one at the hut in the early evening you put the towel back in a container outside the gym and then make sure you get your card back from there).
The breakfast was excellent every day, and I'm a vegetarian. Barbadians love their meat but I never had a problem finding food. The breakfast had a little something new to try every day along with the usual bacon & eggs, fruits, cereals, muffins, cakes, etc. (It was a massive array of stuff).
The room was pleasant and large. We found on arrival that British Airways appeared not to have booked a bed for our son. But the porter sorted this out for us and within 5 minutes of arriving in the room they had brought up a bed and made it up. They are highly efficient and helpful.
As Brits we were perhaps more unaware than many people of what/when to tip. Meals and drinks at the hotel are described as "service charge included" and they add 10% to the bill. However, we found out (from a waitress in a different restaurant) that that's not exactly a tip to someone like herself and that it gets divided out between all staff. So when we received very good service after that (which we often did) we then tipped on top of that. So it is useful to take some smaller denominations with you and they actually more often use Barbados dollars that US dollars. (Although both are readily accepted).
The pool complex at the hotel is vastly superior to any other place that we saw (the closest hotel being a Radisson). We saw them cleaning it every day and it was always immaculate. There is a flagging system on the beach and pools loungers where you can call over someone from the bar for service - which was excellent.
We liked the food at the hotel. We found the food in the Careenage Bar to be slighty better than that at The Lighthouse. Unfortunately we didn't get a chance to try The Grille.
I think every room had a balcony which was an added bonus.
There were a variety of activities on offer. There were BBQs on the beach, live music, karaoke nights, a mini-market, yoga, volleyball, cricket, etc, to join in with or not as we chose. The racecourse and garrison are very close and we even saw the horses swimming in the sea one day - and it occurs every day at about 6am up the beach a little bit if you can manage to get up in time!
Overall this hotel was so good that it inspired me to come back on here and write a review. I am very well travelled and have never felt a compulsion to visit a place more than once really - but I may very well be queuing up to get into Hilton Barbados next year!

Room Tip: Wherever you are I think you'd get a sea view so it doesn't really matter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Macros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Michael Parish
3.2 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,910 reviews
5.9 mi away
Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
8.2 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
11.4 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Barbados Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Barbados Resort

Property: Hilton Barbados Resort
Address: Needham's Point, BB 11000, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Michael Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Saint Michael Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Barbados Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The upscale Hilton Barbados Resort, winner of the 2014 TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence, boasts a prime location on the lush tropical peninsula of Needham's Point in Barbados. Each of the 350 beautifully-appointed rooms & suites offers a private balcony and beautiful ocean views. Hilton Barbados Resort offers amenities tailored for couples, families, and all kinds of travelers, plus it's 100% non smoking and fully accessible, becoming versatile paradise for all. Conveniently located, the resort is just five minutes from the island's capital, Bridgetown, 20 minutes from Grantley Adams International Airport and walking distance to the newly listed UNESCO World Heritage site of The Garrison. Some of the facilities include a sparkling pool complex with whirlpool, on-site scuba diving center, three tennis courts, four restaurants and a Fitness & Health Centre with spa treatment rooms overlooking Carlisle Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, BookIt.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton Barbados Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Barbados Hotel Saint Michael
Hilton Hotel Bridgetown
Hilton Bridgetown
Barbados Hilton
Bridgetown Hilton
Hilton Barbados Resort Saint Michael Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing