We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Beach!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Barbados Resort
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, CA
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Beautiful Beach!”
Reviewed July 20, 2008

We are a Hilton Diamond family of four. Booked one room on points and one room at regular rate. Stayed for one week in July 2008.

Arrival: The prearranged car did not arrive at the airport but the Hilton representative at the airport called a car for us nevertheless. We were a bit disappointed at the mix-up but were glad the hotel corrected the error. Car to the hotel was $60 BD ($30 US). Upon arrival we found that we were put in Bay View rooms on the first floor. As Diamond members we had to argue about the upgrade to the Executive Level. Even though our reservation indicated that we needed adjoining rooms, there were no adjoining rooms available. After close to one hour of negotiating with the front desk - which was staffed by all "trainees" upon arrival at 5pm - we were given a suite in the Lighthouse Tower seventh floor (rooms 703/701) and one Ocean View room on the fourth floor of the standard tower. Both rooms were given Executive Lounge access. While we were pleased with the resolution, we were frustrated at the time it took to come to an agreement. Rarely have we encountered such frustration in upgrades at international Hiltons.

Accommodations: The rooms in the Lighthouse Tower are the best and all with Ocean Views. Suites are the rooms ending in -01/-03 and -37/-39. Caution, level six are all smoking rooms. Suites are fabulous with huge master bedrooms with whirlpool tub, separate shower and large living room for four people to comfortably watch the television. The standard room on the fourth floor was also very nice with an ocean view. Rooms with odd numbers (-01, -03, -05, etc) are all ocean view rooms. Those with even numbers are bay view which is not quite as nice. Housekeeping services are top rate the all staff are very pleasant.

Executive Lounge: The executive lounge is nice but nothing spectacular. The usual assortment of appetizers and fare with a full bar. The very nice point is that there is free internet access within the lounge on their computer or wirelessly on your own laptop. The staff are not proactive, as in many other international hotels. We asked for restaurant reservations to be made and they often were flustered while pulling out a "yellow pages" to find the phone numbers. One very nice option is to request a voucher from the Executive Lounge staff for the morning breakfast in the restaurant. This allows you to purchase the buffet breakfast for $10US rather than the standard $44. A nice option if you wish for a fuller breakfast on some mornings.

Beach: This is definitively the highlight of the hotel! The private beach is unbeatable and the water is warm and beautiful. There are very nice umbrellas and lounge chairs available free of charge. From time to time waitresses come to serve drinks but this is infrequent.

Pool: Two wonderful pools are quite nice. Great for families and the waitress service is frequent along poolside.

Food: The food overall at the hotel is quite expensive and very poor quality. Better off dining around town for the same price but far better quality. We liked Brown Sugar (just down the road), Just Grill'n and Cafe Sol (St. Lawrence Gap) for lunch. Fabulous places for dinner are Cafe Luna (best dinner we had), Pisces (St. Lawrence Gap), and Champers. Most fine dinners run $60US per person.

Shows and Attractions: We enjoyed the "Roots and Rhythms" show at the Plantation. The Mount Gay rum tour was very nice as well. Stay away from Lanterns by the Sea - terrible food and terrible show.

Watersports: Barbados Blue, located on the Hilton property is wonderful for all watersports. The tours are small in number with a lot of personal attention. We enjoyed a turtle snorkel tour and a resort scuba dive tour. The staff are friendly and eager to make the experience fabulous. This was clearly a highlight of the trip!

All in all this was a standard Hilton resort set in a breathtaking location. Good for families and watersports.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank FamilyFunx3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,651
    1,281
    438
    144
    99
See reviews for
931
1,471
159
472
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (795)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2008

My boyfriend and I spent 4 nights in Barbados at the Hilton at the end of June. We were so pleased with the hotel for the most part. Since it's the low season, it's completely uncrowded and we had the gorgeous beach mostly to ourselves. The room was wonderful and the view was amazing. We got bumped up to the Executive Level, which was a nice treat. But I agree with some of the other reviewers, I'm not sure it's worth paying extra for. But the lounge has a gorgeous view with large windows and is a nice place to chat with other travelers. I just wish there had been a little more variety at breakfast.

The service was excellent for the most part. One lady at the desk for making tour appointments misinformed us a few times about things and seemed generally disinterested in helping us. But everyone else was so nice and helpful.

We were a bit disappointed that the pool grill was closed for renovations and there was quite a bit of jackhammer noise during the day...but hey, it's the low season and they have to do that stuff sometime.

The food at the hotel is quite expensive...as is the food on the island in general. But we found out about the little fish shack just outside the property on the road coming in...it is delicious. 2 fish sandwiches and two sodas for $8! Everyday there would be a line of budget-conscious Hilton guests lined up there!

But all in all, I highly recommend this hotel and look forward to going back sometime. Be sure to walk around the historic fort on the property, it is really a beautiful little area.

  • Liked — Great location, gorgeous hotel.
  • Disliked — No free in-room Internet for Hilton Diamond members
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank msw0603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H.B., California
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2008

We spent ten nights at this resort with our children. We arrived late. Checking in was quick and our rooms were lovely. This hotel really seems to be on top of the up keep. Everything was well maintained.

Staff was friendly. Service at the resturants was ok. It is expensive!
Executive Lounge was great. We spend many nights there enjoying the great view they had overlooking the bay. Breakfast is from 7 - 10:30 am 3 - 5 tea and snack 6 - 8:30 drinks and appetizers 9 - 10:30 chocolate and brandy.

Pools and beaches were all wonderful. Never a problem getting chairs at either location. Kids club was great. My children have never spent any time at a kids club - they wanted to try it in Barbados after walking in and talking to the leader Antionette. They had a great time, made many friends and fun crafts.

This hotel has exceeded my expectations.

  • Liked — accomodations
  • Disliked — Price of food and drinks
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank cmego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, TX
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2008

We spent 6 days at the hotel. We had a blast! The pool and beach area weren't overcrowded. The staff was friendly and attentive. We rented a car from the lobby and tooled around town with ease. I wish we upgraded to a beach view room, but the bay view was nice and since we didn't spend a lot of time in the room, it worked out. We ate at the Lighthouse for their breakfast and seafood all-you-can eat. The kids breakfast was free and the seafood buffet was half price so that was a pleasant surprise. No complaints here and I'm a pretty tough customer. Could definitiely recommend with ease.

  • Liked — Pool and beach area
  • Disliked — Pool area shut down too early
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 58sgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2008

Great hotel, really enjoyed our stay and am amazed at previous somewhat negative reviews. Phew - people do like to whinge! Having stayed here before, booked bay view room as I prefer a sunny balcony, 5th floor, perfect. Probably one of few hotels where I would not bother to book Exec level as don't think it's worth the extra. Beach is lovely, beach bar great and, coming from England, we thought food, drink etc is very reasonable.

Didn't eat at hotel restaurant in evening but Brown Sugar just down the road is excellent and Josef's at St Laurence Gap was beautiful. Fish sandwich and a Banks beer from the shack at the bay beach is fab!

  • Liked — Beach, clean spacious room with nice balcony
  • Disliked — Front desk staff
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ToodiQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach FL
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2008

As others have posted, this property offers a mixed bag of experiences. Finishing up a 2 week business stay as I write this. First the bad: Misleading information on the hotel website with regards to the Executive Floor Rooms. Prior to my complaint, web site gave the strong impression that internet access for Executive Floor guests was complementary. Well, only partially true, the wireless access available in the Executive Lounge is complementary; but if you want to connect in your room it is US$15-16 per 24 hour period. After our group complained, the web site content has been changed to make this a bit more clearer.

Executive Lounge amenities are not what I have come to expect from other Hilton stays. Cordial staff, but limited snack service. A single soft drink bottle of various beverages is maintained in a mini-refrigerator that is barely cool; no ice readily available and the glasses out are tiny 8 oz. ones. They do offer a nice evening hor-doeuvre service with open, complimentary bar where they break out the ice bucket and larger 16 oz glasses. But you are not allowed to take any glassware out of the lounge. Evidently a number of folks eat a large lunch and use this time as their dinner as the place has always been packed with folks standing around waiting for a table to open up. Adequate continental breakfast buffet; although our Executive Room rate also entitled us to a full breakfast down in the Lighthouse Terrace. Got a notice this week they are beginning 2 month construction project on the Beach Bar and while there will be bar service, there will be no food service

Other major area of complaint are the recreation area "rules". Pool and whirlpool close at 9pm which is quite early, especially for business people who can't enjoy these facilities during the day. Hotel offers complimentary non-motorized watersports equipment (kneeboards, mask & snorkel, kayaks) but doesn't disclose some of the important details. Kayaks are obtained through outfitter on the edge of the hotel parking lot; but you must have 2 people in the kayak. Despite being an advanced kayaker, they would not let me take a kayak out myself. Claimed all their kayaks were tandems; but when I pointed out 2 Wilderness System solo kayaks in their storage rack, they said those were not ffor guest usage.

Lots of good features hence my "Above Average" rating. Rooms are clean, spacious and the bathrooms are quite roomy with high end amenities. Cleaning was thorough. My room is on 7th floor in the Lighthouse Tower. In this unit, all rooms have balconies. Only problem is that due to the travel path of the sun, the balconies in this building never receive direct sun. Good if you don't like to be in the sun; but not good if you would like to catch some rays withough having to go down to the beach or the pool. Think that if you get a room on the north side of the other building, you would get the afternoon sun.

Location for water/beach activities is excellent on Needham's Point. Two large pools, a mid-sized kiddie pool and a small whirlpool (water only about 95 degrees so not sure it would qualify as a hot tub). Two beach areas, one well protected by a jetty and the other with a small opening in the jetty wall creating some nice wave action for kneeboarding/boogie boarding. Be aware that since this is a public beach, the locals dominate the kneeboarding area, especially during the weekend, and can get quite aggressive in their riding (i.e. run over others "in their way").
Food service is OK. Fairly attentive service, although can be inconsistent at time. As with almost all food establishments in Barbados; 10% service charge automatically added into all food bills (as well as 15% VAT). Food is not inexpensive as noted by some of the other reviews.

As for general Barbados travel tips, taxis are not cheap either. Short rides will generally be $15 - $20 each way and trips up to one of the restaurants on the West Coast will be $25 each way. Best bet is that if you find a driver you like, get a business card and try to schedule your trips with him and you can get a discounted rate.

So all in all, certainly not the Sandy Lane; but then at 1/4 the price of SL, you wouldn't expect it to be. If you are working in Bridgetown, this is the closest hotel.

  • Liked — beach and pool
  • Disliked — Inconsistency in service;
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank dlwinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rota, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2008

We only stayed at the Hilton one evening before checking into a villa for the week. In the utilitarian sense, it did its job .. we really just needed a clean, safe place to rest our heads for an evening. In a vacation sense, there are reasons that I was relieved we didn't book an entire week there.

Firstly - the Barbados Hilton is NOT a bad hotel, not at all. It just isn't what I would classify an island getaway or an island resort. Compared to some of the other "paradise" Hiltons I have been to on islands - Hilton Hawaiian Village, for example - this place looked like a Super 8 Motel. Very cookie cutter .. very generic. And VERY DARN EXPENSIVE!!

We used Hilton Points to pay for our room .. we had a room with 2 doubles - there were 4 of us - and we were packed in there like sardines. The restaurants are nothing to brag about .. over priced and ho-hum food.

If you are looking for a place to stay, as we were, prior to checking in to a villa, or leaving the island - it's a great choice. If you are looking for an island escape .. look elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank HereComesTehBride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Michael Parish
3.2 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,031 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
8.2 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,050 reviews
11.4 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
2,488 reviews
3.6 mi away
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
#10 of 51 in Christ Church Parish
1,968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Barbados Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Barbados Resort

Property: Hilton Barbados Resort
Address: Needham's Point, BB 11000, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Michael Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Saint Michael Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Barbados Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The upscale Hilton Barbados Resort, winner of the 2014 TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence, boasts a prime location on the lush tropical peninsula of Needham's Point in Barbados. Each of the 350 beautifully-appointed rooms & suites offers a private balcony and beautiful ocean views. Hilton Barbados Resort offers amenities tailored for couples, families, and all kinds of travelers, plus it's 100% non smoking and fully accessible, becoming versatile paradise for all. Conveniently located, the resort is just five minutes from the island's capital, Bridgetown, 20 minutes from Grantley Adams International Airport and walking distance to the newly listed UNESCO World Heritage site of The Garrison. Some of the facilities include a sparkling pool complex with whirlpool, on-site scuba diving center, three tennis courts, four restaurants and a Fitness & Health Centre with spa treatment rooms overlooking Carlisle Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Barbados Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Barbados Hotel Saint Michael
Hilton Hotel Bridgetown
Hilton Bridgetown
Barbados Hilton
Bridgetown Hilton
Hilton Barbados Resort Saint Michael Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing