We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous time at Port St.Charles”
Review of Port St. Charles

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Port St. Charles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 28, 2009

My husband and I stopped here for the last 2 weeks in November. We had a superb holiday. We were met at the airport and felt like royalty when we didn't have to queue to get through immigration, we were whisked straight though and in to our taxi.

The apartment is beautiful, exactly as the pictures show. We rented it directly from the owner on the holiday-rentals.co.uk site. We had daily maid service and ample clean beach towels and bath towels each day. The apartment has everything you could wish for to make your stay comfortable, it is very spacious and airy. We thouroughly enjoyed eating out on the balcony enjoying the view of the marina.

I was very impressed by the helpfulness of the owner and the e-mails we received from PSC prior to our stay. When we arrived we had a welcome pack and also the extra groceries we had requested. PSC would shop for you if you gave them a list of what you required, we found this very handy for the first few days before we got a jeep.

The yacht club is very nice to eat at, we had several good meals there and would also often go for a drink. The prices were very reasonable too. The beach was gorgeous, we would ring up to request beach chairs at the far end of the beach. The snorkelling was excellent, I would recommend bringing snorkel equipment with you, we swam out to the reef most days and there was an abundance of beautiful fish, lovely!

I would highly recommend the apartment and PSC, we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank uktripfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (157)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

144 - 150 of 157 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2008

Stayed at Port St Charles for 8 days in a one bedroom apartment. Loved the deck with our own pool, plenty of chairs and plenty of space. Spent many hours there just relaxing and looking at the view. Quite a quiet time of year which meant the pool bar was not open which was a bit disappointing especially as the restaurant La Mer has also closed. However the food and atmosphere at the Yacht Club made up for that. Wonderful staff at the Yacht Club and at reception - nothing too much trouble. The Welcome Pack of food was very welcome. Decided to eat out each night (next time we will have a cook for some meals) it was quite expensive but hey you're on holiday. Went to Fish Pot, Lone Star, Angry Annies, Mango by the Sea and The Mews. Mews was our favourite - Mango our least but really there was not a huge amount of difference between them all. Would have no hesitation in going back - hopefully there will be more boating action as my husband was hoping for a sail on one! Made friends with Terry the ~Turtle - so lovely to see these creatures in their natural surroundings rather than being fed by humans at sea. Went on Silver Moon catamaran for the day - great fun. Rented a car for a few days which enabled us to see the East Coast. Loved the caves at the north of the island.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Archiedale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2008

We had the absolute pleasure of staying at PSC for 7 weeks from May-July 2008. The facilities, staff were 1st class. We could not fault any aspect of our stay. I could not recommend PSC more highly. Barbados Rocks
Loved the Yacht Club for dinner!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Steve & Ruth

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Thommo178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2008

We have just returned from a most wonderful apartment, resort, Island and have had the best holiday that we have ever had (and we are experienced traveler's). The apartment is enormous with a balcony which is like a room, but a room with a view over the marina to the Caribbean Sea - it’s stunning. Port St. Charles as a resort is 5* all the way, from being greeted air side at the airport (it’s like being a film star!!) to the service which is unbelievably good. The island has something for everybody, from quiet local villages to Bridgetown with its busy port and shopping areas. We booked the apartment through the owners direct via http://www.ownersdirect.co.uk/caribbean/CB112.htm

This holiday was so good the first thing we have done on returning is to book again!!

Andrew and Tina

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank andrewmonaghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2008

We have been going to Port St Charles for nearly 8 years, every year after christmas. It is simply the nicest, most superb place to stay if you are going to Barbados or indeed the caribbean. Infact, we liked it so much we actually ended up buying an appartment!!
PSC is situated in a private lagoon full of yachts and boats. On the other side of the lagoon is a beautiful sandy beach which is often deserted. Unlike many hotels and appartments in Barbados, Port St Charles has a proper beach which stretches out into the sea - it isn't crowded and busy like some other ones down the west coast.

One of the best benefits of Port St Charles is it relaxing nature. You can swim accross to the open air yacht club and order a drink at the bar which actually connects to the pool. You will be greeted at the airport by a luxury car - and in some cases we have even been whisked past the immigration queues at the airport through a seperate empty channel just because we are staying at PSC.

If you are planning to go to Barbados - Forget Sandy Lane - Port St Charles is by far better and you will probably save a bit of money aswell!

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HenryFletcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2008

I am always a bit sceptical about idealistic destinations as they are never as you imagine. Port St Charles wasn't, it was better. We were picked up at the airport and driven to the apartment door. The apartment was one bedroom and overlooked the lagoon, with yachts and the island with the swimming pool. Everyday we had a maid come and tidy/washup etc. We ordered our groceries from the front desk for drinks and evening meals. One night there was a fishing tournament so we went down to the Yacht club and drank with the guys. We also went on a Catamaran day and swam with turtles, snorkled over the reef and caught some rays!

Port St Charles is on the North of the island which is 40 mins to Bridgetown. The Bajans think that is forever but as a Londoner it's nothing. We hardly left the Port as it was perfect, the beach was quiet and relaxed, the sunsets beautiful, the gym and swimming pool nice, the apartment was home from home. Basically by the end of the break we were so relaxed we could hardly speak. From beginning to end this holiday was fantastic, right up to the taxi journey to the airport where the driver ended the journey by saying that he hoped we came back soon - we will!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank thetravellinggabster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2008

We came to Barbados in April, 2007 and stayed at a neughbouring resort, it was dirty, shabby, awful food and the staff were so unhelpful! We went for a walk next door and found PARADISE. Terry one of the managers showed us around the resort, we viewed different villas and apartments, they were amazing!, On our return to Barbados in October 2007 we were met at the airport and given an express service straight to Port St. Charles. On arrival in our apartment our kitchen had been stocked with a welcome pack which was huge!. If you want a quite restful holiday with your husband/partner or family this is the place to go. The Yacht Club and Le Mer are the places to eat within Port St. Charles these are wonderful. An ideal resort to stay at and you are within easy reach of all the main attractions Barbados has to offer. We shall be returning whenever we can. The staff are so helpful nothing is ever too much trouble. Everthing about Port St. Charles is 5*.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank stantonSidcup_Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Peter Parish
12.7 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 6 in Bridgetown
3,731 reviews
7.0 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,079 reviews
14.5 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
2,575 reviews
0.3 mi away
Almond Beach Resort
Almond Beach Resort
#3 of 10 in Saint Peter Parish
1,416 reviews
14.6 mi away
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
#11 of 51 in Christ Church Parish
1,987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port St. Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port St. Charles

Address: Heywoods, BB26013, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Peter Parish
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Saint Peter Parish
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Peter Parish
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Saint Peter Parish
Price Range: $228 - $571 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Port St. Charles 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Port St Charles Resort located on the north western coast of Barbados facing the idyllic aquamarine Caribbean Sea offers beautiful villas and apartments for either a short holiday or if you wished to visit at your convenience, ownership becomes a dream come true. Our luxury homes vary from one bedroom to three bedroom homes located in the 22 acre community, either on the lagoon-front or directly on the beach front. More than just recognized as the premiere Caribbean Marina,Port St Charles Resort offers a luxury lifestyle for home owners, guests on a short holiday or longer stays looking for lagoon view or beach front view to call their own. Our homes are individually furnished with each one having a unique point of view to make your holiday or investment a reality. Our apartment or villa style homes are all fully equipped with the normal luxuries of a high end home while individually decorated to high standards by each home owner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Visit Barbados, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Port St. Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port St. Charles Hotel Saint Peter
Port St. Charles Barbados/Saint Peter Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing