We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT HOTEL, service could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Barbados Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT HOTEL, service could be better”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

The location of the hotel is great. We stayed there on Old Year's Night and could see the fireworks on Carslile Bay. The rooms are excellent. However, some of the staff is not as helpful as they could be. The beach is also great. I will definately consider it on my next visit to Barbados.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flight380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewMullan, General Manager at Hilton Barbados Resort, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful comments. Hilton Barbados Resort sits on the island’s peninsula with ocean views all around which makes the hotel an ideal place for a relaxing stay. I am very sorry to learn of your disappointment with the levels of service offered by some of our team members and do appreciate your feedback as this enables us to review our service and standards. I look forward to welcoming you back to this beautiful island again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,633
    1,263
    430
    140
    97
See reviews for
917
1,454
154
466
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (788)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Returned to this site after 15 year gap from last visit. Hotel has been rebuilt and made full use of the great natural features of beaches etc, whilst improving the hotel experience greatly. Unfortunately the one bad thing I remember from before, still applies ( but this is persona; preference) the beds and pillows are very hard! Otherwise a great hotel experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewMullan, General Manager at Hilton Barbados Resort, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
I am pleased to read that you had a wonderful relaxing stay with us and your visit to Barbados was a most memorable Caribbean experience. No need to wait another 15 years though!! Hope to see you back here again soon! Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Great stay over Christmas - friendly service and hotel facilities, beach and food all really good. Food excellent. Close to the airport and to Bridgetown. Don’t want to write anymore, but they insist on 200 characters. Just about to abandon the review for this reason.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Karin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewMullan, General Manager at Hilton Barbados Resort, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments and it was our pleasure to have you with us for Christmas. Delighted to read you enjoyed all our services and we look forward to seeing you back in Barbados again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 2, 2014

The Hilton Barbados is the place to go. Really nice beach and pools. Location is central to other destinations, like surf shops and dive shops, yet it is far enough away from the main road to give it the feel of a private resort. We had to stay one night at another highly rated hotel at Accra Beach due to airline delays at the end of our trip, and it most definitely did not live up to the standard of the Hilton.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewMullan, General Manager at Hilton Barbados Resort, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your short stay with us, look forward to seeing you back in sunny Barbados again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skaneateles, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2014

This was the perfect destination to celebrate our 50th wedding anniversary and Christmas with our entire family (Children, spouses and grandchildren - 14 in all). The facilities were beautiful and accommodated all ages. The beach and pool areas were spectacular. The rooms were very well maintained and all had great views of the pristine blue waters of the Caribbean. We ranged in ages from 5 - 70 and the restaurant opportunities accommodated all of our needs. The buffets in the Lighthouse restaurant were excellent. We also the loved the casual lunches and entertainment at the Waters Edge. Everyone, the entire staff was so friendly and helpful at all times from the moment we arrived until we left. We look forward to returning to Barbados and the Hilton Resort.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Dave1965MMets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewMullan, General Manager at Hilton Barbados Resort, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Congratulations and Barbados is a wonderful destination for a special anniversary celebration. I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed the hotel services / facilities and especially the Lighthouse Terrace. There is no need to wait for another anniversary to visit again. Hope to see you back again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, Texas
Level Contributor
144 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We arrived on October 19th, planning on staying until November 10th. However, our plans were cut short due to a family emergency at home and we had to leave on October 27th. I cannot say enough good things about the management and staff at this Hilton property. The Journey Ambassador, Christopher Lee, was a true blessing as he made all the necessary arrangements for our hasty return to the US. Although we had to leave earlier than originally planned, Christopher made the transition so easy for us. The management team at this property is the finest I have ever seen! Since this was our fourth trip to the Barbados Hilton, we were welcomed like family and made to feel right at home.

You will enjoy your stay here. A hotel room right on the beach, great food, ocean breezes, warm and welcoming staff...what else could one ask for? The buffet breakfast is always a treat as we look forward to starting our day with a ton of smiles from the staff in the Lighthouse Restaurant. They are a special group of fine people.

Great job once again, Mr. Mullan!!

Room Tip: As we have only stayed in the Lighthouse Tower, I can suggest staying in a room on the Executive Flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caribbeanlover2263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewMullan, General Manager at Hilton Barbados Resort, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments and I am pleased to read about your recent stay with us. We take great pride in the range of services and facilities we offer and the team will be delighted to learn of your wonderful stay, especially Christopher. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Arrived around 7.45 on flight from UK. Check in ok and upgraded to a lovely room/s 277/279. Plenty of room for family and two balconies. Room service ok but over priced but we were desperate for some food and bed. Morning to the Exec Lounge got there just in time as hotel busy and Lounge filled up quickly. Lighthouse Restaurant on Saturday for Themed night which was fine great value for the kids. Evening drinks in the Exec Lounge - snacks to order but drinks as honour bar which sucks. Later in the week we had to move due to lack of availability of our room - watch out for 552 as you can here the sado's on Boxing Day going for a run on the treadmill on 6th floor. Grille on Christmas Day Dinner started off well and hotel did their best but we gave up after main as kids were falling asleep. Location is great and hotel tried really hard to accommodate us. On offer Kids Club and Dive Centre but not that well marketed or obvious. Great Parade on Christmas Day with Santa arriving via jet ski. Sad to leave and is miles ahead of other hotels in the vicinity. Beds in the suite were very comfortable but bed in 552 was poor. Hotel due for investment in 2014 and it can only be a good thing and if spent well will be streets ahead of others nearby

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank AHandHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewMullan, General Manager at Hilton Barbados Resort, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
I am pleased to read that you had a wonderful stay with us and your visit to Barbados was a most memorable Caribbean experience. I do hope to see you back here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Michael Parish
3.2 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,012 reviews
5.8 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,030 reviews
8.2 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
11.4 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
2,462 reviews
3.6 mi away
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
#10 of 51 in Christ Church Parish
1,954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Barbados Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Barbados Resort

Property: Hilton Barbados Resort
Address: Needham's Point, BB 11000, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Michael Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Saint Michael Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Barbados Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The upscale Hilton Barbados Resort, winner of the 2014 TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence, boasts a prime location on the lush tropical peninsula of Needham's Point in Barbados. Each of the 350 beautifully-appointed rooms & suites offers a private balcony and beautiful ocean views. Hilton Barbados Resort offers amenities tailored for couples, families, and all kinds of travelers, plus it's 100% non smoking and fully accessible, becoming versatile paradise for all. Conveniently located, the resort is just five minutes from the island's capital, Bridgetown, 20 minutes from Grantley Adams International Airport and walking distance to the newly listed UNESCO World Heritage site of The Garrison. Some of the facilities include a sparkling pool complex with whirlpool, on-site scuba diving center, three tennis courts, four restaurants and a Fitness & Health Centre with spa treatment rooms overlooking Carlisle Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Hilton Barbados Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Barbados Hotel Saint Michael
Hilton Hotel Bridgetown
Hilton Bridgetown
Barbados Hilton
Bridgetown Hilton
Hilton Barbados Resort Saint Michael Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing