We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Barbados Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Barbados Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A very nice hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Stayed here for a week with my wife in April 2013. Hotel is very well maintained, nice pool and beach access with plenty of lounge chairs. Great food. This is definitely a 'hotel' rather than a place with rich Barbados history. We knew that and stayed here as we were looking for those comforts on this trip. Negative - The staff are quite slow for breakfasts which is why we ended up doing the buffet rather than ordering off the menu. Overall, didn't find the restaurant staff overly friendly. The location is set off on a point so is a bit of a walk to anything. We ended up eating more meals at the hotel than otherwise due to this. US$20 cab ride to St. Lawrence Gap, US$25 cab ride to Holetown. WiFi access in the lobby as well as at the pool.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank mcke1610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewBarbados, General Manager at Hilton Barbados Resort, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Just wanted to thank you for your recent stay here at our hotel! So glad you were able to experience our authentic Hilton hospitality and you enjoyed the overall stay. We look forward to seeing you back in Barbados soon! Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,920 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,350
    1,035
    358
    113
    64
See reviews for
761
1,186
128
370
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (690)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This was a wonderful vacation. The island of Barbados is beautiful and the people are even better. After my last vacation to the Bahamas, we were a little hesitant to go to another island so soon, but the reviews for this location were good, so we hoped for the best.

The rooms are clean and they are cleaned daily at a resonable time. Most days when I returned to the room after lunch, the room was already cleaned. The beach was beautiful and there were plenty of beach chairs, towels, umbrellas for go around for everyone to enjoy. The waves were a bit too rough for my 4 year old, but my husband loved them. I spent some time by the pools also which were also clean and well maintained. The food in the restaurants were decent, but we did enjoy going out to some of the local dining spots. The kids club was a plesant surprise. I have never left my daughter while on vacation in any kids club but we checked this one out. They were showing a movie every day after lunch and we would go check out what was showing. My daughter loved Ms Sonja who did a great job caring for the kids. They did arts and crafts, treasury hunts, nature walks/hikes, the first time I went to pick up my daughter at the kids club she wanted me to come back later!
So overall I would highly recommend this hotel. As I said in the title the Hotel, Beach and People here are GREAT!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alicia4272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewBarbados, General Manager at Hilton Barbados Resort, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and the detailed feedback. It was our pleasure to have you and your family with us on the beautiful island of Barbados. It is a perfect place for kids and I am delighted your daughter enjoyed all the pools and activities at the kids club. We look forward to having you and your family back with us in the near future to experience the wonders of the Caribbean. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hove, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We have just returned from a 10 night stay in the Barbados Hilton, we are a family of four with two kids aged 11 & 9. from start to finish the service, all staff, food and facilities were superb. We will definitely be returning to this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewBarbados, General Manager at Hilton Barbados Resort, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thanks for your kind comments about your recent stay with us. Hope to see you return again soon. Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I enjoyed my time at the Barbados Hilton; it is a clean modern hotel, welll planned and well laid out. The rooms are great, though the bright green colour of the rooms can be a bit overbearing. The breakfast buffet is great with lots of choice.

Lovely beach, not pestered by traders due to its isolated location and the pools are great to relax by.

My only complaint, and this didn't just happen once was with some of the staff working by the pool bar. They were bodering on rude and I got the impression we were there for their benefit and service was a lot slower than it needed to be.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 344SimonS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewBarbados, General Manager at Hilton Barbados Resort, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for your detailed response. I am pleased that you enjoyed the room facilities; beach / breakfast areas and I am sorry you did thoroughly enjoy the Water’s Edge experience; I will follow up on this immediately. Hope to see you return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmetto Point, St. Kitts and Nevis
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Although business kept me busy for most of my trip I felt comfortable and was treated well by hotel staff. I would definitely recommend this Hilton to others traveling to Barbados. The rooms and furnishings were appropriate and well maintained. It was a pleasure to be able to wake up to the sounds of the waves and sights of boats in the harbor..

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Daulinter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewBarbados, General Manager at Hilton Barbados Resort, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your great stay with us. All of us at Hilton are passionate about hospitality and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walpole, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We had an excellent experience at the Hilton, other than the rough surf at the beach that prevented us from swimming there all week. This was disappointing, although obviously beyond the hotel's control, which is why I gave the hotel itself an "excellent" review. Everything about the hotel stay was wonderful except for ocean conditions and the hotel lacking the island ambience that many of the lower-rise hotels have. For those who like history, the Hilton's location is fantastic because you can walk to the Barbados Museum and the home where George Washington lived. The excellent Brown Sugar restaurant is also a very short walk down the road. We rented a car for 2 days, which I highly recommend for sightseeing excursions to remote places like Harrison's Cave and the Wildlife Reserve. Overall a very good experience at the Hilton -- excellent, friendly service and wonderful, clean, updated facilities.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewBarbados, General Manager at Hilton Barbados Resort, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and delighted to read about your enjoyable vacation with us in Barbados. We look forward to having you back with us again someday. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

More hotel than resort. Good location. About a mile walk to Bridgetown. Room was spotless. Service at breakfast was below average on most mornings. Received great service from Ruth at the Terrace restaurant and Sonya kept our room immaculate. Nice beaches. Decent gym. Absurd pool towel policy. Free wifi in common areas is poor and you have to log in every hour. Food was pretty good. Beach behind hotel is pretty but water is a bit rough and public beach across the street is also pretty and calm.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank catchmyflight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewBarbados, General Manager at Hilton Barbados Resort, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and delighted to read about your vacation with us in Barbados. We look forward to having you back with us again someday. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Michael Parish
3.2 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
4.5 of 5 stars 1,649 reviews
5.7 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 stars 882 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Accra Beach Hotel & Spa
Accra Beach Hotel & Spa
#19 of 50 in Christ Church Parish
4.0 of 5 stars 1,236 reviews
3.5 mi away
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
#10 of 50 in Christ Church Parish
4.5 of 5 stars 1,782 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Aquatica Resort Barbados
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Barbados Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Barbados Resort

Property: Hilton Barbados Resort
Address: Needham's Point, BB 11000, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Michael Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Saint Michael Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Barbados Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The upscale Hilton Barbados Resort, winner of the 2014 TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence, boasts a prime location on the lush tropical peninsula of Needham's Point in Barbados. Each of the 350 beautifully-appointed rooms & suites offers a private balcony and beautiful ocean views. Hilton Barbados Resort offers amenities tailored for couples, families, and all kinds of travelers, plus it's 100% non smoking and fully accessible, becoming versatile paradise for all. Conveniently located, the resort is just five minutes from the island's capital, Bridgetown, 20 minutes from Grantley Adams International Airport and walking distance to the newly listed UNESCO World Heritage site of The Garrison. Some of the facilities include a sparkling pool complex with whirlpool, on-site scuba diving center, three tennis courts, four restaurants and a Fitness & Health Centre with spa treatment rooms overlooking Carlisle Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton Barbados Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Barbados Hotel Saint Michael
Hilton Hotel Bridgetown
Hilton Bridgetown
Barbados Hilton
Bridgetown Hilton
Hilton Barbados Resort Saint Michael Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing